We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a fairy tale cottage--enjoyed our visit here so much!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Flanerie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheverny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Flanerie
Save
You added La Flanerie to your Saves list
25 route de Gallerie | Cour-Cheverny, 41700 Cheverny, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Cheverny B&B and Inns
Fairfield
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Like a fairy tale cottage--enjoyed our visit here so much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our round trip through France while touring the Loire castles and it was absolutely perfect!! We highly, highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast, I just can't say enough about it.
We booked our room on line, it was very easy. The owners answered all our emails promptly.
The house is in the perfect location, centrally located to all the castles. It's right between Blois and Cheverny and pretty easy to find. A sign points the way off the main road. The house itself is located at the end of a quiet road, next to fields. It's perfectly quiet and very safe to leave your rental car overnight in a spot in the driveway.
When we first arrived, we thought it looked like the cottage of the 7 dwarves. The whole garden and house were overgrown with flowers of every color. It was incredibly beautiful. There are only two suites, each occupying one side of the house, with your own garden table and chairs out front. The owners' kitchen and living quarters are in the middle. Our room was large and super clean and cozy. The bathroom was sparkling clean. We were traveling with our 17 year old son and the room had a screen we could set up to give him some privacy. The complimentary internet connection worked perfectly.
The owners, Paul and Nicole, couldn't have been nicer! They welcomed us with cookies and orange juice in the garden. Breakfast was served outside also the first morning, the second morning we ate in their cozy kitchen since it was rainy and blustery outside. Our second night there, the power went out (no fault of the owners, the whole neighborhood went black during a thunderstorm) and we immediately heard a knock on our door and Paul appeared with candles. We wish we could have stayed longer and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Both rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
River Falls, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our family of 5 (3 kids aged 10, 12 and 14 plus parents) just came back from 2 delightful nights at La Flanerie. Great location just 3 kms from Cheverny. The owners are wonderful and have a delightful b&b. After arriving from a long car ride they quickly got the bikes out and we rode the 3 kms on bikes to Cheverny for a tour of the castle, feeding of the dogs and dinner. It is an easy 15 min bike ride that is mostly on a dirt road with no traffic. Breakfast was wonderful with bread, homemade jams, cake and coffee or hot chocolate. Room had one big double bed in main room and 3 twins in the other. There are even lots of games and kid books in the kid room. Nicole speaks ok English and you will be very pleased if you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed four nights at La Flanerie, a pretty little B & B well located to touring the top section of the Loire Valley. Whilst the room was simply furnished it was large. Also the bed was the best bed that we slept in during our travels. We would have liked to have taken it with us!Nicole and Paul were excellent hosts and provided us with bikes to tour the countryside. Breakfast was very good with homemade jams and yogurts with something different to eat everyday. This little B & B really helped us enjoy this part of France.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

My daughter and I stayed three nights at La Flanerie and it was a wonderful experience. Cheverny is such a central and quiet location, we were able to easily explore the Eastern section of the Loire valley. We especially enjoyed the use of bicycles, an easy ride to Cour-Cheverny and on into Cheverny town itself. The gardens are lovely, the room very spacious and clean. Wireless connection was a great addition and breakfasts were delicious.
I would highly recommend this gite as a great value and a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

LaFlanerie was a charming B&B to stay at while exploring the chateauxs of the Loire Valley. Nicole and Paul welcomed us to their comfortable home and fabulous garden. We were travelling with our 2 girls and suite Capucine offered plenty of room for all of us. Our farm breakfast was very good and we enjoyed the homemade jellies and treats. We wished we had more time so we could have used the bikes available. The house is right on the bike path and the other guest arrived on bicyles for the night. The location was great for chateau hoping, wine tasting and nearby Blois offered choices of food.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Flanerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flanerie

Address: 25 route de Gallerie | Cour-Cheverny, 41700 Cheverny, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Cheverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cheverny
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At four kms from the chateau of Cheverny, surrunded by wheat fields and forest, on the cycling route itinerary n°4 of " chateaux a velo" ( we have bikes to loan), we welcome you in our typical house from 18 century: "Capucine" a family suit for 2/4 pers. And "glycine" a family room 2/4 pers. We have a cot for baby . Entrance on the terrace and garden furniture for each room. Breakfast served in our dining room or in the garden. T.V. Kettle for prepare warm beverages . ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flanerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.