We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel da Giacomino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sant'Andrea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel da Giacomino
Save
You added Hotel da Giacomino to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Cotoncello, 57030 Sant'Andrea, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sant'Andrea
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A GEM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you go to Tuscany, you should find the time to visit Elba, and stay at this marvelous family-owned hotel in Sant'Andrea, located on the Northwestern part of the island. The proprietors, Franco and Marinella, along with don Giacomino and their extended family make you feel at home immediately with their warmth and generosity. We stayed for three nights in late September. The views are spectacular, the food is amazingly delicious, and our rooms impeccable and spacious. Tell your friends that visit Italy, to make a point to this this oft-missed part of Tuscany, for a truly memorable experience! Simply the best!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiegoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay in early October. We lucked out, and the weather was warm. The family that runs the place is super friendly and helpful, and the food was great.

FYI, they seem to cater to mostly German tourists, so the menu is tailored to German tastes.

The room was small but pleasant, and our balcony had a stunning view. It's a short hike along a really cool rocky trail to the beach. The hotel has a great pool, and the wifi was fast.

For planning, it takes almost an hour to drive here on the twisty roads of Elba once you leave the Ferry.

Be sure and experience the funicular (Cabinova) in nearby Marciana Alta - it's spectacular!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our stay at Hotel da Giacomino was one of the big surprises of our Italian trip. Located right on the coast with a pool and tennis court, we were expecting a large hotel with little personal touches. On the contrary, we found there were only about 25 rooms and it was a family-run hotel, with Franco and Marinella always happy to cater for your every whim! The bedroom and bathroom were both large and our balcony was above the kitchen so we had delicious smells coming our way from about 5pm every day. We stayed half-board and the evening food, served at 8pm, was worth the wait! So many places to relax and sunbathe among the trees on the hotel grounds, but we took the short walk across to the Sant Andrea beach every day to lie on the sandy beach and swim in the crystal clear sea. If we were to change one thing about our trip, it would have been to hire a car because the taxi from Portoferraio to the hotel, while a beautiful journey, cost 70 euros.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is my 1st visit at Hotel Da Giacomino and it definitely won't be my last. This family run hotel is the best in Sant"andrea with great service and food. The Location is absolutely breath taking. Franco and Marinella were amazing and really made us feel like part of the family. Tanti Grazie!!!

Forza Roma!

John and Marianna

Room Tip: You will need a car to get here. There is not much to do in town so after dinner you may want to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Altadonnaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

It's our second visit to this hotel. Location is exceptionally beautiful, the Hotel is perfectly located with swimming pool, private park going directly down to sea. Nice rooms with scenic view.
Family owned and managed, very customer conscious. Really good food with nice presentation and attention to menu in a wonderful sunset & sea looking restaurant.

Room Tip: you cannot do wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Family run hotel with the best location on the north/west coast. The highlight of the hotel are the gardens and hil-top/coastal location - as well as having a sea water-filled pool and tennis court. The rooms and home-cooked Italian food (we full-boarded) are as you'd expect (good) and no better or worse than the other hotels in Sant Andrea (which we have stayed at, this is the best in our opinion). Some of the other reviews here seem to expect haute cuisine & 5 star luxury - but this is a seaside hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curtains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

A lovely place inside a lovely island
A relaxing place with an excellent view lovely food and pine trees give you a lovely and relaxing time

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdraio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Andrea
1.7 mi away
Hotel Belmare
Hotel Belmare
#1 of 21 in Marciana
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Montemerlo
Hotel Montemerlo
#1 of 5 in Fetovaia
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barsalini
Hotel Barsalini
#4 of 21 in Marciana
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Capo Sud
Hotel Capo Sud
#1 of 5 in Lacona
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gallo Nero
Hotel Gallo Nero
#5 of 21 in Marciana
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Giacomino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Giacomino

Address: Via del Cotoncello, 57030 Sant'Andrea, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana > Sant'Andrea
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sant'Andrea
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Giacomino 3*
Number of rooms: 33

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing