We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay at Hotel da Giacomino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel da Giacomino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sant'Andrea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel da Giacomino
Save
You added Hotel da Giacomino to your Saves list
Via del Cotoncello, 57030 Sant'Andrea, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sant'Andrea
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great stay at Hotel da Giacomino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay in early October. We lucked out, and the weather was warm. The family that runs the place is super friendly and helpful, and the food was great.

FYI, they seem to cater to mostly German tourists, so the menu is tailored to German tastes.

The room was small but pleasant, and our balcony had a stunning view. It's a short hike along a really cool rocky trail to the beach. The hotel has a great pool, and the wifi was fast.

For planning, it takes almost an hour to drive here on the twisty roads of Elba once you leave the Ferry.

Be sure and experience the funicular (Cabinova) in nearby Marciana Alta - it's spectacular!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    37
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our stay at Hotel da Giacomino was one of the big surprises of our Italian trip. Located right on the coast with a pool and tennis court, we were expecting a large hotel with little personal touches. On the contrary, we found there were only about 25 rooms and it was a family-run hotel, with Franco and Marinella always happy to cater for your every whim! The bedroom and bathroom were both large and our balcony was above the kitchen so we had delicious smells coming our way from about 5pm every day. We stayed half-board and the evening food, served at 8pm, was worth the wait! So many places to relax and sunbathe among the trees on the hotel grounds, but we took the short walk across to the Sant Andrea beach every day to lie on the sandy beach and swim in the crystal clear sea. If we were to change one thing about our trip, it would have been to hire a car because the taxi from Portoferraio to the hotel, while a beautiful journey, cost 70 euros.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is my 1st visit at Hotel Da Giacomino and it definitely won't be my last. This family run hotel is the best in Sant"andrea with great service and food. The Location is absolutely breath taking. Franco and Marinella were amazing and really made us feel like part of the family. Tanti Grazie!!!

Forza Roma!

John and Marianna

Room Tip: You will need a car to get here. There is not much to do in town so after dinner you may want to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

It's our second visit to this hotel. Location is exceptionally beautiful, the Hotel is perfectly located with swimming pool, private park going directly down to sea. Nice rooms with scenic view.
Family owned and managed, very customer conscious. Really good food with nice presentation and attention to menu in a wonderful sunset & sea looking restaurant.

Room Tip: you cannot do wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Family run hotel with the best location on the north/west coast. The highlight of the hotel are the gardens and hil-top/coastal location - as well as having a sea water-filled pool and tennis court. The rooms and home-cooked Italian food (we full-boarded) are as you'd expect (good) and no better or worse than the other hotels in Sant Andrea (which we have stayed at, this is the best in our opinion). Some of the other reviews here seem to expect haute cuisine & 5 star luxury - but this is a seaside hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

A lovely place inside a lovely island
A relaxing place with an excellent view lovely food and pine trees give you a lovely and relaxing time

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Family-owned hotel, in a wonderful position overlooking Sant'Andrea's bay.
Sea water swimming pool-very nice if jellyfishes in the sea, direct access to the sea (rocks). Small quite crowded beach at 5 minutes walking. Beautiful terraces under the trees with many sunloungers.
Many families with small children, despite this still relaxing.
Reserve a room with sea view, the rooms on the back of the main building have more noise.
Good food with a choice among three different “primi”, three “secondi” and several desserts/cheeses; having a picky eater in the family I really appreciated the effort of the management in preparing something for her.
We have been coming for 4 years and we always look forward to this vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel da Giacomino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Giacomino

Address: Via del Cotoncello, 57030 Sant'Andrea, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana > Sant'Andrea
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sant'Andrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel da Giacomino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.