We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rissiou

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vaujany
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rissiou
Save
You added Hotel Rissiou to your Saves list
Vaujany, 38114 Vaujany, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vaujany
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Well well well , what a hidden suprise this Hotel really is.

My Family and I have just returned from this hotel having spent the New Year week here.
I will try and keep this short.!!!!

This holiday started with a great transfer from the airport , the minibus was on time and driven by the rep Callum.Throughout the week Callum went over and above what was is generally expected of a rep , nothing was too much trouble.He even took time to show my partner and I around the other chalet accomodation available with Ski peak.

On arrival at the hotel we were met by Brendon and Nicholas who gave us a great introduction to the hotel and the resort.Super friendly bar area with lots of nice wine at reasonable prices.
We were given room 12 which had an awazing view accross the valley from the balcony.The room was typical of a ski chalet , plain and simple but clean and adequate.

The meals at this establishment are amazing.The creativity, thought and presentation was the best I have encountered anywhere.8/9 courses per night and three local cheeses at the end of the meal with a story about them from Brendon!.

The chefs at this hotel - Rick and Nathan ,both had an amazing talent . Lovely lads and extremely accomodating with the fussier member of my family.
The Chalet girls , Estie , Eilidh and Alisa were so pleasant and hard working , again - nothing was too much trouble - ever - non stop workers.

I must mention also , the bar manager (who's name I have forgotten-sorry)what a hoot he was , always injecting humour into the bar with his 'sometimes' funny jokes .

Skiing was great , conditions could have been slightly better but my life was made much easier and less stressfull when I found a group of other guests to ski with - with the addition of our wonderful ski friend 'Nicholas'. - another added bonus for thoses of you who cant keep up with the rest of your family !!! Another of the reps' Alli 'was also great fun as a ski friend - but not for the faint hearted !!
The ski lift is two minutes walk from the hotel and The hotel also offers a great ski storage room with boot heaters

I cannot fault this hotel or its staff in any way - and anyone who could obviously has there eyes shut!!

I would recommend this Hotel to anyone and will be spreading the word about Ski-Peak .
My only critisism would be about the company and the fact that there advertising needs to be better promoted.The Website does not do the company justice.

Special thanks to Brendon and all the staff who make our week amazing xxx

Room Tip: Room 12 has a bacony at the front with an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A simple hotel, no mod cons, but staffed by a wonderful group of people, led by Brendan. We were there over the New Year week, 2013/2014. Everyone without exception always friendly, polite and eager to help! And the food, which was astonishing!!! Deliciously prepared, night after night, course after course. I’m a hard customer to please but I could not fault anything that came out of the Rissiou kitchen! You pay a fortune in London to eat dishes of that quality!!! I’m still dreaming about those brioche donuts… Thanks to everyone at Hotel Rissiou, you are doing a superb job!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I returned a few weeks ago from the Hotel Rissiou where I enjoyed a fantastic stay with family and friends for the Christmas week (13/14). The hotel is as advertised; rustic and very french, with a charming and relaxed atmosphere created by the friendly and accommodating staff.

The food was FANTASTIC, it is a leisurely six course affair, Rick deserves a particular mention for some of the mind boggling dishes he concocted, every one as good as the last.

The hosts are brilliant; Asti (sorry if I spelt it wrong), eilidh (again sorry for the spelling) and Lisa (that one was slightly easier) were friendly and always willing to help. Brendan created a great atmosphere which was enjoyed by the whole group, and we really enjoyed his cheese talks - particularly the story about the little french man!

Nick was a very helpful rep - we knew exactly where we needed to be and at what time, the transfers were smooth and the short 1.5 hour transfer from resort to Grenoble with civilized transfer times is a bonus.

The resort is a quiet, old farming village which has been transformed into a charming ski resort with excellent connections to the whole ski area, you can be at 2800m in 20 minutes and Pic Blanc (3300m) in only 45.

I would highly recommend ski peak and the Hotel Rissiou. Great atmosphere, great staff, great food, great week!

Thanks to all of ski peak, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We came as a family with our 7 year old twins and stayed over New Year 2013/14 having never been skiing before. We booked through Ski Peak who were an excellent operator from first contacting them through to the friendly and well organised staff and reps at the resort.
Well, what can we say about Hotel Rissiou? From the minute we pulled up to the hotel on the coach, we felt at home.
The hotel facilities are not particularly fancy but this is far outweighed by the relaxed and friendly atmosphere created both by the staff and other guests.
Brendan has a great team of enthusiastic and friendly staff who were really welcoming and created a really good balance of friendliness and professionalism.
Our kids took full advantage of the early "kids dinner" where the chefs prepared excellent home cooked meals with a great variety of different food each day.
The adults' dinner each evening was simply sensational with the chefs preparing an outstanding, multi course meal which would not be out of place in a high end restaurant. Each meal was a great combination of different and complimentary ingredients which were delicious. Brendan's cheese course each evening was an amusing and informative introduction to various French cheeses.
Whilst not compulsory to sit in big groups during dinner, unless requested otherwise the tables are set out to encourage the guests to sit together and get to know each other over dinner. Although this was a bit of a novelty to us, this worked really well and created a really great social atmosphere in the hotel.
I know some people have commented on the cost of drinks in the bar but we found them reasonable for the quality of the wines etc.
The hotel is in a great location for the ski lifts and the meeting point for the ski lessons, less than a 5 minute walk, even with young children whilst carrying skis etc!
We had a wonderful time skiing in Vaujany, there are a great mix of slopes for beginners like us to slopes for those that are much more experienced skiiers.
We had such a great time that we are booking already for next season!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just back from New Year week at the Rissiou in Vaujany .. our second time and just as it was 2 years ago, a charming and welcoming venue with access to one of the top ski areas in Europe on the doorstep. Brendan and his team are superb hosts .. this year the food has again been outstanding - Rick, Nathan & team please take a bow! Our daughter who has a very special dietary condition was treated as a VIP in the kids tea shift and nothing was ever too much trouble; indeed they seemed to relish the challenge coming up with special cakes, bread and meals for her every day. The quality of the food provided every evening was certainly 5 star...and without ever over-facing us, we were treated to sublime dishes made with great imagination and skill, night after night. The waitresses and bar staff were all lovely and made us feel very much at home immediately. Overall a fantastic week which has enabled our family to re-charge, re-connect and make new friends in a wonderful Alpine setting - thanks Nigel & Skipeak !

Room Tip: Book early to ask for a room at the front of the hotel with mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We came as a couple in Dec/Jan 12/13, and it has taken me a while to get around to writing this review. We booked as part of the SKIPEAK package over NYE 12/13. We were given a small, boxy little room that we couldn't even fit our suitcases in. The bathroom was only big enough for one person. The building echoes and is so noisy - good luck getting a decent sleep. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - and when we asked for a kettle for the room, we were told (as if we were children), that they didn't allow it because we might cause a fire --- it was the middle of winter, and it was very cold, so we had to go downstairs, make a tea, or fill a carafe of hot water, and take it back to our room ... what the? That was a first. The operator was very condescending and just not friendly --- unless, of course, you knew him (which many of the patrons seemed to, like it was a big unprofessional, family affair). The food was way over the top --- because, after a full day of skiing, we of course feel like sitting down to a ridiculous 5 or 6 course meal that seems to extend on for 2-3 hours. Please, give me a take away bag. Generally, we were really unimpressed. Not just with the (lack of) facilities, the attitude of the staff and the OTT dinners, but also with the cupboard that they called our bedroom. I don't know what their issue was ... but i'd avoid this place, and i'd avoid ski peak ... they are over-priced. You can do much better!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel P, Owner at Hotel Rissiou, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are of course very disappointed that you did not enjoy the Rissiou experience.

It is rare that a two star hotel does not have one or two rooms which are smaller and less adequate than the rest. The New Year week is one of the most popular of the season and the better rooms are reserved early. We clearly remember warning that this was our last room available, a small double room and that the Rissiou was a modest hotel with friendly service and excellent cuisine. At the time the gentleman who made the booking referred to our Tripadvisor status as being reassurance enough that the Rissiou would suit them. We suspect that the booking was made with precious little further consideration.

We aim to create a convivial and informal ambience where our guests can enjoy the company of other like minded people whilst looking forward each evening to a dining experience that has been consistently appreciated over the past twenty-five years. Vaujany is not a glitzy resort with 5 star accommodation; it is a charming village resort with amazing facilities and The Rissiou is unpretentious, friendly and very well situated near to the lifts. This is all clearly stated in our marketing material and we aim to appeal to people who are looking for this kind of experience.

We are very sorry that these particular guests did not enjoy their holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As a treat for my 50th, my husband and I spent a week in this hotel in Vaujany in late March, what a find! Although it is basic and in no ways flash, it is so friendly and relaxed. The staff are great, always willing to help and hard working. Brendan in particular is an excellent Manager and a good laugh! Every evening during dinner, course no 5, he came in with his 'cheese chat' which was very entertaining! The food, as has been said in all the reviews, was absolutely amazing - 6 courses of pure heaven although you never felt horribly full. This was such a treat for us as normally it's self catering and tedious food shopping. Vaujany is a lovely, pretty village, it has all one needs although a bit quiet for teenagers! It does have a very impressive sports centre at the bottom of the village and a high tech lift to get you back up to the centre of the village if the legs just won't oblige! Wonderful skiing in Alpe d'Huez which is just a cable car ride away! I must mention also Ski Peak which was very good indeed - efficient from beginning to end. Thanks for a great week everyone! Lucy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rissiou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rissiou

Address: Vaujany, 38114 Vaujany, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Vaujany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vaujany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are basic but comfortable, the Ski Peak staff deliver a brilliant service with a "nothing is too much" attitude. The hotel is no more than 200 yards from the largest cable car in Europe and even less from the ski rental shop.The village of Vaujany offers its guests a real in sight into authentic alpine village life while still providing great access to skiing (up to an altitude of 3300m) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rissiou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.