We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continued excellent standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Marine
11 rue Paris, 50270 Barneville-Carteret, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Continued excellent standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have stayed at La Marine on more occasions than I can remember and will contnue staying there for as long as I can get France. The rooms are outstanding and the restaurant is top class with excellent service. I am looking foward to my next visit in the spring of 2013

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is essential especially in fine weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    36
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
94
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Cherbourg and were very impressed. The staff were helpful in finding somewhere safe to park for our very laden car, and had 24 hour security staff to keep an eye on it overnight. The room we were given had two balconies, with lovely views over the water, and was fresh and bright. There was a lovely bath which allowed my wife a relaxing soak after a long journey, and a plentiful supply of large, fluffy towels. I suggest booking a first floor room - the shower pressure was not very good further up as our travelling companions found. Good place to stay, and worth the money for a last night of the holiday treat. Great restaurant in the hotel and several others (not tried) within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here a while back while buying a house in Normandy and the owners were lovely. Hot,e rooms very smart , great beds, good views etc. even better is the resturant cooked by the owners son, probably the best resturant in Normandy and have been many times. Not cheap but better than any Gordan Ramsey or Gary Rhodes resturant. If you can afford it, try the taster menu. Really heavenly!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We hadn't been to the Marine for some time, it is very expensive, and now we are on pensions and not both working we feel we need a good excuse to stay there. This year we felt we did, and we loved every moment.

There had been a big refurbishment since our last visit, and we thought our room couldn't be bettered. We had splashed out and gone for a bigger room with a big, big bed and a terrace looking over the estuary. The bed and linens were superb, the bathroom had a large corner bath and an excellent rainshower; the towels were as large and fluffy as one would hope.

There was a huge sofa, which turned out to be very useful as unfortunately I picked up a bug and had to spend a lot of time stretched out on it, and so, sadly, we didn't dine, though we have memories of wonderful food in the past.

I did manage one breakfast during our 2-night stay, and found it much better than I remembered. It wasn't cheap, but the quality was so high that we didn't mind. My husband managed two, lucky man!

We didn't even try and park outside the hotel, but there is a public car park a very short distance away.
There are interesting shops near by, I think our favourite is the delicatessen run by the hotel, which is full of tempting items.

I am working hard on persuading my husband that there will be a special occasion next year which will merit a visit.

Room Tip: Not all the terraces are private, so check if you don't want to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in August, but we booked it in February and were really looking forward to staying there after reading the reviews.
Our room was very clean but small and the bathroom had no shower cubical only a shower head in the bath?
We had breakfast on one morning and we were very disappointed we were not offered anything special apart from a fruit pot and yoghurt. (thought we might even be offered an egg!). It was really expensive and not worth it.
We also had dinner in the restaurant and it was equally as expensive a good meal but for the price we expected it to be much better. There wasn't even an attempt to have any English translation on the menu. My French is limited... We found that once we ordered the meal nobody came back to us at any stage during the meal to ask us if everything was ok?
All in all we found this hotel a bit stuffy and would not return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have stayed and eaten at this hotel many times over recent years - our repeat visits show our appreciation of this excellent establishment. The hotel is situated overlooking the picturesque harbour at Carteret some 35km south of Cherbourg.

We have never had anything other than imaginatively presented and beautifully cooked food that is served immaculately. There is a very respectable wine list.

It is not cheap, but quality never is. Booking is essential. There are site restrictions and parking may present problems in the summer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night over the Easter weekend. The hotel has a great location looking over the estuary, and a lovely terrace where you can enjoy the afternoon sun. Our room was nicely furnished (muted & modern) and very spacious with two balconies overlooking different aspects. The windows also had shutters which meant the room was dark & quiet so we had a really good night's sleep.
We ate in the Michelin starred restaurant which definitely lived up to expectations. The dining room is beautiful with big picture windows to make the most of the setting. The food was delicious, and the set menu of 5 courses quite reasonably priced. The only slight fault was that they seemed a little short staffed in the restaurant.
Overall a really good experience and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view / balcony are definitely worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 11 rue Paris, 50270 Barneville-Carteret, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Barneville-Carteret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Barneville-Carteret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine France/Barneville-Carteret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.