We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Palmiers

Les Palmiers
10 Bis Rue Merciere, 34120 Pezenas, France
+33 4 67 09 42 56
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 65 Restaurants in Pezenas
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Interesting food and the most atmospheric venue in the town. You may eat under the stars - a problem if it rains but very rare. Interesting flavours and good service. Also now a tapas bar undercover in a warren of rooms linking two streets

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    42
    8
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for locals but not if you are a tourist.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A charming, tiny restaurant in the historic part of Pezenas. The restaurant was filled with local people, chatting, smoking and having a good time. We felt like outsiders and were treated that way. The waiter did not engage with us at all. He served us our wine, food and that was it. My husband had duck which was dry and my meal was just okay. Since there are so few restaurants open during February, we returned again and it was just the same.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Went home hungry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had been recommended this restaurant, and went there for a special occasion. The menu board was not explained to us, in either French or English. ( 2 French, 3 English, one with good French). It was placed in a position where we could not see it. We had w to get up, and put it on a chair. We ordered a meal. As a vegetarian, I ordered an entree as a main course, which came très petite, but charged as a main meal. One dish was discussing, a raw egg soup with ham bits floating in it. I complained about it, and refused to pay for it. I was told, I could not decide what I could or could not pay for, and they threatened to call the police! 3 out of 5 of us left the restaurant hungry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've eaten here on a few occasions and have to say it's my favourite in Pezenas. The menu changes daily so the food is always fresh, although there's not a huge selection, it's beautifully presented and delicious.

The staff are friendly and very patient in allowing me to practise my bad French and helping to assist me with any translation required. It's frequented by locals and tourists alike and provides a warm casual atmosphere.

If you're in Pezenas, it's worth your while to try here at least once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ruined by illegal smoking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We ate in Le Comptoir des Palmiers, inside in the bar. The room was completely enclosed, and we checked that it was completely non-smoking. The waitress asured us that it was, but during the meal lit a cigarette and smoked it in front of us, as did the man preparing food behind the bar and one customer, out of about twelve people in the room. The tapas were good, but our appetites and sense of taste were blunted by the cigarette smoke.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Palmiers also viewed

Pezenas, Herault
 

Been to Les Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Palmiers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.