We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Cavanac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Cavanac to your Saves list
Chateau de Cavanac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etienne Guizard, 11570 Cavanac, Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cavanac
Carrickmacross, Monaghan, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have a holiday home about 30 mins from the chateau. We have eaten here many times and it never fails to deliver. We have stayed overnight sometimes as with the wine provided with the meal driving afterwards would not be an option. The set menu is so varied that the choice is wonderful. They seem to change the menu every year but keep some of the main dishes. A great venue for a special occasion. If its in the summer it is essential to book a table outside as it is too warm inside in high summer.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and each is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    94
    16
    9
    11
See reviews for
35
130
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My French family has eaten at this restaurant many times over the years and I was lucky enough to join them in August for dinner. The food was a real treat and the atmosphere was great. For the starter I had pan fried foie gras with fig, followed by magret de canard and then creme brulee for dessert. I would highly recommend the restaurant to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

After seeing the website and visiting the hotel, we were really impressed...by the website photographer. What looks like a little gem of French luxury turns out to be a rather overpriced victim of the passage of time. You can feel the individual springs and horsehair in the upholstery and the last time I heard water that noisy, I was overlooking the falls at Iguassu.
But I forgive them everything for the restaurant. I swear there were more people in there on a Thursday night in October than in the rest of the town, and with good reason. This was a quality offering. Five courses to satisfy the most discerning palatte with lobster, foie gras in fig sauce, suckling pig, langoustines, local cheeses. The wine would win no prizes, but then, as the receptionist put it, this is not Bordeaux. I could not possibly stay more than a night, as my liver would not take it, but if you like your hotels quirky and your food sublime, this could well be the place to stay when visiting Carcassonne

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentwood
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on our way north, well worth a visit, and only 10 minutes by car to the centre of CARCASSONNE.

The Hotel is a big old house, the rooms all have names and i assume all a bit different, so if you intend to stay here , check out their web site to choose a room. they do a room only rate, with Breakfast an extra at 12 euro a head. rooms are big, with AC, but decorated with old style furniture, and tiled floors. we had the rose pompom room, wich had a great view over the vines at the rear of the Hotel.

A bottle of water in the room and a couple of real glasses would have been nice ( they had plastic glass things in a plastic sealed bag ).

the pool area and tennis courts were a little sad looking when we were there, it was the end of September and a bit out of season

we would go back again if we were in the area, it's just to far south to go more often.





The restaurant is the real star of this place, a great set menu for 45 euros a head, with 3 bottles of wine included, the red and rose were not to bad, but the white not to our taste. again look at the web site to see the menu, you will not be left wanting more, we sat there for 3 hours. Booking is a must.

we did ask reception for an iron, as my wife wanted to press a few things, we had ben touring around for over a week. but they said there was no iron, or house keeping service.

the Chateau is in a small village with no other bars or Restaurants.

Room Tip: check their web site to pick your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoux, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful small chateau, unique individual rooms in a great setting. The restaurant is amazing, set in the old stables, with a fantastic single price menu, although each of the five courses has a number of choices to go with the 3 bottles of wine (Red, White and Rose) waiting on the table when you enter. Arrive at 8 - o'clock and stay until---------
Best in the area. If you want to impress your friends or have a celebration, this is it!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr. Oxford, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were renting a villa nearby so this review is only relevant for the restaurant. Five generous courses, as much wine as you wish for and excellent service, this was a great way to kick off our family holiday, incidentally it was packed so be sure to book a table in advance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is only for the restaurant as we are fortunate in having friends with a house in Cavanac - doubly fortunate considering the amount of 'free' wine you can get through if you've a mind to! This time we ate in the courtyard, which was delightful, even nicer than the restaurant room. Service is impeccable. A huge choice of things to eat - several ways with foie gras, lobster, coquilles, steaks of all sorts, pigeon, duck, game..............With 5 courses to get through you need to go there hungry! And of course the wine - a bottle of rose and of white in an ice bucket when you arrive, plus a red - all from their own vineyards, and replenished if required. All for 45 euros per head - seems very good value. (You can buy their wine from them - we liked the white best - but by going round the corner to their Cave up the road you can buy it a bit cheaper). We will return - again!

Room Tip: Only ate in the restaurant, didn't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Cavanac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Cavanac

Address: Etienne Guizard, 11570 Cavanac, Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne > Cavanac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cavanac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Cavanac 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chateau has been in the family for six generations and date back to XVII century. The bedrooms individually designed by the proprietors wife, are decorated and named after flowers, incorporating the charm of the past with today’s modern comfort. Some are available with four poster beds or dramatic canopies, and all have ,air conditioning, WIFI, and en suite bathrooms,There is an outdoor swimming pool with a sunshiny terrace, a tennis court and a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Cavanac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Cavanac Hotel Cavanac
Chateau De Hotel Cavanac
Cavanac Chateau De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Cavanac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.