We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont listen to reviews!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Oasis Studios and Apartments

Village Oasis Studios and Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Village Oasis Studios and Apartments
Malia Village, Malia, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dont listen to reviews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Me and my 6 of my friends stayed here in June and after reading the reviews we were paranoid incase we were living in a bin with a scary security guard who would taser us but its NOTHING like that in reality. Its not true that the rooms dont get cleaned, they were cleaned about 3 times during the week we were there, although the maids do come in while your still sleeping and tell you to get up so they can clean. The security guard doesnt have a tasergun hes just a pain, he does tell you to turn music down after about 11 oclock because the hotel is in old town and hes pretty strict about bringing people back to the your room. The rooms are pretty basic but its not as if your going to malia for a 5star hotel! The pools usually busy and all the staff down there are lovely, if your staying in village oasis area its 2 minutes walk if even that to the pool. Its only about a 10 minute walk to the strip and about 20 minutes to the beach, but we stayed at the pool most days! The pool is usually quite busy and lively but if theres an 18-30s event on dont expect anyone to be there lol.. They do take your passports off you on arrival but you can get them back and the rumours about not having towels is true but you can give a 10 euro deposit and get towels and if they are in good condition you get your 10 euros back at the end of the week or whatever so its not as if you dont get any sort of towels. Its true about there being a tsunami everytime you have a shower but it doesnt take long to dry out! Also make sure you report anything thats wrong with your room as they WILL charge you even if it was broken before you arrived, so just double check everything on arrival.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    2
    9
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at about 10pm, to be met by our rep (who was lovely)...we had to hand over our passports to the receptionist (but yes, you do get them back...we chose to let them keep them till the end of our holiday so that they couldn't be lost or stolen etc). The receptionist gave us our room keys and asked us if we would like air con (which was much cheaper than other reviews on here had suggested - 80 euros - between 2 of us for safe and air con).

Our rep then took us up to our room and began telling us about all the 'deals'...however, don't be scammed into buying them all...a lot of them you could buy tickets later and on the night, for example, 'the geek chic' night, you could have got a ticket later if you liked. We didn't do the silent disco however everyone said it was amazing, so i would recommend it on their part. Boat party is a MUST...our advice is after the clubs shut, go skinny dipping down the beach return home at 8am ish and stay steaming till meeting time for boat party at 10:30 am!!!

The hotel is nothing like what it's made out to be...and the staff are LOVELY...especially the bar staff. the maids can't speak english, but they give you a nice smile etc if your polite to them. my favourite staff was 'pedro' (he can't speak english, so we don't know what his name actually is, but he is super nice). only thing is that if you bring food or drink down with you or from a shop and eat/drink it by the pool then you get it taken off you (you can get it back later though)...unless your sneaky or become friends with 'pedro' who let us finish of our magners after our afternoon adventure down the strip.

the hotel bar is pretty cheap, one euro for a bottle of water (40 cent in other shops) but it's easy to get it from there. although, you can do what we did and buy large bottles of water and fill up your small bottles to save money. theres a charge for bringing people back to you room (like 25 euros), but not to the hotel bar etc...so just find people from your hotel!!! haha. the foods good and super cheap aswell if you feel like eating something there before getting ready...but there is a supermarket down the road, like 2mins if you want to get some munch and a huge one further down were you get hotdogs, noodles etc for making for your tea.

air con didn't work in one of our friends rooms, so the manager came up to look at it as soon as we mentioned it to him, he couldn't get it fixed so within half an hour they had a new room, which eneded up being bigger...happy days :). word of advice, don't leave the air con on 24/7 because me and the girl i shared a room with experienced reaaaaally sore throats, stuffed noses (basically a cold) becasue of it, but it got better after we stopped sleeping with it on (well, the 3 hour nap we had when we got in before going to the pool!!!!).

it's only a short walk down to the strip...it's quite fun with the girls and a 'can' to walk down to it...photo opportunities galore. drinks are cheap, you usually get offered by the pr's a fishbowl, 5 shots each and 2 doubles for everyone (5 euros each)! drinks don't taste like home, but you get used to them. drinks when your in the bars are about 2 for 5euros for a spirit and mixer...but they give you a load of free shots and if you dance on the bars you pretty much get free drinks all night!

the manager at the hotel is lovely aswell!

you should ignore all the bad reviews on here, they're just people having a joke clearly. yes, the hotel is loudish around 6am with people returning to rooms (banging on doors to get in etc) the security guard is straight there if anything gets to rowdy. we did get told once at 1.30am when we were pre-drinking to go inside the hotel instead of the balcony to drink because we were being to loud, we just obliged and carried on drinking in their, loudly with music and without any bother. did have the security guard come up to one of our rooms (because we were having a party) but we just told him we'd be quieter and he let the people stay and left us to it!

finally, to round off...you DO NOT GET TASERED! and this hotel is a million times better than what people on this have made it out to be, we were in a group of 5 (girls) and we LOVED it, met great people and had an amazing time. also, the rep (well our one) didn't moan or not speak to us or anything like that when we only paid for one of their organised nights and the booze cruise, he spoke to us all the time, like he did with everyone else. don't worry about this hotel. the showers are also good, like powerful, which we DID NOT expect...although keep your towels in the sink as the room is like a wet room so the floor gets soaking....oh, and you do need to take your own towels! the music by the pools good and the banter is even better...you'll love it, so don't stress...the rooms are fine and so are the staff. people did get charged for their rooms having stains on sheets etc, and cutlery going missing...but both of our rooms were fine (even though we had bronzer on the sheets)...but i cleaned up a little before we left and were nice to the maids, think that helped a lot :).

you'll love it, have fun and make the most of it...the week will fly by their...oh and one final word, make sure you go to banana bar...it's good...and candy and zig zag :).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

ive read so many reviews online about this hotel, so when id booked it i was a little unsire as to what to expect i was expecting to rock up to a hotel simular to one on the film inbetweeners, but it was lovely the transfer couch was amazing got to know loads of people who are staying in your hotel, have a chat to the rep! however i was a little dissapointed we didnt get there till like 2am but you get what you pay for at the end of the day!

as soon as you arrive they ask for all your passports and give you your room key! (they do say you can get your passports back the next day, however we chose to leave ours so we couldnt lose them or get nicked)

we didnt actually stay in the main bit of the hotel we stayed in a flat like building like 2 mins (if that) away, we was walked there by our rep and he chatted to us about malia and stufff, then when we got to our room he wanted a meeting that he said would take 30 mins (cos we wanted to go straight out) however it did take slightly longer as he wanted us to buy the trips and stuff! but we didnt wanna pay 240 euros straight out so we decided to select a few of them as we wasnt so interested in some of them and we managed to get it down to 160 euros!! alsoo dont listen to what people say you cant get them cheaper down the strip because their not 18-30's ones so their not as good!! but yeah i would deffo reccomend the boat party (but dont get trollied the night before or you spend the day hanging over the side of the boat)! also dont listen when he says that drinks are real expensive down the strip we got really good deals like fishbowl 2 quad vodkas and redbull and shots for like 5 euros each!! and if your anything like me and my friends then two lots of that offer and we was done haha!

but yeah when he finally went we went out and the strip is AMAZINGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! all the bar workers are soo friendly all the pr's are hilarious and down for a laugh, however sometimes they do get quite annoying so we found when you see one walking towards you, just runn haha!! they find it funny aswell!!

they dont provide towells there so i suggest you take your own towells and some toilet roll as they only give you a little bit then you have to buy your own!! you can buy towells from the reception but i heard their quite expensive, they also sell 4 toilet rolls for 1 euro on the shop outside fanourakis appartments.

the maids are a little funny and we had £20 taken from our room so just make sure you keep it hidden away!! we didnt bother with the safe or the air con because you can just open your balconyy and we found we didnt care how hot it was when we went to sleep because we was too drunk!! but yeahh she did change our sheets and they had stains on!! but we didnt use our sheets because it was too hot!!

i would make one suggestion because as we were leaving they told us we had to pay damages because we had a cup missing and a sheet was ruined!! so what i would say is as soon as you get there take a picture off all the stuff in your cupboards because we only had one cup and pan and they tried to tell us we'd lost it!! so i suggest you take a picture and show the rep aswell!! just so he knows because our lock was broken and we told our rep and he got it fixed and we didnt get charged but if we hadnt told him we'd have been charged!!!

i assume you would have read about the security guard, i read somewhere he had a tazar gun and was horrible and beat people up!! we he issnt that bad he does get quite angry and comes knocked on your door telling you to be quiet and he shouted at one of my mates but when he squared up to him and told him to stop being such an a r s e and that if he carried on speaking to him like that hed report him, he piped down!! but yeah you cant make much noise on an evening especially with the balcony door open he storms up and starts knocking on the door we just found it funny ahah!!!!

the bar staff are hilarious lovely lovely people!!! i lost my voice and this guy zach gave me this horrrid shot but it actually sorted my voice out!!!

also be careful with ice over there because thats what i suspect made me lose my voice!! but its not confirmed!

the reps are amazing really funny they used to come in our rooms every morning and ask about our nights!! really decent guys!! and they even helped us play pranks on some of the lads who were staying there ;)!!

i hope this has helped you!! but deffo book this place its way better than actually being on the strip atleast then you can actually have a little sleep cos the strip never sleeps!!

Room Tip: id much rather stay in the main bit of the hotel the rooms are a bit nicer and you dont have to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just got back from Malia with three other girls, stayed for 7 nights at the Village Oasis in June and thought it was absolutely amazing! It is about 10 minutes maximum walk from the top of the strip a bit further to the bottom but it's worth the walk as the hotel is buzzing with atmosphere, the reps are top class and the overall feel is unbeatable! We were friends with some boys staying in Mirage which is in the middle of the strip and they paid 150 pounds more and we enjoyed our hotel better! You do have to pay deposits for a safe and air con and also towels which shocked us but just take your own! Each of us had a bed which we have never had on an 18-30s holiday before and the 18-30s events were 10x better than the ones in Ibiza far better value for money and entertainment! Do the boat cruise on the Sunday best day of our lives :D

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The maid service was awful my friend brought her own bed sheets from home and instead on giving us fresh new ones! the maid switched are dirty bedsheets over, she never cleaned ever really be aware if you have a shower it will cause a tsuamni, BRING your own towels & buy your own toliet rolls as they don't provide any, really the only massive problem was the cleanliness and maybe those annoying reps who say they'll be at your room by a certain time for a talk and don't even turn up, we were quite lucky with our room it had it had a seperate room which had two beds in compaired to the boys who had no electricity and was pitch black they did get moved however... one of the men who works there was extremely friendly barstaff goes around collecting empty drinks, but i guess you get what you pay for. However the location is NICE as you are near the strip but you are not on the strip so it's a little five minute walk away yet you are staying in the nice location of malias old town.... but you dont get much sleep so if you want to relax dont consider this holiday

Room Tip: if you are not happy MOVE
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

THIS IS LITERALLY EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO NO.

Me and 8 others (17-19 years old) stayed at village oasis in August 2011, and i have to say it was the best holiday ever. We choose the hotel/appartments as they were cheap and got a great deal. As a first holiday together we didn't really care were we stayed as long as there was a bed. However when reading the reviews everyone was extremely anxious that we were going to be staying in a sh** hole!. However, this was not the case.

We arrived in the middle of the say and was greated by 18-30 reps, there was no music people just played there own and we were on the bus for about half an hour. When we were on the coach everyone was being dropped off at different hotels and my group were the last ones left. We were going further and further from the strip which made as very worried. When we arrrived we thought we were about at least 20 mins away from the strip but we later found out that it was only a 3-5min walk. I loved the location as it was in "old malia" and therefore we weren't surround by bars but by local houses and hills, but close enough to take full advantage of the night life!.

When we got to the reception we were met by two 18-30 reps and the owner, who took our passports and asked for money for aircon and the safe. Which to be honest was quite alot, and only one room gets the air con. But if you a girl and don't want to sweat whilst getting ready to go out I advise to get it.

We were taken to our rooms straight away, we didn't stay in the main bit, but in Village oasis appartments which was literally a one or two minuet walk from the main. On the reviews i got the impression that the other block was where everything bad happened and that the rooms there were awful, so we were quite nervous. two of our friends had a studio appartment which we all had a laugh about as it was absoloutey tiny, luckily the other two rooms where massive so they alwasy came in to our rooms anyway. when we got to our room the cleaner still hadn't finished cleaning our room, so all 9 of us had to fit in a studio appartment which was big enough for 2 people so we could have the rep talk. The rep spoke about the rules and how not to get on the wrong side of the staff. Yes, they do try to shove deals down your throat but thats how they make there money, we just said can we have a think about it as there are so many we want to do but really we just found a place down the strip which was sooo much cheaper but they had no idea and therefore were fine with us the whole week we were there. To be honest though the people who bought trips throught them, deffinatley got more attention and effort compared to other guest.

The advantages of staying in our block: there was no staff in there so we could do what we like (we had partys for the whole block in our room everynight with the music full max untill we hit the strip which was usualyy1) and no one cared however if you did it in the main block you would pobabally get in the -- Everyone got on so well in the hotel itself, we went out together every night and day and played pranks on each other until sometime 8 in the morning.

We became really good freinds with the people on our floor, they told us that some of there mates are staying in the main part of the hotel and somne of the rooms in the basements are disgraceful as they had no windows dirty, hot and the shower didnt work. (so good luck if you have thoughs rooms).

When i was there i only saw two cockroaches, one on the ground floor recpetion where no-one ever is and the other just outside the hotel, but they are like spiders over there you can't really control them so we weren't bothered.

One night the secruity gaurd went in to these geordie guys we met and supposly got in a massive fight witht he boy and kicking and punching them over a row outside. However, i really don't belive this is true and they would have had atleast a bruise on there face to prove it which they did not.

In some reviews, people say that they charge so much when you brake something. This is true, but they warn you in advance even though the prices are extreme they never make it up that you have broken something. Before we settled down in our room we made sure to take picture of everything a littel bit broken or out of place with the date on it just for prove as we had seen many bad reviews about this. Everything was fine we broke the door(£500) and two mugs (25 each) thankfully, they didn't notice the door and we just stole two of the mugs from another room which the people had already left out for us as they left early ours of the morning :)

However, when were were leaving a group of boys had to pay something like 800 euros which was a joke. On reviews it said they wouldn't allow you to have your passport back, however this is not true you must give it so they can put info on the system and you can take them back after an hour but they must keep at least oner persons. The boys made the damage though and in every room there is a list of prices so they knew how much they had to spend, but because they didn't kick up a fuss the owners only made them pay 200 of it as the other stuff was "easy to replace"

I really would recommend staying here, i loved it the area it was in (there was a restraunt around the corner, who gave you free shots all the time until you were so drunk and usually had traditional greek dancing nights where you go to smash plates) The pool area bar was expensive but worth it, we usually bought a bottle of water from the supermarket around the corner of the hotle which was the cheapest in malia but it was quite hidden but if we were caught with it at the pool they would take it from us and if you put you drinkdown which you have bought and it has still a little bit left the man will take it as he thinks your finihsed, it is quite annoying!.

GO HERE AND YOU WILL HAVE THE BEST HOLIDAY. OH and the cleaner came three times in the week and in the main area if you wanted to bring someone back you had to pay, but in our block you didn't have to but you can just say they go to the hotle anyway and get away with it.
I hope this review is helpful. I know it is long but hopefully that has awnsered all the questions :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My sister and i stayed here,shes 29yrs, I'm 26yrs old,we went on a 18-30s and we were up for a party just as much as the other holiday makers but......
we didn't get any sleep staying here AT ALL this hotel is on the main strip,you are above a bar and next to a night club, the music is very loud banging all night from 10pm until 6am
And then, at 8am the pool music, that is across the road, starts blaring out all day until 7pm.
Its was full of 17-20yr olds screaming and shouting ALL night.The hallways echo so every movement is times by 10. YOU WILL NOT SLEEP IF YOU STAY HERE!
we must have been the oldest people there so don't go if you're over 25yrs old,
The room was ok, clean enough just old fashioned.shower room was a bit of a hole,but did the job. you have to pay extra for Air Con and for a safe.
The pool was nice but its across the road it gets very crowded so get there early,the music is VERY loud, when it got busy we went down the beach to get some sleep.
The beach is just down the road 10min walk, you do have to pay for a sun bed on the beach but the guys who run it are very nice, mainly English and helpful, get you anything you need cost about 2euro for all day.
All pubs and clubs are on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Room on top floor so its quieter but you will not be able to escape the bar/club noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Oasis Studios and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Oasis Studios and Apartments

Address: Malia Village, Malia, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Specialty lodging in Malia
Also Known As:
Village Oasis Studios And Apartments Hotel Malia
Village Oasis Studios And Apartments Malia, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Oasis Studios and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Village Oasis Studios and Apartments to your Saves list