We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great, back to basics and enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adler Wirtschaft

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Adler Wirtschaft
Hauptstrasse 31, 65347 Hattenheim, Eltville am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
06723 - 7982
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 restaurants in Hattenheim
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Simply great, back to basics and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A friend of my informed me that a 2 star chef got back to the basics and he did. Black pudding with pear&apple compot. Crunchy at the outside and soft in the inner. It is for me always a lithmus test dish for the better restaurants and it was a clear pass. Second course was a entrecote. We had to wait a bit but a lot of passion was put into it. I had it rare with only butter and persil. Simply great. Quick in the pan, longer in the oven of 100 degrees and than relax under a warm lamp. You could do it yourself but you have to get the right meat and the meat had a tasty crust of salt, cumin, venkelseeds.

We started in a nice patio garden, but moves inside due to the rain. Inside there is a pleasant romantic atmosphere. A spoon of lemon&basil ice was a joy of freshment.

And of course we had rheingau riesling. We will come again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    15
    9
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westhampton Beach, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the nicest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We made a reservation in advance, as recommended by a friend who wrote an article on Franz Keller. It was a beautiful, romantic place with incredible food and local wine. Worth the trip from anywhere. Bring cash......lots of it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“High quality ingredients well cooked.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

You know what you are going to get here. Top quality ingredients, well cooked and presented in a simple manner. Place was absolutely packed inside and out, luckily our party had made a reservation for 6, and unlike another reviewer we were not asked in advance to order, we just chose from the menu. Very friendly welcome, delicious welcome riesling sekt and then we settled down to peruse the winelist. We had decided in advance to order 6 different starter and mains to get maximum opportunity to taste as many different flavours, therefore we left the wine choice up to our very friendly and helpful waitress but asked her to stay local. Every dish we had was superb, with the beef the outstanding dish of the night (carved at your table) and it was a really homely atmosphere; no need to dress up like in so many restaurants of this standard in Germany. No quibble about the wine choices, all came from local wineries and I was surprised at how reasonable the prices were, with my favourite wine a riesling from Weingut Trenz just around the corner in Johannisberg. Highly recommended for a great nite out in comfortable surroundings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One of the best spots for a great steak and wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

When I'm in the area I always visit Adler Wirtschaft.
Because I adore the Charolais beef served here! If you will not insist on a well-done meat, but just rely on Herr Keller, you will get a perfect steak, full of juice and melting in your mouth!
I also like very much various starters here - pan-fried sausages, goose-liver "bonbon" with wine-jelly are my favorite here.
The wine list is good and you will always find a few interesting wines to accompany your meal, even (or despite of!) if you are a sommelier yourself!
The plastic money are not accepted here, but you don't need a suitcase of cash here - the prices are reasonable here and if you are not splurging like crazy you will not need more than 100-150 euro per person even if you drink wine older than your wife:)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best from simple honest ingedients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Our absolute favorite restaurant. Food is of the highest quality, service is delightful and the style is unique. Franz Keller senior refuses to accept credit cards but keeps his standards up to to those he had when earned his Michelin stars in an earlier restaurant in Köln. So enjoy your meal and take enough cash.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adler Wirtschaft also viewed

Eltville am Rhein, Hesse
Eltville am Rhein, Hesse
 
Eltville am Rhein, Hesse
Hattenheim, Eltville am Rhein
 

Been to Adler Wirtschaft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adler Wirtschaft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.