We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family celebration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rissiou

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vaujany
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rissiou
Save
You added Hotel Rissiou to your Saves list
Vaujany, 38114 Vaujany, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vaujany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have just come back from a wonderful holiday staying at the Hotel Rissiou.

Ski peak were excellent in accommodating lots of different arrival days and times for our party of 10.

We were greeted with a much needed welcome drink and lunch.

Beautiful views of the valley from our bedroom windows.

The hotel manager was very friendly and as mentioned in other reviews incredibly knowledgeable about cheeses which were very tasty.

The food in the evening was excellent especially the beef!

The hotel is querky and needs a good clean. However the children loved the TV room and games room.

The ski school and nursery in Vaujany are superb. You get one free swimming and ice skating on the ski pass which are all very good new facilities.

The location is brilliant, 3 minutes from the ski school meeting point.

We were celebrating my parents 50th wedding anniversary and the hotel made a special cake for us. It was a great holiday. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Facing the valley at the front. Family rooms have double and bunk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We went to Hotel Rissiou at half term in February 2014 - my wife and I and our teenage son.

My wife always complains that I think the best holiday we've been on was the last one - but in this case even she admit that I might be right about the Hotel Rissiou. I actually had worried a bit about this holiday before going (we usually go with Mark Warner) - we had a bit of an argument with Skipeak about our flights, when we landed at Grenoble it was really warm, there was no snow in Vaujany (although plenty in the ski area), our room didn't seem that great on first impressions...

Just goes to show how wrong you can be.

The Hotel Rissiou and the experience with Skipeak really was first rate. The atmosphere in the hotel is great - very friendly and relaxing, Vaujany is a fantastic wee village with excellent lift access to the full Alp D'Huez ski area, the ski hosting is excellent. Probably less than 5 minutes walk from the lifts as well.

Then there is the food, particularly at dinner, which was exceptional - probably the best food we've ever had on a ski holiday. Worth noting the migration of kids from the excellent kids dinner to the proper full (six course!) dinner at 7:30 - even our 15 year old who normally hates "fussy" food loved the full dinner and became quite a fan of the cheese course (even the strong fairly smelly cheeses!).

The cheese course at dinner is worth a mention all by itself - the manager is a big cheese fan and gave a little explanation of the cheeses, which worked really well and added a lot to the sense of occasion at each dinner.

Niggles about the hotel - very few. Our room only had one electricity socket, so some juggling of gadgets was required, but that's about it....

Overall - we had a great time and I hope we will be back.

PS

On our first night there was a huge dump of snow - so we didn't even have to worry about that. :-)

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms at the front - the views are incredible. You do get to listen to the snow plow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

It's been at least 5 seasons since I stayed with Ski Peak at the Hotel Rissiou and I'm happy to find it as unique, fun and authentic as ever. Sure the hotel is basic, but it is real French mountain charm with a history of over 150 years. The highlights; staff and food are second to none I've encountered in the Alps. Brendan the manager is extremely professional and his enthusiasm for and knowledge of the 'cheese course' a delight to behold. I hope to return within 5 years next time... Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Really amazing experience with a very central location next to the lifts and the shops!The hotel has the friendliest staff you can find and they make you feel like staying with friends. The food is out of this world , with Rick and Nathan creating art every night. The reps especially Nicholas were very brilliand and extremely helpful in the mountains.The guys at the bar Vicky and Kevin were always ready to find the perfect wine for your dinner, and finally the hotel manager whose passion about cheese can make a cheese hater like me to try some, I have to admit, amazing french cheeses. Definatelly going there next year

Room Tip: front rooms have an amazing view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Fantastic food, friendly service. Very near to the shops and bars of Vaujany and 5 minutes walk to the ski lifts .After 4 years trying the alternatives we came back to skipeak for the food and service
and didn't regret it. The room was basic but comfortable and exactly what you would expect in a ski hotel.

Room Tip: Not all doubles have baths. Higher floors are quieter as the bar can be noisy and the kitchen starts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have travelled Ski Peak several times. As a family and as singleton. I would recommend it as a provider of excellent skiing holidays. Certainly cheaper than a major operator was offering in Alpes d'Huez for the same week. And Sunday travel is a boon. The skiing in the Vaujany sector is excellent and access to the whole ski area easy and very good.

I have always stayed at the Hotel Rissiou. It is very close to, and on a level with, the ski hire shop and the lifts. As near to ski-in, ski-out as you can get without being in the middle of the piste.

The facilities are fairly basic. It is a French 2* hotel, which guarantees a certain simple quantity of facilties and not quality, for example, room size and lighting. All the rooms I have stayed in have been sufficiently large and certainly comfortable for the purpose. If you want the Ritz don't come here: if you want very adequate accommodation and food for a skiing holiday look no further.

The staff, usually young, are always keen, friendly, and helpful. They keep the rooms clean and tidy. They are not usually trained hotel staff and so there may be lapses but such lapses won't be repeated (there were not any on my last two holidays).

The food is very good indeed. Six courses of well cooked and well presented food. It is served at a grown-up hour and takes its time. Every day there is a platter of three different cheeses (18 during the week), delivered with a description and history by Brendan, the hotel manager. Interesting and fun.

Why look elsewhere?

Richard

Room Tip: South side rooms have balconies and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was basic, clean and warm. The staff were excellent, but finding the bar man was difficult at times. The food was out of this world, 100 out of 100 for both Rick and the convict (joke), Brendon the hotel manager whose knowledge of cheese is second only to Wikipedia all made the stay excellent. The ski reps headed by Nick and accompanied by Allie and Calum were brilliant their help in finding the best snow, challenging slopes and being patient for the two oldies were nothing short of excellent.

I was among two lone skiers, however we arrived with 10 others, Brendon sat us all together; in doing this I have made new friends and skiing partners.

I would have no hesitation of staying here again, the food and ALL the staff including the hiding bar man, lol, made it a trip to remember.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rissiou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rissiou

Address: Vaujany, 38114 Vaujany, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Vaujany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vaujany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are basic but comfortable, the Ski Peak staff deliver a brilliant service with a "nothing is too much" attitude. The hotel is no more than 200 yards from the largest cable car in Europe and even less from the ski rental shop.The village of Vaujany offers its guests a real in sight into authentic alpine village life while still providing great access to skiing (up to an altitude of 3300m) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rissiou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.