We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good option with kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Peisey-Vallandry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Peisey-Vallandry to your Saves list
Club Med Peisey-Vallandry
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Plan Peisey, 73210, France   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elgin, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good option with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

very good service and special attention to children. Food excellent and prepared to go the extra mile to assist us. big comfortable rooms. Easy ski location as central and lifts and ski school on site so children safe. First day bit disorganised. Could organise ski groups the night before if big demand as wasted time on the first day. Instructions of what to do in mini club a bit sparse so lots of back and forth to arrange in the beginning. Entertainment very good but a week of this is enough. Would recommend if have children below 16 yrs and not skiied often. Ski area is the best. Lots of skiing to choose from at all levels and alternatives of snow park, tobogganning and off pites.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    166
    48
    13
    5
See reviews for
407
82
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Having previously stayed at 4 other Club Med ski resorts I wasn't sure what to expect apart from reading the reviews. When it comes to ski accommodation I am a real stickler! It needs to tick so many boxes for me and Club Med Peisey ticked every box! From the moment we arrived (party of 27 people) we were given the most amazing service. Met off the bus by the Club Med staff and told to leave our cases which would be taken to our rooms. We were then taken to the main entertainment area where we were given a welcome drink and chat by the wonderful Hotel Manager Eric! What I loved about Eric is that every day he was mingling with Hotel Patrons which I think is so important. Always happy to help in any way too. Thanks Eric for being by far the best Hotel Manager of any of the Club Med resorts we have been to. After to welcome we were given an envelope which contained our room keys/all inclusive bracelets/piste map and other info so no checking into reception. Everything was ready for us to go to our rooms. What I loved about this club Med is that is has such charm and has a very rustic feel. There were lots of lovely little separate areas to sit in with stunning views of the mountains. What a back drop! The Hotel was fully booked but it never felt busy. At other Club Med resorts we had to fight over seating at night but there was ample seating here and we never had a problem finding seating area for such a large group. Next our bedrooms! Wow! Huge! For ski standards the accommodation was outstanding. So much storage space, a bath, enormous bed (comfortable too) and a large flat screen TV on the wall directly in front of the bed. There was also a separate seating area with a pull across door and another TV. This room led out onto a large balcony. The only disappointment was the view. There was none! The rooms have everything you need. Bottled water brought fresh every day. Tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer in bathroom. There was also a room two doors away from us which was an ironing room so no need to take an iron! All in all the room was amazing. Ive skied for the last 8 years and never stayed in anything so nice. Oh forgot to mention, quality of sleep was also excellent. It has to be the quietest ski Hotel I have EVER stayed! Noise levels were zero! The boot room was as expected very busy in the mornings so we tended to have breakfast later and go our later so missed the ski schools. The boots rooms were very tidy with large lockers where you had to programme a code to open them. Again very impressed with this. The restaurant was huge and we were allocated and reserved tables every night upstairs in a more intimate space being such a large group. We were looked after for a few days by the wonderful Faure! Nothing was too much trouble for Faure. By the second day the wine would be on the table, plates were cleared quickly and he was so polite. In fact I commend the management on their choice of staff and their training as everyone including reception staff (Kristina from Ireland in particular), bar staff, cleaners etc were all wonderful. Its ski in ski out which is important to us and literally 1 minute from the main chair lift and the Vanoise Express which takes you to La Plagne. Our only gripe was snow was a bit sparse but further up the mountain it was amazing conditions and pretty much sunshine daily. All in all an amazing trip and I would definitely go back to this Club Med. Other Club Meds will have to work very hard to come anywhere close to this. Thanks Club Med Peisey and all the staff for making our stay wonderful. Jayne from Wales x

Room Tip: The tip is to book this Club Med if you are planning a ski trip. My room was 528 and was extremely q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

As always the service in Club Med is outstanding. Although we were sick during Xmas holidays in the hotel, we still felt we had great holidays, thanks to always smiley staff. Unfortunately not a lot of the staff/GOs were spekaing English, comparing to Priagellato (my 1st Club med) which English are wider spoken within the GOs.
The hotel is old but the rooms are renovated & beautiful. An improvement in the rooms could be a temperature control as majority of teh nights it was so warm that everyone woke up thirsty. Rooms can be located far enough or high enough from the lobby and as there are only 3 elevators serving 7 floors and 2 buildings might take you some time to go to your room.
The common shared bathrooms in the groundfloor & the restaurants are old & smelly. Definetely they require a renovation. The Salons were superb with beautiful view to the mountains, big comfy coutches, common areas & private corners.
The food was average due to bad main ingerdienst (none of the fishes had good taste although the recipes were good) or not cooked enough (in order to serve more people quicker the meat was often raw) The desserts on the other hand & the cheeses were excuisite. Very good coffee machines also that included chocolate milk for the kids or warm white milk.
Another imrpovement are the cocktails (sadly enough seemed to be made by people who have never taken any course on how to make cocktails and 4 out of 5 were bad) and the snack bar (a sombination of both savoury & salty would be better and also variety throughout the days).
The Mini club was very well organised and full of activities if your young one is not in the mood to ski. The skiing are for those begginers is located just next to mini club which serves kids that wnat to go to the toilet or not in the mood to continue and the GOs if advised by the parents will puss some of those lasy to ski more.
The Pettit club on the other hand was dissapointing. Only french speakers (except one girl who spoke english), they kids had to have dinner with the parents in the contrary with the mini club, so having 1 kid in the mini club and 1 kid in the pettit club, did not make our life easy. Alos although in the hotel is advertised Bambino classes ski for the juniors (3yrs old) they are not co-ordinates with teh club. the class was only at 12:00 & 13:00 but they would not pick up the kids from the club or the GOs bring them. I would suggest as teh kdsi are eating at 11:45, offer Bambino classes at 13:00 or 12:00 in the ares located next to the club. A good cooperation with the ski school could provide more value added.
The shows & program was plenty and the shows for kids as well but unfortunately French oriented so international kids could not really take place or have fun.
Long story short my daughet (Mini club) was looking forwrad to go to the club every day although she was not crazy for skiing the whole day, ny son (Pettit club) from Day 1 was crying like hell. I had to pull him out and cry my money spend to the club.
Skiing area is very good and the instructors the best ones I foudn. I ahve skied in Austria, Italy & now France.

Room Tip: There are rooms in -1 & -2 floors which are served from independent 2 lifts and have direct acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Why we chose this resort: Got a bit tired always having to cook and find restaurants before and after skiing in Western US and Canada. Also thought the snow conditions would be better earlier in the season in the Alps. We've been to 5 other Club Meds in the Caribbean and Mexico; and like the concept. (knew we would not have to cook, and our teen would be entertained!)

Chose Peisey because of it being a "4 Trident" resort and the reviews, location didn't seem too hard to get to, plus was ski in/out.

Our trip: Flew into Geneva a few days early, highly recommend this to get used to time change. Took the Alti-bus (booked on the website from Geneva airport page - there were a few different transport companies, but this one had the times that corresponded best for us). The bus took us to Bourg-St Maurice, where they had a taxi waiting for us that dropped us off at the visitor center in Peisey. Thank goodness the weather was clear, was a walk up the hill to the club to check in. Travel time - between 2 1/2 to 3 hours.

Check in - Arrived around 2; our room wasn't ready (as expected, I think check in is 4 or 5pm). Walked around the common areas - very nice - plenty of places to sit, read, relax, people watch. Tea and coffee available self-serve at all hours, soda and drinks at the bar.

So we went to the ski room to get equipment. We bought boots with us, and rented skis and snowboard. Equipment all seemed new, and the rental process was pretty well worked out. Ski lockers were great, had dryers in them, you could get ready and walk right out the door to the slopes. if you arrive early, there is plenty of time to rent equipment in town. Like others have mentioned, you want the equipment first thing monday morning to go out with your groups.

Room - Was kind of like an enlarged cruise ship room, bed, bathroom, tv's, LOTS of storage. Our son was the right size for the sofa, (5 ft) any bigger and we really would have needed a different room. Large bottles of water were changed when empty - NICE! Pillows not great, bed kind of hard.

Dining - Some things have changed at club med, you now seat yourself, and there are tables for 2, 4, 6, etc. so no sitting with strangers. The food overall I thought was just ok. I loved the food in Mexico/Caribbean - so I think I just didn't like the regional food here. Didn't care for all the seafood/shellfish. For breakfast couldn't get oatmeal or pancakes (although plenty of fresh crepes - but my teen really wanted pancakes and crepes just are not the same). For lunch skiing I typically like stews, chili. Here they have soups - but all are broth like. Plenty of fresh cut meats, french fries, veggies, pasta and pizza. At lunch and dinner they scoop fresh ice cream (gelato?) - very generously. My kid loved that! Dinner was similar to lunch. One other change is you now have to cut your own bread. (bread is still great!) Plenty of fresh fruit and there are full size veggies with knives available to make your own salad (no iceberg lettuce to be found). I highly recommend bringing hand sanitizer, and using after getting your food. Unlike cruise lines, there is no one pushing you hear to wash your hands prior to eating and plenty of kids spreading germs. I got sick on day 3.

Kids Club: My son occasionally went to passport. Was told there were 80 teens that week and 120 kids under 12. There were a few that spoke english, he sometimes participated in the activities with them. (I am posting the flyer so you can see the activities)

Skiing/ESF: You sign up Sunday night; the ESF folks are at a desk and ask you a few questions about your ability. My husband did the skiing - he thought it was more like a guided tour, with a few skills thrown in - level 2A, group of 12. I did the snowboarding - level 2 - they split us into a faster and slower groups - was a real mix, some teens, some adults, about 8 of us to start with in each group. The instructors spoke english and french, were easy to understand. Weird, in the US if you are in a ski group, you go up the lift with your group. Here is it like a free for all at the bottom of the lift. instructor says, ok see you at the top - even to the little kids in the class! I rode the lift up sometimes with kids as young as 6 by themselves. I counted as many as 14 in the little kids groups with just one instructor!
There were 7 in my sons 2B ski group - He was excited that it said online the option to ski half the week and snowboard half - but that was not the case. Not a big deal. He enjoyed the skiing.
Also in the states there is always a "easiest way down" clearly posted on the slopes. So Saturday when we skied as a family, was a bit challenging. We are intermediate skiers/boarders - found the slopes very manageable.


Spa- Went for a massage; it was just so-so. I asked for medium-high pressure sports massage, it was more like what we would call a Swedish massage here - just long gentle strokes, relaxing, but doesn't help the muscles much. The therapist didn't ask once about the pressure. Was 80 euro, including the tip (guess you don't tip separate here)
Pool area - GREAT - they had steam rooms and sauna, but not hot tub. Closed down at 8pm each night. Plenty of towels available at the pool.

Other activities: The club hosted an event outside one night, where they had a huge bonfire, snacks (popcorn, cotton candy, hot cocoa), lots of great music and "Santa" arrived and delivered a message for the kids. Another night there was an amazing fireworks display set to music on the patio.

Posting some pictures for your enjoyment - have a great vacation! Rumor is club med will open up again a ski village in North America - so can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

One of the best Club Med Resorts we've been to. Spacious, modern but with traditional charm, and the best rooms we've experienced.
Ski lockers that actually take 3 paris of ski's and boots, and with easy access to the slopes.
The food was truly excellent - even better than Club Med Tignes. Same menu, but done to a better degree with many extra's. Service was great - and special thanks to Joy at the bar who was always extra helpful and full of smiles.
Entertainment was good - with all the Club Med bells and whistles. Hard to fault this resort and excellent value. Skiing not as good as Tignes - but everything else was outstanding! Ask for a high floor room as they have better views. Reception and check-in was very efficient.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have better views. Rooms were spacious and outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

considering that the club had been open one week service was very smooth

the bad bits
the closed season gave an opportunity to do maintenance ........... curtains did not open well and one door was jammed
wifi patchy so poor value for €20
pillows are not all that !

BUT BUT BUT

the staff are just fabulous , great motivated helpful

our baggage was lost by the airline , aurelia @ reception was really really helpful and vincent offered to lend us his skiwear so days would not be lost ............. one could not ask for more

eric the chef de village was forever present and very agreeable ......... boundless bonhomie and energy

lovely food
fantastic for and with kids
decent gym and swimming pool
decent spa
good ski in / ski out
good ESF ski teachers


great great great ............. we will return next year

Room Tip: ask for a front facing room ......... rear facing has no views overshadowed by the mountain sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have just returned from the opening week of the winter season. The GOs were excellent. Such warm, friendly staff really make a holiday. The Chef du Village seemed to be everywhere and worked tirelessly. Food very good. Fantastic location allowing you to ski from the hotel and ski back to the door. Snow was a bit on the sparse side but the Paradiski staff worked wonders overnight to ensure that the pistes were perfectly groomed and the snow in good condition ready for the morning. For us (2 parents and 3 kids - 12/15/16) this Club Med ticks all the boxes. The rooms were spacious and modern. Will have no hesitation in returning next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Peisey-Vallandry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Peisey-Vallandry

Address: Plan Peisey, 73210, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Peisey-Vallandry
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peisey-Vallandry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Peisey-Vallandry 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at a height of 1600 metres, the Peisey-Vallandry resort embodies the convivial heart and soul of the mountains of Savoy. Close to dramatic streams and lakes and bordering a forest of larch and spruce, the two chalets of the Club Med Village, combine traditional materials with the refinement of contemporary design. The Club Med Village's location at the entrance to the Vanoise national park makes Peisey-Vallandry the ideal base for a weekly expedition to try out whitewater sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Peisey-Vallandry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Peisey-Vallandry Hotel Peisey-Vallandry
Peisey Vallandry Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Peisey-Vallandry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.