We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing building, garden, pool, location. Relaxing and easy to chill.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Couvent des Ursulines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Couvent des Ursulines to your Saves list
Couvent des Ursulines
23 Av de Castelnau, 34120 Pezenas, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing building, garden, pool, location. Relaxing and easy to chill.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Beautiful location for a home away from home ( ... only better .... cool building, with a pool and a massive, welcoming garden), with easy access to local shops and the wonderful Saturday food market (including the oyster lady and amazing chicken) all makes the Couvent a very easy place to simply hang out, cook, walk, ride, swim and indulge .... inside or out.

Landlady and Lord are lovely, on site and available to help at any time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Our family's intention was to find a place anywhere in France for a period of two months, that would give us safe, apartment-style accomodation for ourselves and our three children aged 6, 11, and 13. We had never heard of Pezenas before, nor had we visited the Languedoc region of France previously. We feel amazingly lucky to have chosen the Couvent and this particular region of France! The large, enclosed garden offered plenty of room for the children to safely run around, and many peaceful moments in the hammocks and on our own terrace. Because we were studying French (using a local tutor) and keeping up with schoolwork, we were grateful for the ample space inside the apartment with easy Internet access. The newly renovated kitchen was perfectly fine for preparing our meals, which were always a joy thanks to the amazing local ingredients (there is an incredible weekly market, and lovely fresh seafood from the nearby Mediterranean and Etang de Thau!) As we did not wish to have a car during our long stay, we were delighted to find that it was an easy walk into the quaint, historical center of town which is full of tempting food shops and restaurants, as well as a wide variety of gift shops and artists studios. We could not have been better situated for our long stay in France! And we were most happy to make the acquaintance of the proprietors and their two fun children!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We really loved this place so much that we're going again this year! I wish I had a garden like this with the most beautiful trees. Emailing with Nikki in 2010 was always a lot of fun and the welcome by Jean Francois was warm, there was water en cola (biological) in fridge. Our apartment was made babyproof with fences for the stairs and a babyseat. The bedrooms en bathrooms (2) were beautiful, we slept really well.
Ideal for young children (ours were at the time 4, 3 and 1) because in the garden they had enough space to play and couldn't get out of our sight (there's a wall around the garden). The pool was great (no chlorine), in the sun and everyday there was this lovely breeze. In the evening it was lovely to sit outside. From the couvent you walk in a view minutes to the center of Pezenas, superb city (a lot of tourists but still great). The bakery is 1 minute walk and a small supermarket about 5 minutes.
Take your time to enjoy the garden and don't plan every day sightseeing

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tribeca, NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

A must for couples, families or friends to relax. Run by very friendly couple and their two adorable kids, I could not have chosen a better place to relax with my two teenagers. I also liked the friendly owners Jean Francois & Nikki as well as their well mannered 2 toddler boys. As for me it will be my annual retreat for a very long time.I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Do not be put off by the one bad review below. My husband and I had a lovely 2 weeks here with our 2 young children here. The garden is lovely - very peaceful - lots of shade - with a special feel to it. For the first time in his life my very busy 4 year old buy spent some time "chilling" by himself in the swinging chair seats and hammocks. The appartments are as exactly as you would expect from the careful descriptions on the web site. My only "complaint" would be that the metal spiral staircase along with the open mezzzanine was not the most pratical with an active toddler - but don't let that put you off. We fully recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

We stayed here over a fortnight period with various family combinations ,as we had a 19 year old boy , two 14 year old girls and a 6 year old girl , plus Grandparents. The teenagers stayed for one week and then a couple went home to be replaced by the pensioners !
I have never written a review before but am compelled to write this ..............
We all adored it. The teens lazed about by the lovely chlorine free pool and were able to wander safely into the charming town of Pezenas. The inclusion of wi-fi meant they could get their occasional "Techno fix" ! Our youngest had all she needed too... a pool and space to wander with shady spots and hammock /swingseats etc. ....and yet all within the safe confines of Convent walls ( so we could see her at all times though she couldn't see us !) We all completely relaxed here. The appartments were beautiful.... tasteful and clean ! The bathrooms and bedrooms were very comfortable and we loved the stylish decor....a mixture of antique and modern. The hosts are a delightful couple with 2 lovely sons. They also own a gorgeous coffee shop which my husband says makes the best coffee in France ( and he should know....he is a coffee bore !)
Go there ! You will not be disappointed !!

  • Liked — The appartment rooms
  • Disliked — going home!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We booked this property for the first week of our 3 week holday based on the hyperbole on their website (and which is reproduced in a guidebook). We were unpleasantly received and were appalled when we entered the euphemism for a garden which is just scrubland and totally uninviting. There was a tiny terrace with a couple of chairs and one hammock to share between the 4 properties (thoughts of the German towel race) which in fact faces the washing line with the refuse bins behind. We could not face the green coloured swimming pool expecting it to be full of tadpoles or newts so remained inside. The interior consisted of a large uncomfortable leather sofa and a dining table and chairs. The kitchen was minutely situated in a corner and was only just big enough to turn round in. We couldn't face using the cooker. The spiral staircase made suitcase carrying very difficult going up and almost impossible coming down. On the mezzanie floor is a dreadful futon and a TV apparently showing French TV only ( didn't even try it). The bedrooms weren't much better. We left as soon as we were able to arrange other accommodation the next day !

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFM34, Propriétaire at Couvent des Ursulines, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
It's the first time we got this kind of comment and we're sade about it! This our house and by welcoming our guest, we only wish them to have a good time. This place is very family oriented, therefore as the many site that referre us, I believe it describe very well the environment. This retired couple mentioned "garbage" wich is very different from a compost area!
I hope however these people will have enjoy whichever other place they will have found.
For inquiries, don't hesitate to call us, we want to be sure you'll get what you expect and more...!
JF & Nikki & Neal & Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Couvent des Ursulines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couvent des Ursulines

Address: 23 Av de Castelnau, 34120 Pezenas, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Pezenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pezenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couvent Des Ursulines offers four bright, spacious apartments in a converted convent in the heart of Pezenas in the Languedoc, South of France. The Couvent des Ursulines with its "secret garden" is an ideal place for a weekend break (or longer) in the South of France. The garden is completely surrounded by a wall and has open spaces with benches and hammocks as well as mature trees so you will always have the choice of sun or shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Couvent des Ursulines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couvent des Ursulines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.