We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never less than excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de la Marine to your Saves list
Hotel de la Marine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 rue Paris, 50270 Barneville-Carteret, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Never less than excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have stayed and eaten at this hotel many times over recent years - our repeat visits show our appreciation of this excellent establishment. The hotel is situated overlooking the picturesque harbour at Carteret some 35km south of Cherbourg.

We have never had anything other than imaginatively presented and beautifully cooked food that is served immaculately. There is a very respectable wine list.

It is not cheap, but quality never is. Booking is essential. There are site restrictions and parking may present problems in the summer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    38
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
102
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night over the Easter weekend. The hotel has a great location looking over the estuary, and a lovely terrace where you can enjoy the afternoon sun. Our room was nicely furnished (muted & modern) and very spacious with two balconies overlooking different aspects. The windows also had shutters which meant the room was dark & quiet so we had a really good night's sleep.
We ate in the Michelin starred restaurant which definitely lived up to expectations. The dining room is beautiful with big picture windows to make the most of the setting. The food was delicious, and the set menu of 5 courses quite reasonably priced. The only slight fault was that they seemed a little short staffed in the restaurant.
Overall a really good experience and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view / balcony are definitely worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Excellent cuisine, tastefully furnished, modern rooms

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Excellent Hotel - room with terrace overlooking the estuary was fantastic - only downside = smell from seaweed at low tide!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We finished a short, 5-day break in Normandy with a night at the Hotel de la Marine and were extremely pleased we did. This is truly a little gem in a lovely little seaside town. It's an Art Deco retreat, with Philippe Starck furniture that is built to remind you of being on board an elegant ship. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the tidal river with views down to the fishing harbor and ferry (to the Channel Islands) terminal. The room was wonderfully designed and very light, with an extraordinary and huge shower and bathroom with curving, full-length glass walls. The bed provided views directly out to the river. If the room isn't enough for you - and we hardly wanted to leave ours - then the restaurant is also a can't miss experience. We certainly enjoyed the best (and most expensive) meal of our trip at this hotel. The food was imaginative and elegant without being fussy and was focused on the wonderful variety of fresh seafood available in the area. The dining room again has lovely views to the estuary and drinks can be had before and after dinner on a deck or a lounge with picture windows and decorated wityh old photos of Barneville.
Staying in this hotel was treat from check-in to check-out and we look forward to an excuse to visit again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We wouldn't normally be able to afford to stay at such an excellent hotel but the low season special tariffs allowed us a night of luxury in this three-star, family-run hotel by the sea. It was definitely one of the highlights of our visit to Normandy.

As you would expect, the room was comfortable with all the usual facilities, including free WiFi which is always a must for us. It was not pretentious though and the decor was very relaxing.

Despite the time of year, the service was very good. Staff were efficient, friendly and polite - what more can you ask for ?

The best feature ? Definitely the location. Not only right by the sea but with unobstructed views for 270º.

Hard to fault this hotel, but I guess we did find the meal prices a bit steep.

Room Tip: Ask about special rates and if possible get a room with a sea view - or spend lots of time in the wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We admittedly booked this hotel because we wanted to dine in its 1-star restaurant. To our great delight our room was very modern, very spacious, and very clean. The hotel is bordered by an ocean inlet on one side and a quaint little seaside town with wonderful little shops and restaurants on the other. Dinner in the hotel restaurant exceeded our expectations. When we go back (soon, we hope!) we will book demi-pension, which seems to be the greatest bargain when staying there.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street, which got a bit noisy early in the morning when the garbage and delivery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 11 rue Paris, 50270 Barneville-Carteret, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Barneville-Carteret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Barneville-Carteret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine France/Barneville-Carteret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.