We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but expensive Ski Ressort in Haute Savoie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Peisey-Vallandry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Peisey-Vallandry to your Saves list
Club Med Peisey-Vallandry
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Plan Peisey, 73210, France   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brussels
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent but expensive Ski Ressort in Haute Savoie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Already third visit (previous 2011 & 2008). Club Med Peisey Vallandry has everything to offer anyone can wish for : lobby, bar, swimming pool (in & outside), sauna and hammam , theater, terrace with great view, safe and handy parking lot, great choice in cuisine but sometimes amply warm meals..(That did not occur during our previous stays..). Rooms are quite practical en spacious, but toilet is rather small. Staff is more than helpfull. Sometimes a bit too ethousiastic.
Location is just fabulous ! ESF ski-monitors are just the best you can find. Truly "a paradiski".

One thing we did not appreciate was the sommeliers (Wine Waiters) quite pushy sales attitude. Quite frankly : i don't understand why this sort of treatment is allowed in a club this expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    166
    48
    12
    5
See reviews for
405
82
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just come back from Peisey Vallandry Club Med and it was an expensive and really excellent skiing holiday. Its very French and you should expect the staff to be very active with the French guests but less so with the English speaking guests. There is a palpable cultural divide although all the staff were very helpful. Food was fantastic and facilities are truly first class and the skiing area is absolutely brilliant. We were there for the busiest week of the year and the queues at the lifts were small and fast moving. The slopes were vast and varied.
My teenage kids thought it was brilliant which is the the most important indicator for this type of holiday!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We just got back from an amazing ski vacation at this great club med. It is so comfortable and well designed. The fact that it is ski-in ski-out makes such a difference! We travelled with our 4 and 5 year old daughters that had a blast in the mini club (the GOs were fab). They had a great time so, we had a great time. We took two connecting club rooms with view, and the accommodations were great. The rooms are large with a separate sitting area and the toilets are also separate from bathrooms. There is lots of closet space.
The ski school was a little disappointing. Although we were not there at the busiest period, the classes for kids were too big, although the instructors were great. This made it hard for our little beginners to make great progress (they did much better in Club Med Cervina ski school last year were there were fewer students for each class). I myself was a little frustrated as I am an advanced skier but they discouraged me form going to the4th level, as they said they only went off piste and French law required special equipment, bla, bla bla. Well, then there was no place for me in the 3A level so I got stuck in 3B. The instructor, Jean Marcel, was excellent but the group was divided between beginners that could hardly go down a red slope, and a more advanced group that was itching to go fast and down black slopes, but were held back and totally frustrated. My advice is to push to be in a challenging level. Regardless, the ski resort itself is amazing, huge, snow conditions were great and I do not believe I went down the same slope twice during my stay!
The food was excellent, great variety and good service. We also took a spa package and the treatments for both my husband and I were great and relaxing. There were plenty of activities for non-skiers, form exercise classes to winetasting and kitchen tours. The pool area was beautiful, and the kids had fun, the water could have been a little warmer.
In short, I strongly recommend this resort for extended families, as there are activities for all. If you are looking for shopping, however, look elsewhere…. Right outside the hotel you will find a cash machine, pharmacy, bakery, coffee shop, ski supplies store and small grocery store. In Vallandry, about a 10 minute walk, there are more ski stores, a small supermarket and a souvenir shop.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

I had heard a great deal about the club med in Peisey Vallandry from a friend that had been at the hotel a year before. I was quite surprised how little English was spoken by the staff and this made everything from ordering a drink to getting help in the dining room a struggle.
It's a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. The food was exceptional and we were consistently surprised by the quality and variety of the meals .
The weather was pretty awful the week we arrived and as novice skiers we were not brave enough to attempt to ski in the conditions but there was plenty in the hotel to do from the spa, the gym , the beautiful lounges with all day coffee and tea.
The weather did clear up after a few days and my husband and kids were treated to the best skiing of the holiday with an instructor that spoke English :•)
It's a beautiful hotel in a pristine setting but I did find the lack of English speaking GO's to be rather frustrating.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

We are a family of three (with a 7 year-old daughter) and had a great time on this (our first) Club Med holiday.

The hotel location is excellent - truly ski-in, ski-out - and its proximity to the Vanoise Express (an easy 50m traverse) means that skiing both Les Arcs and La Plagne is easy. (You do have to start each day with a lift of some sort as the hotel is at the end of the piste).

The food was universally praised and we enjoyed the culture of often eating with a GO (staff member) who were polite, good company and a credit to their employers. Notwithstanding the hordes of queue-jumping Russian guests, meals were excellent and of a consistently high standard.

Mini Club Med (kids club) was a bit frantic and not for the faint-hearted, but the staff were great and everybody was intent on ensuring the kids had a great time. 2.5 hours of skiing lessons in the morning followed by the same again in the afternoon meant that our daughter's skiing improved no end. She would have liked some more English-speaking children in her class (there was only one other) but that reflects the cosmopolitan nature of this resort.

Of particular note were the rooms, which were superb: spacious, comfortable, loads of storage and quiet. We were upgraded to a valley-view room (same size but lovely view) for no apparent reason which was a nice bonus. We were on the third floor (recommended) which meant easy access to kids club, ski room and bar/restaurant without having to wait for lifts.

There were endless entertainment options, but (other than the kids' show, which was great fun) we tended to be in bed earlier than most. The size of this hotel (800 guests) affords you a level of anonymity which is ideal if you'd prefer to ot out of some of the extra-curricular stuff!

We paid just under £5k for the three of us for a week which included literally everything. I consider that excellent value and am very happy to strongly recommend this to anybody looking for a great family skiing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Peisey-Vallandry, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this wonderful review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Peisey Vallandry Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had a good time and that you enjoyed the Resort location, the quality of the food and the way your daughter has been welcomed in the Mini Club Med. We are also glad to read that you found your room superb and that you benefited from a room upgrade!

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

It was quite a challenge to find a holiday that our 10-year old twin boys would enjoy as much as we did. But we certainly managed to do quite that with a week skiing holiday at Club Med. The hotel was very comfortable - we had a family room which allowed enough privacy, and the bathroom was functional and modern. The food was great, Christmas was amazing - with fireworks, Santa arriving down the side of the hotel (much to the children's delight), a live nativity scene (sheep, chickens and all!) and champagne fountain. Hotel skiing location was great, but I found the slopes confusing as blue, red and black slopes often criss-crossed each other. The ski school should limit number of pupils to 8, not 12 as we were at one time. The entertaining was fun and the village personnel were absolutely fabulous. I recommend this hotel unconditionally.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The hotel is very good. Large and well distributed rooms, full of closets, good heating and even a good television (considering you are in Club Med). The food looks better than it tastes, but it is very good!

Traveled with wife and 3 kids (14, 12, 9) and all had group ski lessons and activities during the entire day.

Everything was good!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Peisey-Vallandry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Peisey-Vallandry

Address: Plan Peisey, 73210, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Peisey-Vallandry
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Peisey-Vallandry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Peisey-Vallandry 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at a height of 1600 metres, the Peisey-Vallandry resort embodies the convivial heart and soul of the mountains of Savoy. Close to dramatic streams and lakes and bordering a forest of larch and spruce, the two chalets of the Club Med Village, combine traditional materials with the refinement of contemporary design. The Club Med Village's location at the entrance to the Vanoise national park makes Peisey-Vallandry the ideal base for a weekly expedition to try out whitewater sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Peisey-Vallandry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Peisey-Vallandry Hotel Peisey-Vallandry
Peisey Vallandry Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Peisey-Vallandry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.