We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cabotte

La Cabotte
24 Grande Rue, 21700 Nuits-Saint-Georges, France
03 80 61 20 77
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have eaten here whenever we have visited Nuits st Georges since this restaurant opened. Whilst we can recognise some aspects of the other comments it is definitely worth a visit (if you can get in - best to book if you can). The waiters can be variable, last time he was very friendly and efficient, but the food has always been excellent and the wine list is extensive and as good value as any decent restaurant in the region. We have found it better than the (more expensive) restaurant at La Gentilhommiere where we usually stay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    46
    15
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ok food, less than average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went there with myarents-in-law and our two kids, aged 3 and 6, and our well-behaved dog. The welcome was chilly. Obviously the bossdoesn't like kids, or us, and each request was met with a barely civil nod. The food was ok, nothing extraordinary. Given the beautiful culinary traditionof the region, I was surprised. Actually it was the fourth time that we went, and each time we were displeased with the service and unimpressed with the food, but as other people kept telling us how great they thought it was, we kept going. We won't go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, waiter needs to go on customer service course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

French food from a chef looking to excel.
Limited menu, but don't let that put you off our food was wonderful, but the waiter, why is he so unhelpfully, don't get me wrong he was very efficient, but don't ask for extra bread, a explanation or a translation of the menu. Do your best ignore him enjoy your food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good stop for travelling Brits - or anyone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were staying in a budget hotel near the autoroute junction on the way to a skiing week and had dinner in this place. Great first French meal of the holiday. Really good food, a traditional slightly surly waiter and a wonderful half bottle of Pernand-Vergelesses. I had parsnip soup, my daughters had salmon with a Japanese thing going on. Both excellent. We then all had a fish/risotto/curry dish which was really good although the fish was slightly over cooked. Not to worry. Followed with cheese for two of us and a take on Tiramasu. Again well up to the mark. The surly waiter was counter balanced by a charming waitress. If you're travelling down or just in the area well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Unlike a previous review I was glad to sed they allowed me to pour my own wine and water. After all, this is a Bib Gourmand bistro - not the Ritz.
The fish was tasty and well cooked but the pork main quite dry, not helped by serving it with cooked nuts instead of vegetables

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabotte also viewed

Nuits-Saint-Georges, Cote d'Or
Nuits-Saint-Georges, Cote d'Or
 
Nuits-Saint-Georges, Cote d'Or
Nuits-Saint-Georges, Cote d'Or
 

Been to La Cabotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cabotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.