We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks atmosphere- expensive for food quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Bistro

Beaches Bistro
Vin. E. Jones Drive | Rosslyn Bay Resort, Rosslyn, Yeppoon, Queensland 4703, Australia
07 4933 6333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Rosslyn
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Australian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Beaches has consistently been at the forefront of Yeppoon Restaurants since its inception in 1987. The restaurant has recently come under new ownership and recruited two International Head Chefs to give our menu the edge. Located just metres from the sands of Kemp Beach and Rosslyn Bay harbour, Beaches Bistro is renowned for consistently serving some of the freshest seafood and best premium beef in the region.Our dishes share equal attention to vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options and the regulars favourite; wood fired pizzas. Yeppoon restaurants are quickly becoming the hotspot for dining on the coast and Beaches boasts an extensive wine list and incorporates a takeaway license whilst providing the ideal setting for your fine dining experience, Corporate lunches, dinners, or that special occasion.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lacks atmosphere- expensive for food quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went to beaches in December 2012 and nearly died of heat exhaustion. No aircon and intense heat from the pizza oven made it unbearable. On that occasion we found the food and menu was good but lacked comfort and atmosphere. Tonight (4 July 2013) we would have been impressed with more seafood, lower prices and better quality food for the price. $12.90 for two small crab cakes as an entree and over $50 for reef and beef??? Too expensive for the quality of food that was served. Food quality was pub food equivalent. Should have been half the price that we paid. Staff were friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OK food but way too costly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Beaches Bistro serves reasonable food - better than most pub grub but falling way short of a fine dining experience. But fine dining prices is what you will pay - $45 for the reef and beef for example.

The decor? Brown tiles, brown chairs, brown tables, brown windows - a 70's time warp (in a bad way)

The staff are friendly and attentive but lacked skill at the bar. I was poured a glass of wine from a mostly empty bottle that was ridiculously stale - the staff had no idea that wine could even go off once opened. And the wine list is very poor with well below average wines selling at top dollar.

I would not recommend this restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rubbish food, service, atmosphere with a 15 percent surcharge.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Its rare I feel the need to warn other fellow travellers of disapointing experiences.Beaches Bistro was asking for it. My main rant is the extremly high prices for very average food. If it had been a local cafe or pub then I would have no complaint- as it would have been half the price. Food (especially @50 dollars a plate)should be a pleasure to eat, certainly not leave you regretting allowing your husband to try and spoil you by taking you somewhere fancy. I felt like we were in a 70s motel restaurant, brown tiles and a fake palm tree in the middle! Not the lush experience the pricey menu suggests. We get up to leave and pay at the till and this terrible experience was topped off with a 15 percent surcharge. This restaurant needs an over haul or needs the prices to reflect the type of foody experience people will expect. Until then..avoid

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Relaxed, classy dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner here with my partner and her family here on a Saturday night. The food was excellent and service impeccable. Our waitress did a great job and had built a good rapport with our group by the end of the evening. Our meals were served promptly despite the restaurant being nearly full.
A little on the pricey side but worth it for the quality of food and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“hmmmm not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Visited here a couple of years ago and had a thoroughly pleasant experience. I was excited to be bringing my wife from Melbourne up to North Qld and show her some nice places and looked forward to staying here again. However time changes everything and the magic has gone. Not only was the steak overcooked and not medium/rare but the salad that accompanied the fish was lifeless and wilting and not fresh. The meals were delivered to the tables at varying times consequently I waited till my wifes fish arrived and the steak was no longer warm. Not good value for money at all.
We had lunch at the Waterline Reataurant the next day and cannot recommend it highly enough the meals (fish,chips,and salad with tartare sauce) were brought out to our table overlooking the marina and were fresh and filling. The chardonnay was chilled and the sunny afternoon made for an enjoyable day with a walk up the nearby hill overlooking the marina and we soon forgot the previous less than average experience at Beaches. We will visit the Waterline again on the way back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosslynbayresort, Manager at Beaches Bistro, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi there,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us the last time that you dined. We pride ourselves serving top-quality meals and providing people with a fun and interesting experience that they can take away with them. The new owners took over Beaches about 18 months ago and we have been constantly improving sine then. It sounds as though you may not have dined with us for a little while now though so I thought perhaps you would be interested to know that we have recently launched a new menu which features modern Australian cuisine with some fresh surprises and Asian twists. This is the first new menu we have launched since our new Head Chef Mick Nelson joined us from Melbourne in late 2012. Diners now have the option to choose from our two-bite menu and have a more casual, shared dining experience and try some out-there specials. Beaches is also undergoing a full renovation which will be done in stages that will make the whole restaurant more modern and inviting. We only employ waitstaff that are experienced and extremely outgoing. Our mission is to take dining on the Capricorn Coast to a new level. As always, thanks for the feedback and we hope that you decide to come and dine with us again in the future as we ensure that your next experience will be more positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaches Bistro also viewed

 
Yeppoon, Queensland
 

Been to Beaches Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.