We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Marty

Bodega Marty
13 Boulevard Leon Jean Gregory, 66330 Thuir, France
04 68 53 61 40
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Thuir
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Thuir, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

One of the best restaurants ever. Atmosphere you could almost eat and the food is also very good. Best night for a long time and I am sure for many to come

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean francois c, Gérant at Bodega Marty, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Google Translation
A voir les notes que vous nous avez attribué, effectivement,notre établissement vous a convenu!!
Je vous dis donc: a la prochaine fois!! Merci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Solney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great Catalan cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We asked around in the attractive, bustling town of Thuir and were told 'this is where the locals go' - and we can see why! A very good welcome for everyone coupled with a lively atmosphere, good value, attentive service and really good, regional food makes this an ideal place for lunch. The midday menu with a limited choice of daily dishes costs just €14 and represents very good value indeed. There are interesting dishes on the 'carte' too and I greatly enjoyed their version of my favourite classic Catalan starter of escilavada followed by lotte cooked meuniere for a very pleasant change. With a pichet of drinkable rose and one coffee, the bill for three came to €67.50, good value for what we all enjoyed. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Catalan Robustness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A great place to visit for its market, Thuir has an authentic Catalan restaurant you should visit. Can Marty has seating inside and out and great tasting food, largely Catalan. Unlike some other reviewers, I had steak at Can Marty, Cotes de Boeuf, and I must have had my teeth in. When eating entrecote in many places in France, your expectations should be for a good chew. But here, the Cotes de Boeuf melts in the mouth. A very popular restaurant which quickly fills with locals at lunchtime so either book or get there early. This was my second visit in five years and hopefully will not be my last.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming with some standout dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The only reason not to give 5* was the quality of the steak main course. The escargot Catalan style was ouy of this world. The sauce was so rich and flavourful it must have been cooked for many hours. My wife had gazpacho with a gazpacho sorbet which she rated the best ever. The steak main was just average but was the cheapest of the steaks which might explain it. Service was charming and efficient and the cost reasonable for the quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charming with some standout dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The only reason not to give 5* was the quality of the steak main course. The escargot Catalan style was ouy of this world. The sauce was so rich and flavourful it must have been cooked for many hours. My wife had gazpacho with a gazpacho sorbet which she rated the best ever. The steak main was just average but was the cheapest of the steaks which might explain it. Service was charming and efficient and the cost reasonable for the quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Marty also viewed

Thuir, Pyrenees-Orientales
Thuir, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Thuir, Pyrenees-Orientales
Thuir, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to Bodega Marty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Marty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.