We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful people, beautiful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Gonzagues

Save Saved
You added Maison Gonzagues to your Saves list
Maison Gonzagues
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Gonzagues
9, rue Leon Gerard, 83570 Cotignac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cotignac
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful people, beautiful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We were guided to Maison Gonzagues and hosts Stephane and Martine through Provence Reservation Day Tours. The stay was truly one of the highlights of our May 2011 trip.

After several days in Paris, we embarked on a tour arranged by PRDT. Cotignac was an unfamiliar place, but listed as a stop along the way. We were so worried about our late arrival - but were met warmly by Stephane who expertly parked our car (as we were causing some chaos by going the wrong way!). He and his wife, Martine, escorted us to our gorgeous room. After some time to settle, we headed downstairs for what we expected to be a simple dinner. What a surprise for us! This 5 course meal prepared by Stephane and Martine was by far one of the best meals of our 2 weeks of travel throughout France.

I'd consider us to be seasoned travelers - but I've never stayed in a more beautiful location with more gracious hosts. My heart warms every time I think of our stay. If our travels take us back to France - Cotignac and Maison Gonzagues will definitely be on our list.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our first trip to Provence and we scoured Trip Advisor finding the C18th Maison Gonzagues - and we were not disappointed. From the outset, you are met by a friendly smile from Stephane who couldn't have been more helpful throughout our stay. We were shown our room, with a lovely 4 Poster Bed; the room was large with en suite shower, loo etc. It is very clean, beautifully furnished and in the morning you are treated to a traditional French breakfast.

Would we stay again? Certainly! Finally, if you do stay, only 100 yards away, in the centre of Cotignac, is a fantastic restaurant: La Table de la Fontaine. Enjoy - we did.

Room Tip: 4 Poster Bedroom, however, we saw one other room which was also lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

What a beautiful experience. What a beautiful building, so full of character and history. So unique that we cannot beleive we were lucky to find it. The owner was lovely and very helpful. If you are in this part of Provence then it must be tried to be believed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

A magnificent 17th century merchant's house in the heart of one of the most interesting Provencal villages. The owners are attentive to your every need. They go out of their way to keep the decor in keeping with the character of the house: understated charm rather than over-stated. Our bedroom was huge and comfortable. The staircase is a marvel in itself. Breakfast was excellent. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Beautiful authentic 17th century hotel conveniently located near the town square of Cotignac. Made for a great location to explore surrounding countryside. Owner had a rouring fire going upon our arrival with wine followed by a wonderful 5 course meal. Highly recommend having dinner at the hotel. The owners put a lot of thought in fine details of food service both for breakfast and dinner. We loved the extra detail with the beautiful table & bed linens, all which were crisp and smelled of fresh lavender! Our room was the largest and most spacious we have had vacationing in France with beautiful furnishings, nice artwork, a wine cellar and wonderful private bath facilities. All of which added to the experience. The owners were very helpful with assisting us with reservations and travel guidance for the area. Also, they are well versed in wine. The hotel is immaculate and provides a wonderful authentic provincial experience of staying in the Var region. We can't say enough good things about our hosts and this wonderful hotel experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We recently stayed one night in Cotignac at La Maison Gonzagues and wished we could have stayed longer! The owners are absolutely lovely people and can't do enough for you. They parked our car for us because there is no parking directly outside the hotel and then they fetched it for us again in the morning - amazing service! There are only 5 bedrooms and all are beautiful. Ours was huge - directly at the top of the stairs on the 2nd landing above the kitchen I believe. Everything was really pretty and spotlessly clean. SO French! We thought we were too late for breakfast because we inadvertently overslept but they had saved it for us and it was lovely - fresh fruit and natural yoghart, freshly brewed strong coffee, croissants and rolls with preserves and plenty of it. We were sorry to leave. The little gem of a hotel is situation right in the heart of the town, walking distance to several restaurants. We got hopelessly lost on our way there from the airport and had to telephone the hotel 2 or 3 times for directions but they were lovely and patient and helpful. He even printed us off a map when we left, so that we could find the next destination on our trip!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

If you're looking for a beautiful place to stay right in the heart of Cotignac, this is it. La Maison Gonzagues is a building dating from 1747, peaceful and full of light, with wide stone stairs, tile floors, and a secret passageway through what used to be the stable. Hosts Stéphane and Martine Le Flammanc are the nicest people imaginable, plus he's a wine professional and an excellent cook. Try to have dinner there at least once during your stay - ask for table d'hôte - and prepare to be fed very well and served excellent wines before climbing the stairs to a spacious and beautifully furnished room.

In the morning walk out the front door into the center of life in Cotignac. It's a lovely town, and this is a great place from which to explore it. We'll certainly go back.

  • Liked — Great hosts, beautiful building, huge room, huge bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison Gonzagues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Gonzagues

Address: 9, rue Leon Gerard, 83570 Cotignac, France
Location: France > Provence > Var > Cotignac
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cotignac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gonzagues House is one of the last remaining manor houses in Cotignac a charming village in the unspoiled Upper Var area. Particular care has been lavished on the building, which has been both conserved and renovated in keeping with the spirit of the 18th century, the period during which the house was erected(the exact date is 1747).The 5 principal bedrooms with their fireplaces,are each decorated differently (Jouy, Marseillaise, Louis XIV, Monacale, Marie-Louise)together with their separated bathrooms and toilets.The furniture is antique ans some pieces are very old indeed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Maison Gonzagues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Gonzagues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.