We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old favourite - new management - eat here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge le Chantegrill

Auberge le Chantegrill
291 Route Draguignan, 06530 Le Tignet, Grasse, France
+33 4 93 66 12 33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Le Tignet
Price range: $26 - $59
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lausanne
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Old favourite - new management - eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

The first time I visited this restaurant was in 1975. At that time it was one of the few restaurants in le Tignet. Over the years whilst being reliable, the place had become a little world-weary.
We returned for lunch this week, and what a difference! Still the same familiar surroundings, but new menu, attentive staff, fresh white tablecloths, shining new glasses and cutlery!
We opted for the lunchtime menu du jour which is good value at €18 but the confit de canard was so good I took the desert as well which brought the total to a still reasonable €24.
We'll definitely visit again - recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    4
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabris, France
1 review
“A revelation......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Our recent visit to L' Auberge du Chantegrill was our first but hopefully it will not be our last. The friendly welcome, attentive service, interesting menu and good food is a winning combination and was a revelation when compared to some (most!) of the other restaurants in the area. The open fire and elegant décor helped to create an intimate ambiance and we had a most enjoyable evening. My only complaint is that a diner was allowed to bring a dog into the restaurant, an unhygienic practice of which we strongly disapprove.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Although we had not dined at the Auberge le Chantegrill for a few years, we decided to give it a try again on a rainy Friday evening in late July because of its convenience to our rental home in Grasse. We got a last minute reservation for a party of 6, including 2 children ages 7 and 9. Because of the rain, we ate in the main dining room. We were surprised to see a very nice children's menu available.Three adults had the 40 euro menu, one ordered a la carte and the children ordered from the children's menu. The food was very good and much improved since our last visit. I understand that there is new management. They have retained what was good about the Chantegrill and the food and service did not disappoint!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peymeinade
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Could be much better!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We came for lunch, we were seated at our booked table near the ventilation of sewer...( whole terrace was empty, and stayed empty for one table) we were reseated after we made hesitations to sit down.(by the way, nice terrace and a lot of private parking).
2 of us ordered the lunch menu 24€ and one of us the menu of 20 € ( no dessert). Our guest who ordered the 24 € menu, asked if instead of the sweets on the menu she could get some cheese , the answer was" it's not in this menu madam" she said " well any french restaurant will have a cheese platter, so I am sure you can serve me some cheese" Reply, "certainly madam". To our surprise 5 € was added to the bill.
The food: was ok, but the french fries came to our table burned and.... soggy, amazing how you can achieve that. We sent them back, and they returned with well baked fries ( no apology), after our remark" these are much better" the reply was, " they are the same...".
While we were still drinking our apero, they came asking 3 times if we would like to order the wine, at the first request we made it clear that we would order it later, a bit pushy I am afraid.
We have seen several waitresses serving our table, instead of one responsible for us.
Service: not up to standard, not very welcoming...!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good - new owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Having been several years, our expctations were moderate but food has always been OK. To our pleasant surprise, the staff is mostly the same, but the decorations and menu are new. Go for the 40 Euro menu and you will not be disappointed. We had a lovelt evening with attentive service and reasonably priced drinks. Good was delicious and above expectations. Do sit outside but at inner terrace as the front one by the parking heats up quickly in the evening sun and cars can be a bit annoying. Enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge le Chantegrill also viewed

Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Chateauneuf de Grasse, Grasse
 

Been to Auberge le Chantegrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge le Chantegrill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.