We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Romantic Venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Couvent Royal de Saint Maximin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel le Couvent Royal de Saint Maximin to your Saves list
Hotel le Couvent Royal de Saint Maximin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Jean Salusse, 83470 Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€10 off room rate
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ideal Romantic Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located within the ancient convent in the centre of Saint Maximin and is centred around a cloistered garden.
The rooms are approached by way of a luxurious wide corridor but are slightly disappointing in comparison being of modest proportions.
However the rooms are perfectly adequate and well appointed, ours having views over the gardens. The only disappointment with the room was the hand held shower - a good shower was not provided for the want of a hook on the wall!
There are few hotels that offer the atmosphere of this historic hotel which includes a very good quality restaurant.
Before visiting we did try on several occasions to contact the hotel by telephone only to be put on hold or simply receive a message. Disappointing for a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
9
90
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Having stayed here during the summer, we decided to take advantage of their New Year package. The property remains stunning, but..... It was 3 degrees outside (yes even in Provence it can be cold). We checked in and were directed to our room. Thy could have used it as a back-up refrigerator for the kitchens. They knew we were coming - so why not put on the room heating? It was too cold to take out coats off for at least an hour while it got some warmth. The bathroom heater worked for 2 minutes, and then stopped. You had to then wait 10 minutes to repeat the process - and again and again.
We then went to the New Year Dinner in their restaurant. There was a considerable delay from the advertised start time, as the staff were not ready. We duly sat down, and the first course was served. At that point the lights all went off. There was no electricity due to an accident in the town! The emergency back-up lighting was totally inadequate and moving round the hotel was dangerous. The meal was delayed by some 2 hours. There appeared to be nobody in charge; the staff panicked; and were the guests informed of anything? Of course not.
Result - when EDF repaired the power supply, the main course was served around midnight. We toasted the New Year, not after the desert, but during the main course, which of course was then cold. The dinner finished about 1.30.. I am not blaming the hotel for the power cut - these things can happen. But they had no backup plan, no organisation, no communication.
When we checked out, we told the receptionist about the heating problem. It was obvious that she had no interest whatsoever in this.
Conclusion - great location and building - just do not go in the winter.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the hotel for 4 nights as we were my visiting my girlfriends family in Saint maximin and they recommended the hotel for its reputation. The hotel unfortunately was a total disgrace. My girlfriend booked the room from booking.com after viewing the photos on the site that the hotel had listed for our room. The room was nothing like it, dirty, freezing cold when we arrived and we were down a pitch a black corridor which you had to fumble around in when you exited the room at night. There was no drink making facilities in the room, which in itself was tiny. After complaining about the standard of the room and falsely listed photos we were told management would speak with us. In fact, we found out later there was no manager until January 8th!! Then to top things off on New Year's Eve there was no hot water !! After being moved to another room on New Year's Day we found we still had no hot water. My girlfriends brother-in-law, who is french, complained to the hotel who told him we would receive a refund. When checking out we were told a refund wasn't possible as we had booked with booking.com, instead offered vouchers for 2 meals and 2 drinks. When the vouchers were emailed to us when we arrived back in the uk all we got was 2 free drinks !!!! On my experience stay well clear, lovely looking building and lovely surroundings, but awful. It wasn't worth 40 Euros a night, I work away a lot on the UK, mostly London in budget hotels, and never have I stayed in a room of such poor standard for £40 let alone the £80 we paid here. Dreadful.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume hotels

Gunnislake
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We were looking for a hotel with parking and a restaurant in the vicinity of Aix en Provence following an 8 1/2 hour 500+ mile drive from Rome. Finding any hotel in a village near to Aix with a restaurant proved a major challenge, and we chose this one largely because it had one (despite the largely negative reviews). The hotel was easy to find and we were unprepared for its magnificence. Our standard room was small, as was the bathroom, but nicely furnished and quiet and comfortable with beautiful views of the cloister garden and basilica. It was absolutely fine for one night, but if staying to explore the region, it would probably be worth paying extra for a larger room. The corridor leading to the room still gave the impression of a monastic building with cells leading off it, and the whole building had been most sympathetically turned into a hotel. I don't know whether there has been a change of management or whether they've been reading the TA reviews, but we had free wifi that worked perfectly in the room, and the 39 euro 3 course meal we had with accompanying wines was absolutely fine and perfectly good value. Service was a little here and there - there were only two staff in the vast room and there were quite a few tables of couples, plus two large adjoining tables with a group outing, which tested the staff somewhat. Breakfast at a rather steep 14 euros a head did not represent such good value. It was adequate without being outstanding but had the merit of being entirely self service, enabling us to eat it without a long wait - we had another long drive ahead and needed to get away promptly. It seems silly, but our main niggle was the 10 euro parking charge - the parking area was within their own gated enclave and there was plenty of it - why charge? Staff were all young and quite pleasant, if a little distrait.

Room Tip: We did not research larger rooms/suites as we were only there one night. Rooms are quite small, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier G, Directeur général at Hotel le Couvent Royal de Saint Maximin, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Dear Cornwallgurl, Thank you for taking time to write a Trip Advisor review following your stay and thank you for staying in your hôtel. All the staff is delighted that you loved our rooms, our friendly team, our location and the whole services we propose. I hope you get the opportunity soon to return to St Maximin in the future and it would be a pleasure welcoming you back. Kind regards, Olivier GABILLAT – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed in this place as part of a conference, and the location really lent itself very nicely to an intellectual endeavour. As a former monastery it is eerily quiet safe the pidgeons, with a lovely inner courtyard to have an aperitif in or sit, read and contemplate the world. The rooms are nice, maybe not super-luxurious, but perfectly adequate for the place and again oh so quiet! I also really liked the mattress, which was just on the right side of firm. As a conference room the chapel has challenging accoustics but there are a number of (much) smaller conference rooms too. The downsides: no mod cons such as gym, swimming pool, garden loungers or others. AND don't get me started on the food - despite the restaurant being relaunched days before we arrived most of the dishes we had were cold and not very tasty, and they simply could not cope with the notion of anyone being a vegetarian (a whole battery of waiters tried at least five times to convince me to eat the meat dish; the last attempt was accompanied by the words "It is well done now!".... ) But then again, this is the south of France...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Not so many choices in town to stay, and this one has some advantages, but not so much. You're close to bus stations and the basilique and with a car you can visit the surroundings if you like the mountain driving. The Couvent itself is nice and quiet but the rooms are really standard. On our stay they charged us multiples breakfasts we didn't had (14€ / person / day) which are really expensive, just go around town and buy some croissants or pastry for far less than that and relax on a bench.
Also, the WIFI Access is not free and is expensive too.

Room Tip: Don't choose the cheap rooms, they're on the road side. Other rooms are fine by that. Watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful centre in an old monastery with lovely views on to the cloisters.
Building clean and comfortable although perhaps a little austere.
Didn't eat in restaurant.
High parking charge and high price for using internet.
We parked in the local park and used the wifi front hellcat tourist office contained within the monastery building

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Couvent Royal de Saint Maximin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Couvent Royal de Saint Maximin

Address: Place Jean Salusse, 83470 Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Var > Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Couvent Royal de Saint Maximin 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel le Couvent Royal de Saint Maximin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Couvent Royal de Saint Maximin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.