We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and accommodation, excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Hotel de la Marine
11 rue Paris, 50270 Barneville-Carteret, France   |  
Hotel amenities
East Rudham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb food and accommodation, excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a very stylish hotel indeed, and we've stayed in some of the finest, all over the world. We had a stunning room with a panoramic view over the estuary, the opposite island of Barneville, and the sea, that ran from the bathroom and across two sides of the room, with floor to ceiling windows. Two separate terraces gave us different perspectives. The room was very modern, and very comfortably and stylishly appointed.

My wife is a vegetarian, which we informed the hotel before our arrival. We ate in the restaurant for the two nights we stayed, and my wife had the best vegetarian meals she's ever eaten - in France! Chef Lauren Cesne prepared two completely different tasting menus for her, and proved that in the hands of a master vegetables are no obstacle to preparing stunning food . Choices for vegetarians are so often unimaginative and limited; this set the bench mark for us for what is possible. My non-vegetarian dinners were also sensational, and the service was impeccable.

This hotel is delightful, the staff were very friendly and extremely professional, and we look forward to seeing them again next year.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the estuary are, of course, the ones to go for if you want a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    38
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
99
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

First visit for some years after a disappointing meal.
Hotel has been refurbed to a good standard, evening meal was very good, pricey but worth it.
Breakfast also very good, relaxed service, no rush to check out on time, enjoy your breakfast!
Exactly as expected, not an everyday venue but great for a personal special occasion.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourdon, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I have have stayed at this modern & clean Hotel on many occasions whilst visiting from England. We have eaten each time and find the food impeccable. Now we live in SW France, sadly its not near us anymore. However, we planned our annual visit to the UK this year by car, with a detour to revisit la Marine after 5 years...
It was a delight again. The staff are courteous, efficient and make a kind effort to speak English at once (sparing them my terrible French no doubt!). Having owned a restaurant ourselves (and indeed still cooking avidly for our B&B clients), we adore the creations of Laurent Cesne. Truly a gastronomic experience. Despite other reviewers who (obviously) do not appreciate that cooking of this calibre comes in smaller, more concentrated portions, we found ourselves quite fully satisfied after both having the 54€ menu - not at all expensive for a Michelin-starred restaurant. If rating this place was based entirely on food - it would be excellent.
However, there remain a few minor (though not serious) points to the accommodation side. The shower is not user friendly, being bereft of any sort of wall-fixing, although the bathrooms are beautifully presented and equipped. Noisy staff 'traffic' above our room around 7 am was a little 'unsympathetic' to sleepers and perhaps staff should be coerced to move more lightly at that hour. The rather unpleasant odour of the estuary when tide is out is beyond their control, though nonetheless an invasive problem at times. We did not take breakfast at 32€ extra for the two of us - that is too steep for morning food, sorry.
However small these minor 'niggles' are; this establishment as a whole, is perfect for spoiling oneself and experiencing expertly crafted food!
Bravo la Marine et bon continuation - à prochain!!

Room Tip: The sea views, although stunning, do present themselves to the 'tide-out' odour(!) Keep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have stayed at La Marine on more occasions than I can remember and will contnue staying there for as long as I can get France. The rooms are outstanding and the restaurant is top class with excellent service. I am looking foward to my next visit in the spring of 2013

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is essential especially in fine weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Cherbourg and were very impressed. The staff were helpful in finding somewhere safe to park for our very laden car, and had 24 hour security staff to keep an eye on it overnight. The room we were given had two balconies, with lovely views over the water, and was fresh and bright. There was a lovely bath which allowed my wife a relaxing soak after a long journey, and a plentiful supply of large, fluffy towels. I suggest booking a first floor room - the shower pressure was not very good further up as our travelling companions found. Good place to stay, and worth the money for a last night of the holiday treat. Great restaurant in the hotel and several others (not tried) within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here a while back while buying a house in Normandy and the owners were lovely. Hot,e rooms very smart , great beds, good views etc. even better is the resturant cooked by the owners son, probably the best resturant in Normandy and have been many times. Not cheap but better than any Gordan Ramsey or Gary Rhodes resturant. If you can afford it, try the taster menu. Really heavenly!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We hadn't been to the Marine for some time, it is very expensive, and now we are on pensions and not both working we feel we need a good excuse to stay there. This year we felt we did, and we loved every moment.

There had been a big refurbishment since our last visit, and we thought our room couldn't be bettered. We had splashed out and gone for a bigger room with a big, big bed and a terrace looking over the estuary. The bed and linens were superb, the bathroom had a large corner bath and an excellent rainshower; the towels were as large and fluffy as one would hope.

There was a huge sofa, which turned out to be very useful as unfortunately I picked up a bug and had to spend a lot of time stretched out on it, and so, sadly, we didn't dine, though we have memories of wonderful food in the past.

I did manage one breakfast during our 2-night stay, and found it much better than I remembered. It wasn't cheap, but the quality was so high that we didn't mind. My husband managed two, lucky man!

We didn't even try and park outside the hotel, but there is a public car park a very short distance away.
There are interesting shops near by, I think our favourite is the delicatessen run by the hotel, which is full of tempting items.

I am working hard on persuading my husband that there will be a special occasion next year which will merit a visit.

Room Tip: Not all the terraces are private, so check if you don't want to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 11 rue Paris, 50270 Barneville-Carteret, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Barneville-Carteret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Barneville-Carteret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine France/Barneville-Carteret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.