We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some downsides” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Bastide de Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Bastide de Marie to your Saves list
La Bastide de Marie
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   64 Chemin des Peirelles, Menerbes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“some downsides”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The building and physical surrounds are truly beautiful .
La Baside is hard to locate and while we'd read that on trip advisor we underestimated what a challenge it was to find the place .
The gentleman who "greeted" (sic) us after an arduous trip was less than pleasant and the car park spaces ( despite acres of land to spare ) are tiny and an accident waiting to happen....hardly a comfortable situation after a long journey.
The women at La Bastide were pleasant.
There is pressure to eat in and no self coffee/tea making facilities were available in the room.
The delightful addition of peaches in the room only happened on the first day... it was not continued.
I get the impression La Bastide caters for the world weary who don't move from the pool ,the spa and the cuisine .
They don't seem to understand that overseas visitors like to explore,request maps and savour suggestions etc.
We couldn't even score a map.
When I was asked to comment on Guest apartment services in Paris it struck me how much more competent Guest was in meeting their customers needs.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireille B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Marie, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking time to give your comments about your stay at the bastide de Marie
We are sorry that your experience was not as expected
Your comments have been reading by the team in order to improve all the different things mentinned
We sincerely hope to welcome you again to give you another picture of the Bastide
best regards
Mireille Baud -manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    15
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
77
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It is clear that you will discover an authentic "provencal bastide" and you will forget the modern world and modern style also if we discuss about decoration. The room are more than OK, the common areas : you have impression that it is your private home with a good chief in your kitchen, good product and good choice = enjoy the meal. We cannot say that it is an hotel but a very nice "bastide" with some rooms for your guests. And the district is a real beautiful areas with nice villages.

Room Tip: Try one night the exterior caravan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireille B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Marie, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience in the Bastide
It is true the bastide is not just as an hotel but a special place where everyone is welcomed like in a private home
We hope to welcome you again for a new stay
yours sincerely

Mireille Baud -Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had heard many wonderful things about this place and have been wanting to visit for a while. So was delighted and hugely looking forward to spending 2 nights here as part of our South of France holiday. En route from Burgundy we drove here via Gordes - one thing to say at this point is if you are staying anywhere near Menerbes, make sure you pencil in a visit to Gordes. It is absolutely stunning, a dramatic village literally built into the sharp cliff of a mountain. So - back to Bastide Marie. As a newbie to Provence I have always dreamed and imagined "lollipop" cypress tree driveways and fields of lavender and wow it did not disappoint! Bastide Marie also delivers 100% on this with the added bonus of an onsite winery and vineyards all around. The wine is out of this world - the most refreshing, delicious ice cold rose I have ever tasted, available all day, you just help yourself. By the pool, in your room, sitting watching the sun go down over the vineyards as long shadows fall and everything is tinged with that wonderful warming honey colour of the evening sun. It was everything I had imagined and unbelievably romantic, dining outside in candlelight with efficient waiters and waitresses gliding in, almost unnoticeable but always there for you. And in the background the unmistakable sound of the cicadas that just to me mean holiday and happy times. Fabulous food and a wonderful lazy petit dejeuner. There are 2 pools each in a fantastic setting although the one nearest the main house is especially secluded and quiet. We had the Mauve Astor room, which was on two levels. Lovely room and they give you the most ripe and sweet peaches. We were going to walk the short distance to Menerbes but the pool was too tempting so we lazed there instead! Beautiful place and will be one of my happiest memories for a very long time.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are beautiful here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireille B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Marie, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your nice review -
We are very pleased that you have loved "our little piece of heaven" lost in the Natural park of the Luberon and in the middle of the wineyards
We sincerely hope th welcome you again for another magic moment
best regards
Mireille Baud
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My mother and I stayed at this exquisite 18th century property. Each of the 15 rooms are decorated in beautiful fabrics and unique furniture and modern bathrooms with great water pressure. The rooms are not large but no detail is overlooked. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. The property is situated on a vineyard, Le Domaine de Marie, with spectacular views. The restaurant is wonderful with scrumptious menus and local ingredients. We opted to eat every night at the restaurant and did not regret our decision. There is a spa but we did not partake in the services. We had a fantastic experience and I would highly recommend this property, worth the splurge!

Room Tip: All rooms are different. We stayed in Vanille and loved it but I think they are all equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I just returned from la Bastide de Marie for our 30th anniversary trip and once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful property. We had visited the Bastide 3 years prior and considered it one of our favorite all time destinations. We were not disappointed!! Our room Blanc D'Ivoire was gorgeous and opened up to the gardens and patio-actually it was a suite. Our food the entire stay was outstanding and the staff could not have been more helpful. We stayed four days, June 28 through July 2 and saw beautiful lavender fields and sunflowers. The weather was very hot, a trade off for seeing the beautiful lavender so when we return we will probably go in September as the weather was much cooler. Even though we traveled as a couple ,we met a lot of nice people as we had appetizers and dinner on the patio by the gardens and vineyards.. It was a wondrful trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Exquisite hotel in the midst of vineyards outside of the village of Menerbes. A wonderful experience in tastefully executed rooms in an old stone farmhouse. The staff are friendly, warm and helpful - you almost feel like you are a guest in their home. We had dinner on the terrace under the trees two evenings and they were both superb as sun set over the vineyards. They serve their own wines and they were excellent as were all the food options. The morning breakfast spread on the farmhouse table in the kitchen had every option that makes France such a wonderful food experience. We stayed three nights while traveling throughout the Luberon valley - and that felt just about right.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

I am writing this review at the property and after staying 2 nights at another property at les baux de Provence called la cabro d'or I feel I am finally in heaven. La Bastide is just so charming. It's picture perfect at every corner and most of all it has a heart and a soul that is so infectious that made you not want to leave. I don't like to compare properties but I really don't want people to stay at a place like la cabro d'or which turns people off. Or for people like me who had seen real charm like la Bastide de Marie. I was here for the first time 4 years ago in September, fell in love and swore to come back to see the lavender fields and here I am. It is even better than I remembered. It might seem expensive but don't forget all drinks are included and breakfast and dinner as well. Again for place like cabro d'or which charges 390 euro a room but 200 euro more if you have dinner and drinks there I would choose la Bastide de Marie anytime. Service is excellent so is the food. I don't feel ripped off. At cabro d'or they don't even bother to lit the gardens and you have to fight your way in the dark to get back to the room. I can go on and on but la Bastide de Marie had got it and still has it, ALL!!!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireille B, Directeur général at La Bastide de Marie, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your feelings about the Bastide de Marie
we are delighted to learn that the experience was very special and that you enjoyed every minute with us

looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again
best regards
Mireille Baud
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bastide de Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Marie

Address: 64 Chemin des Peirelles, Menerbes, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Menerbes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Menerbes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide de Marie 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Bastide de Marie is located in the heart of the Domaine de Marie's 57 acres of vineyards, offering you an idyllic break in Provence. 15 rooms, each one with a unique irresistible charm, its restaurant known as one of the best in the region, welcoming lounge areas, 2 pools, a Pure Altitude treatment room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your La Bastide de Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Marie Hotel Menerbes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bastide de Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.