We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradisiacal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Columbia Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Columbia Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pissouri Bay | Limassol, Pissouri 3779 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pissouri
Perthshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Paradisiacal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've been going to the Columbia for nearly 20 years and the only reason I haven't reviewed it before now is because I was trying to keep it to myself!
I have visited this hotel all the way through from its humble, primitive beginnings to the luxurious resort it is today and its charm has never faltered.
Many of the original staff remain; food is always varied with great choice; service is attentive, but not intrusive; the grounds are beautiful; housekeeping is excellent; entertainment is super, especially on Cyprus night and there is so much to do and see on this beatiful island.
German owned and Cypriot managed (like a well-oiled machine), this is a champion of a holiday destination, where one is treated like an old friend.
Over the years, I have taken my children, grandchildren, family and friends and they have all been allured by its charm.
This is a hotel that prides itself on being the very best that it can be; it delivers exactly what it professes, which, as we have all experienced on occasions, is rare these days.
I continue to meet 'old Columbians' year after year; for me, it's like going home; it will always hold a special place in my heart.
Heavenly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our Hotel and many thanks for adding photos too!
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    101
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
81
164
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel came in a British Airways package. The standard rooms are very comfortable and clean. There is musical entertainment in the evenings by the pool. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The views are spectacular. Breakfast was ok and a good variety. We had a half board package with 'free' evening buffet. This was plentiful and adequate though not of a terribly high standard.The stay could be improved greatly with coffee making facilities in every room. Drinks are expensive. We stayed during October and needed the very efficient air conditioning.
The hotel is situated in a quiet location with NO night life anywhere in Pissouri. If you want the clubs go to Pafos. Guests were mainly older and very few children were around during our stay though I understand Columbia is to be avoided during German half terms (it is a German owned hotel) when it is impossible to get near the swimming pool. We never had trouble finding a sun bed though we were amused to see towels on some beds at 8am.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Excellent hotel with high levels of cleanliness. The bathroom was spotless, the staff friendly and helpful. The room comfortable and clean. We had a couple of hiccups with room service but it was totally compensated for by the genuinely friendly and helpful atmposphere. The waoiter couldn't apologise enough and went out of his way to ensure that we were comfortable and satisfied.

The rooms had everything you'd expect from a hotel at this grade and a few nice touches too. The pool was good, the views stunning the welcome just as you'd expect. Efficient porters, excellent breakfast and all round top marks.

The only criticism I had was loud live music on the night we arrived but it was reasonable amnd stopped at 10:30, I just hate music in hotels.

We were boked into another hotel for the rest of our stay but were so disgusted by the standard there that we returened to Columbia beach.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are great if you have pushchairs or mobility limitations. Views are better fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at several hotels in Cyprus and other Greek islands. The Columbia Resort leaves them in the shade. Compared to other Greek five star hotels, the main differentiators are: superb staff. Very friendly and always very willing to help. They don't suffer from the "that's not my job" syndrome which we have experienced in other Greek hotels. Excellent breakfasts - the eggs and pancakes are all cooked fresh for you. There is no musac. Anywhere. The two restaurants at the resort are excellent and there are plenty of other restaurants to choose from in the bay and up in the main town. Suggest you book bed and breakfast only so you have the option to enjoy a variety of restaurants. Last but not least, the lagoon pool has real wow factor. As well as being a very attractive centre piece it's also great for serious swimming (at 80 metres you can quickly burn off the excesses of the night before) and playing. The resort is deservedly a hit with families with kids from toddlers to teenagers - they all have a good time and given the size of the resort, you can usually find a spot without kids if you want some peace and quiet. The excellent spa is a good option. The lagoon pool has plenty of room for kids to play and adults who want to swim. Without doubt one of the best family friendly hotels we have stayed in. We'll be back (again).

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Columbia Beach Resort!We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

the hotel is good and clean the staff is friendly the only down side is around 11:30 everything is closed there, there isn't even room service after 11 but over all the hotel was nice with good beach view

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

You really can't do better than this hotel for value for money. All the staff are helpful and friendly, whether is is advice at Reception or Room Service. The rooms are immaculate and food very good quality. With a location by the beach, it is perfect for us.

Room Tip: You need to have a room on 3rd or 4th floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us once again and for your kind comments!
See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We came here on recommendation from a friend who had not seen the hotel inside only just visiting the bay and village. We like the hotel very much and eveything down to the swimming pool and the option to go use the water sports (which you have to pay for but it is right on the beach)
Thoroughly recommended, we would never go back to the same hotel but we say we definitely would.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy to hear you will be staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Beach Hotel

Address: Pissouri Bay | Limassol, Pissouri 3779 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Pissouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pissouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Columbia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why You’ll Remember Our Beach Hotel in Cyprus Forever... Explore our incredible beach hotel in Cyprus and discover your very own piece of paradise in the Mediterranean sunshine.Located in Pissouri Bay, the Columbia Beach Hotel has a beautiful backdrop for you to admire each and every day of your relaxing stay in Cyprus. Surrounded by stunning white cliffs, vineyards and orchards with an unspoilt beach stretching out in front of you, a holiday at the Beach Hotel Pissouri will be full of magical memories you’ll always remember. Beach Hotel FacilitiesWhether you just want to relax on the beach or take part in some of the exciting activities our Pissouri Bay Beach Hotel in Cyprus has to offer, you will be well looked after here.• 4 of the best golf courses in Cyprus within easy reach by taxi• Beauty and spa treatments• Water sports galore• Beautiful bay suites with unbelievable sea views• Conference & meeting facilities for those in Cyprus on businessBeach Hotel Rooms & SuitesWhen you book your holiday at our Beach Hotel in Cyprus you’ll not only be staying at a location where the sun shines 340 days a year, but you’ll also enjoy excellent accommodation.Below is just a selection of the top class facilities that come as standard in every room and suite at the COLUMBIA Beach Hotel.• Individually adjusted air conditioning• Flat screen satellite TV• Mini bar• Wireless internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Columbia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Beac Hotel Pissouri
Columbia Beachotel Pissouri
Columbia Beachotel Hotel Pissouri
Columbia Beach Hotel Cyprus/Pissouri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.