We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“L'Ancolie !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ancolie

L'Ancolie
Le Hameau de Flaine, Flaine, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Flaine
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: An excellent restaurent a short distance outside the ski resort of Flaine. Free transport provided locally.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“L'Ancolie !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have been coming to the L'Ancolie bar and restaurant for many years with our two children now aged 11 and 13 years . Sandrine and Olivier are always very welcoming and the service and food excellent. Although not the cheapest place to eat in Flaine you cannot beat the ambience with a roaring log fire and cosy atmosphere. We recently had our Christmas Day meal at L'Ancolie which was superb !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from the L'Anicole. The food, service and ambience were all fantastic. The raclette was absolutely great. The service is second to none (so good we are returning Friday). We would recommend this place to anyone! ;) x

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tremendous address for fine food and cosy athmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a place where you can either have a romantic moment or a very nice family time.
Olivier and team are just marvellous in the way they make you feel comfortable.
Menu and wine are TOP of the POP and the Cheminee is so gorgeous when it's freezing outside.
Try it and you will adopt it...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

An excellent family Christmas lunch in great surroundings. Very friendly staff, even picked us up from our apartment. Rose Champagne followed by salmon then steak. An all round great experience. Slightly confusing menu with lots of options only availalble when order for two. Not the cheapest but certainly our best meal in Flaine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“First night dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have eaten here twice before, we made a reservation to go on the night we arrived. We chose not to have starters and go straight for main course. I choose the salmon which was very good, my husband went to fillet steak which he said was only ok.

I chose not to have dessert but my husband had the rhum baba which he says was great and plenty of rum.

We knew it was going to be expensive as we had eaten here before, however on this occasion the food did not live up to the expense.

Would we go again maybe but not on the first night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ancolie also viewed

Flaine, Grand Massif
 
Flaine, Grand Massif
Flaine, Grand Massif
 

Been to L'Ancolie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ancolie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.