We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Ilio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Ilio to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Ilio
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Sant' Andrea, 5, 57030 Sant'Andrea, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sant'Andrea
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just had 2 nights .. Pre booked dinner, bed and breakfast. We clearly misundstood the restaurant side of things . We were expecting a substantial menu from an excellent chef. And yes the food was great but only 3 choices for each course and you had to decide in the morning what you wanted for dinner. Just not what we were expecting from reading the hotel website and restaurant website.
Room was fine, on the small side but great view of the sea from the balcony. Bathroom very small, spotlessly clean but needs updating.
Also led to believe that wifi was available throughout hotel. However we could not get it at all in our room and the best place was on the patio at back of hotel. Not ideal especially as full wifi is a criteria for me booking any accommodation.
Breakfast was very nice continental style buffet.

I would recommend this hotel but have nothing else on the island to compare it too. Superb location .. We rented about from a beach vendor and that was a great way to see island because the roads are scary!

Staff were very friendly but no offer at all to assist getting up the stairs with bags etc.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elbapower, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Boutique Hotel Ilio, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words , however we want to make sure that all our guests , past and future, understand how the HI -Restaurant works . It is an exclusive restaurant only for the guests of the hotel , and during the day the staff in the kitchen prepares the meals for the evening and they have to know in advance how much to prepare . We want to offer only courses with fresh ingredients and give the choice every day for a fish , meat or vegetarian meal . For what concerned the wi fi connection, we had some problems with it during their stay , but now it works everywhere . We have always an internal computer at disposal for our guests , if they have urgent to comunicate via wireless. Please note , that the guests can come to us every time and we will try all our best to solve any problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    59
    11
    23
    6
See reviews for
28
150
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Marina di Castagneto Carducci, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Arrived by chance in this remote location of Elba Island and immediatly realized that it was perfect....a little bay with few tourists, mostly from Europe , crystal clear water, plenty of space to sun bathe either on the beach or in the many little coves, Possibility to rent a boat and spend the day exploring the the many nearby beaches . Simple and nice little bar and restaurants and last but not least the Ilio Hotel managed superbly, rich breakfast and fine food in the evening, just minutes from the beach....staff very competent and always ready to assist with any request...wonderful little terrace overlooking the bay to flavour a glass of local wine ... very well kept and managed .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We arrived to Ilio for our honeymoon. The first thing we noticed is that the hotel was just off the main road into Sant'Andrea and was also set amongst residential houses. The website is constructed in such a way to give the impression that the hotel is more secluded and in its own grounds, which it's not.

We'd decided to pay a little extra for a nicer room with a sea view and selected the 'Sea Room'. We checked in with a rather cold and unfriendly receptionist and she accompanied us to the room. Within 5 minutes of being in the room, I was enraged and terribly upset: the house in which this room is located is next to the main road on a sharp bend which meant that drivers passed in the lowest gear, therefore with rumbling engines, and within those 5 minutes, two drivers had sounded their horns which was most disturbing.

We called the receptionist and she said it was possible to look at another room. We then saw the 'Tuscan Room' which was splendid in comparison. It was a little smaller but had a gorgeous 4-poster bed and a lovely sea view. In all honesty, we could not understand why this room was cheaper than the sea room as it was 100 times better. Saying this, however, she did not make the move as easy as it could have been, explaining their website explains everything, printing out pages from the website to show that it says that the Sea Room is next to the road and their cancellation policy etc etc. The website is complicated and misleading.

We were woken up both mornings at 7.30 and 8am by rubbish lorries beeping as they reversed and also by the crash of bottles as they collected the glass. Not entirely tranquil. Also, there is no air conditioning in the room so I would not recommend visiting in July/August.

The hotel was clean but ultimately average and not worth the price we paid. The breakfast was okay and the waitress was friendly. I have to say, however, the most friendly staff member in the whole hotel was the cleaner: the receptionist was cold and we never met the owner, despite the problems we had when we arrived (it would have been nice to have him/her come to discuss what had happened or even wish us a happy honeymoon).

We cannot comment on the dinner as we did not eat there in the evening. We did look at the menu and just saw too much meat and not enough fish and so decided not to eat there. This worked to our advantage because if you walk out of the hotel, go up past the car park, follow the road to the right and go down the first path you find on your right, there is the best little bar/restaurant. It looks cheap with plastic chairs but the food was the best we had on the island all week and we'd return to Sant'Andrea just to eat there! The beach and rocks are also great there and the owners of the little shop on the corner are very very friendly.

Definitely return to Sant'Andrea and possibly to Ilio but at least we'd be prepared not to expect too much from the staff and we would get a basic room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elbapower, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Boutique Hotel Ilio, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks for our guests that they spent some time to make a review of their vacancy in our hotel. We will take their suggestions seriously , and for the next trip they will find air conditioning in all our rooms , because the temperatures of the Mediterranean Climate in summer has changed .
Now we have to explain that this young couple on their honeymoon paid less for the Tuscany room , because we applied them a discount to make them feel better. We will always try to make feel well the persons who choose our hotel , of course , and if it happens , that someone is not lucky , we do all our best to make them change their mind. We hope to welcome them again some time in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had an amazing holiday here end of June 2012. It is very clean and the food is excellent. The staff are all very friendly and made us very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were basic (i.e. no kettle, or toiletries, and not much space to put your things/clothes) but the hotel was so lovely we didn't care.
We had the sea view room, with a little balcony overlooking the sea. It was truly amazing. We sat on the balcony every night.
The resort is lovely too, a short 5 min walk down to the beach which is lovely. It does get busy as do the rocks to sunbathe on, but we always found a space.
Had a bit of a problem buying cigarettes for my other half, only one shop sold them, and they ran out! So take your own if you need to.
There's not a lot there, so not ideal for children, but for couples who want a quiet relaxing holiday this is perfect. We loved it and would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We arrived at Hotel Illio somewhat later than planned, but were made feel comfortable and our evening meal was arranged without difficulty.

The hotel is designed for the fastidious and is immaculately clean with high standards evident everywhere.

The dining room was pleasant with an excellent and healthy breakfast; the dinner was good but not exceptional. The after dinner drinks on the terrace were dreamy, but perhaps some better choice of music would enhance the ambiance even more.

The garden was underused, however this is a pity as it is an oasis of calm.

The town and the beach are somewhat nondescript, but the coastline is full of coves which provide beautiful swimming experiences; our favorite was to turn right coming out of the hotel and walk the pathway to a small cove in Cottoncello.

Hotel Illio is a place of peace and is for quiet relaxation .

The instruction for travelers using public transport could be improved, as we were left stranded on the main road and couldn't decide whether to head for Zenca or Sant Andrea or when the local buses were available, however a kind German Lady helped us on our way.

Many thanks for a great holiday

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Extremely disappointed ! There are only two rather good points about this hotel:
(a) rooms and restaurant area are very clean
(b) extrimely polite and very good service in the restaurant during the breakfast (i have stayed on BB basis only therefore can't say anything about dinner but i'm sure that it is exactly the same)
also this hotel has good designed website but please be careful - such good design hiding a number of bad points of this hotel.
First of all, hotel has no private beach at all and public beach in St Andrea is very very small. You have to pay 22 Euros for two sunbeds and umbrella for each day but it is so many people and such small beach that a lot of people are booking sunbeds+umbrellas in advance in order to have some shade.
Our room was located in the Vine House which is 100 or even more from the main building but please note that this building located in the village with private properties located in between so forget about about one hotel territory where all notels buildings are located. Vine house is one of the villas located in the village without reception and even can't be monitored from the main building.
I've booked a room with sea view and i can actually see the sea but in the distance of 400 metres or so but the first picture was the two roads and hotel car park located just in front of the Vine House. Talking about the roads please note that Vine House located 2 (two) metres from the main road leading to the village therefore it is extremely noisy and it is rather difficult to sleep.
Another problem - soundproof. You do not need to go out from your room in order to chat with people living next door - you can easily do it by sitting in you room and believe me everybody will hear what you are saying. I suspect that builders use japanese technology - i.e. all walls made from the paper rather from the bricks.
And last one - extremely unfriendly attitude from the Manager. I'm travelling a lot for both business and leisure but it is first time when Manager told to me that i can free to go and find another place to stay if i'm unhappy with something in his hotel. I'm really sorry but such attitude is absolutely uacceptable for me.
In general i would not recommend to use this hotel at all !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elbapower, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Boutique Hotel Ilio, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
It happens , that some guests won't feel well in our hotel, off course and we are not happy about this . In this case, the russian guests came to us after the first night and sayed that the room is not what they expected so we tried to explain them , that unfortunately we are fully booked but we would be able to help them to find another location more suited to their needs , perhaps they had misunderstood our intention.
However they made us compliments for the service and the cleanliness and our web site . We are very proud of this , and if the guests had red well , we explain that our hotel is a diffused hotel with rooms located in different parts of the grounds . Here is an extract you can read for what concerned the room where they stayed in :

The Vine House house is set in the midst of a lemon, orange and cherry tree grove. Its entranceway passes through a small vineyard. The Vine House house is 100 metres away from the main Hotel Ilio building (portico house), which contains the terrace where breakfast is served, the restaurant dining room, the bar, the hotel garden and some of the other rooms.

The Vine House house is the closest to the sea and the road that connects Sant'Andrea to Zanca. During certain periods this vicinity to the road makes the Procanico Bedroom, Procanico Family Bedroom and Sea Bedroom, slightly less peaceful than the other rooms in the Boutique Hotel Ilio.

Another note about the beach of St.Andrea . Off course it is crowded, we are in high season now , but beyond the beach there are big smooth cliffs extended for 2 km , where you can take a sunbath or swim in a more intim atmosphere . The rate to pay for an umbrella and two lounge chairs , the shower- and bathroom-use is to pay to the establishment on the sea, it is not a private beach from any hotel.
All the people who run a business , want to offer the best service for the thousands of turists that come to visit our little location every year and it is not easy to saddisfy everyone .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights during the month of May. The hotel is 40 minutes' drive from Portoferraio. You can either book with B&B or half-board which includes breakfast and dinner. I would suggest the half-board option.

The hotel has several themes for their rooms such as lemon, pomegranate, green, bougainvillea etc. We stayed in the green room which overlooked the garden. There are also several rooms with sea views. Our room smelled absolutely stunning and even had potpourri in the cupboards.

The hotel's garden is a small gem. The garden has a number of tall trees that provide ample shade, fruit trees such as lemon and loquat, and numerous shrubs and flowers. The setting gives semi-privacy for guests on the outside furniture. There is also an abundance of bird chatter in the trees that enhances the feeling of being in the outside.

The food of the hotel was excellent. Breakfast was buffet style. On the breakfast table you would get the menu for the evening's dinner with 3 options for the first course, second course and side dishes. At dinner you were given a number of choices for desert. The wine list was impressive and wines reasonably priced.

The service of the hotel is outstanding and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Andrea
5.3 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 11 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Capo Sud
Hotel Capo Sud
#1 of 5 in Lacona
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#1 of 26 in Portoferraio
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#4 of 11 in Procchio
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
9.0 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Ilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Ilio

Address: Via Sant' Andrea, 5, 57030 Sant'Andrea, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana > Sant'Andrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sant'Andrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Ilio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel Ilio (only 20 rooms in a familiar atmosphere) is set in the midst of a magnificent green landscape, the ideal place for a relaxing holiday where the sea is "really" just outside your door - ideal for snorkeling, diving and kayaking. The mountains that surround the gulf of Cape Sant'Andrea offer the possibility to go hiking, mountain biking, and are of great botanical interest. We have prepared ourselves to deal with the summer season with a new holiday philosophy, choosing to accompany our guests in discovering the best of local cuisine on Elba, personally selecting and testing in a guidebook - Maurizio Testa's HI GUIDE - the best of catering on Elba . From 8:00 to 23:00, the Hi Bar is open to guests, with a selection of Tuscan wines, beverages, coffee bar and excellent aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Hotel Ilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilio Hotel Elba Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Ilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.