We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel, with amazing food too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Numero Neuf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Souterraine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Numero Neuf
Rue Serpente, 23300 La Souterraine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A beautiful hotel, with amazing food too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the most perfect B&B I've ever stayed in. In fact, I'd cheerfully move in and spend my dotage here! The interiors are gorgeous, helped by the generous room sizes and large windows of this lovely house, and I felt as though I had just walked into an edition of Country Living magazine - a vintage piece or vase of flowers in every corner! Duncan and Lisa are charming, attentive hosts and Lisa's cooking is to die for. We will definitely be back and I would thoroughly recommend MNN to anyone who wants to be thoroughly pampered but still walk away with their wallet intact.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top floor suite - perfect family accommodation with a claw-footed bath in the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter and I ,and our labrador, visited Maison Numero Neuf twice in a two week period . Each time we were given a warm welcome ,a delicious meal and linen covered hot water bottles!.
This Band B can not be faulted in our opinion. It is everything you could want whether you are staying in the area or using it as a stopping post when travelling rom one part of france to another. It is a beautifully decorated home that would hold its own against 5 star designer hotels !!There were fresh flowers everywhere and every reception room had an open fire including the dining room at breakfast. The attention to detail is fantastic and I will be recommending it to all our friends. We look forward to our next visit

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our visit was more like staying with friends than in a Bed & Breakfast.

The property has been extremely well renovated and is very comfortable.

Extremely attentive hosts and nothing is too much trouble, including afternoon tea for weary explorers and hot water bottles to take the chill of your bed.

Duncan's knowledge of the area and French customs means that his guests maximise the benefits of their stay.

Lisa's cooking means that Maison numero neuf is frankly the best cuisine in La Souterraine.

We will recommend this establishment to friends and family and will return there ourselves.

Room Tip: Choose room to suit your requirements they are all superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Make sure to have MEAL there. Lisa is an amazing chef and the only other restaurant in town is OK but has a not -so -friendly owner. BUT Maison Numero Neuf are so hospitable and helpful with absolutely delicious meals and breakfast. The rooms are beautifully decorated with lovely touches. Can't wait to get back to stay with my husband in the double room guest room which looks luscious and cosy. Jeanette O'D

Room Tip: If with your partner ask for the double room with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Everything positve you read about this B/B is true. It is wondeful as the home cooked meals and lovely breakfasts are a real treat from this great family. Duncan and Lisa,Hattie,Tom and Daisy we loved your place Especially the log fire in the dining room. Lisa the fresh flowers in the bedroom when we returned from dinner were fab. This is a treat to behold.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a wonderfully situated stopover for travelling through France. We had the best of welcomes and a perfectly balanced dinner.
The highlight was the quality of the rooms and bedlinen. We had wonderful linen sheets, and our hostess had a stock of them which were able to buy.
A memorable stay.

Room Tip: Picardie is the one we had, and although the road seemed to be noisy, there was no traffic at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here as a traveling group of three in two seperate rooms and found all to be of excellent quality, presentation and sevice. We ate dinner on the three nights that we stayed and each evening found the three courses all freshly prepared with skill and thoughtfulness.
The Picardie room in which we stayed was beautifully presented and immaculately maintained.
Breakfast was generous and fresh.
Lisa and Duncan are gracious hosts and have great flair and a passion for their home and their business.
A great place for a family stay or a quiet romantic break. Look no further in La Soutterainne or indeed in Creuse. - Splendid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison Numero Neuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Numero Neuf

Address: Rue Serpente, 23300 La Souterraine, France
Location: France > Limousin > Creuse > La Souterraine
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Souterraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Numero Neuf has been returned to its former elegance, with luxurious en-suite bedrooms furnished with French antiques. Situated at the gateway of the Limousin - the French Lake District - ideal for many leisure activities or simply relaxing. Sumptuous breakfasts and delicious evening meals, prepared using fresh local produce, are served in the wood-paneled dining room or on the terrace. Our warm welcome and thoughtful service will ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Numero Neuf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maison Numero Neuf to your Saves list