We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated but hugely relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hylatio Tourist Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hylatio Tourist Village to your Saves list
Hylatio Tourist Village
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambelonon 50, Pissouri 4607, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Pissouri
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Isolated but hugely relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Overview - We booked a last minutes holiday in Cyprus and booked through Olympic Holidays paying around £270. I read reviews on this hotel before booking but to be honest it was also the cheapest option. We chose 1 week Self Catering in a Maisonette. I'll break the holiday at Hylatio into sections to help those looking at this hotel get what they need.

Journey - Jet 2 flight was average with slightly better leg room than expected. Food, of course was extortionate so make sure you prepare food before the flight. The transfer from the airport was only 25 minutes to Pissouri and was quite pleasant.

Hotel Check In and Room - Informal check in where the friendly receptionist talks everyone through the basics and you are shown to your room by awaiting cleaning staff. Your're also advised of the catering options which I will talk through in a separate section. The maisonette was a great size and it was nice to have our own door and space. We had terrace on the back and also a balcony off the bedroom. Catering facilities were better than standard in my experience and whole room was incredibly clean (Just needs a replacement of cutlery, ours were a little rusty). My only gripe around the room is the view out the back was pretty dismal in comparison to the rest of the hotel grounds - View of a shabby overgrown tennis court and an overgrown green area with a rusty tractor to the left but luckily some hills and flowers to the right. Rooms were cleaned all but 1 day and towels also replaced. We went for a budget holiday so the fact that you had to pay for all extras (safe, fan, air con) didn't bother us. You get what you pay for!

Hotel grounds & Facilities - The grounds (all but the rusty tractor and tennis court) were fantastic. Flowers growing everywhere and the pool was lovely, although freezing. There were also a couple of pool tables which we used a few times, old but working.
OK so the All Inclusive options per person: 3 days - 92 Euros, 4 days - 108 Euros, 5 days - 130 Euros, 6 days 150 Euros. Children under 15 are half price. You can also upgrade just to b&b for 29 Euros each week. Half board is also available for breakfast and dinner at 105 Euros a week. We were tempted however as the self catering facilities were quite good and we do like cooking we decided not to bother. We did have a dinner in the restaurant from the standard menu and got a lot of envious gazes from the All Inclusives so not sure what that says about the buffet. We got a drink from the bar a few times and they are expensive but in line with the rest of the resort.
The on site shop was low on stock due to us being the last guests of the season however I have to give a big shout out to Jill that works in the shop for being amazingly helpful. She gave us a lift to the main supermarket at the top of Pissouri where we got enough goods for the whole week. She was a gem. (There is a bus up to the end of Sept and we didn't Opt for a car)
Car Hire was pretty cheap through Olympic holidays at 36 Euros each day for 3 - 6 days.

Resort - Pissouri Bay is very quite with just a few shops and restaurants. Its pretty isolated as without a car you can't really get out of the bay at all in Oct without the seasonal bus. However this is exactly what we wanted but doesn't suit all. The beach is just 5 minutes away and is actually very beautiful and relaxing. Not overcrowded at all. We tried a couple of restaurants - They are all priced about the same however Yialos had a great dinner offer of 15 Euros for a 3 course meal plus drink. The owner was very friendly and food great. Captains Bar is also great for fresh fish.

All in all this was a great relaxing holiday, I was worried about the weather in October however the days were hot and nights chilly which helps me sleep so I don't mind that at all. The only thing that stopped this being a 5 star for me was the derelict section of grounds with the tractor and rusty cutlery. But all in all a great bargain.

Room Tip: I'd opt for the ones away from the bar which are in the low numbers (1 - 8) as the bar area can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    124
    47
    18
    12
See reviews for
100
178
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Just came from the hylatio on Sunday 28th. If your looking for lots
Of entertainment, here is not the place. But don't get me wrong the staff are friendly, helpfull. There is plenty to do, if you look. I had a few walks and got some get photos. Car hire, trips are all available. Weather is hot at this time year. We did have rain extra, but hey, am now back home sitting at temps of 5 or 6. Small mention to the pissouri divers (tracy and Neil) who took me out for the day. All in all am happy. If the staff of hylatio read this, take care and thank you . Safe journey home . Regaurds Brian

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

decided to do a late deal for a week of winter sun so booked hylatio as oh had not been to cyprus before. landed at paphos and was only 25 mins transfer to the hylatio. lovely place 10 mins from small stony beach,staff here are as good as anywhere,nothing too much bother and quick to help at all times. had a car for 4 days so did 250 miles around island and would def recommend. we only self catered as we like to eat out. definately recommend to people wanting quite getaway. our room was cleaned every day and was lovely, onsite shop cheap aswell and steve and jill are lovely people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Another visit to the Hylatio and all good as usual. Have not visited in October before and the evenings are a bit 'chilly' for me so will stick to June, July & Aug.
Our cleaner was excellant, room cleaned 12 out of 14 days. Rest of staff all excellant with special mention to FLORIN who really should be a comedien and FLOREY who runs a very 'tight ship' with that added personal touch.
Booked SC with Olympic at a very good price and upgraded to AI onsite, good value at 300Euros for the fortnight per person, Breakfast buffet - good but basic, Lunch, bar snacks cooked to order - plenty of choice, Dinner buffet - good quality traditional food, the Cyprus dishes were very good in my opinion. My suggestion if staying for 2 weeks is hire a car (not on-site as only through Olympic, order from UK and pick up at the airport, it is a very easy drive to Hylatio)and SC one week AI the second although if you will be drinking alot (soft drinks or alcohol) it may still be worth AI for both!
The owners Vlad & Maria are usually on-site and are there if you need them, but try Florey the manager first!
If you want to do nothing but chill for a week or two then this is the place to go or make sure you hire a car if you prefer to get out and about and use Hylatio as a base.
Car Hire tip : Larger party/family - If you have transfers included just hire a small car to pick up at the airport and put some of your group and luggage on the transfer bus!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is our second time at Hylatio Village, the place is surrounded by lovely trees, plants and flowers, the rooms are basic but okay, quite spacious and a fair size balcony (some of which have lovely views). As pointed out in a previous review there was a strange drain smell near the car park but considering my room wasn’t exactly on top of it, didn’t really spoil things for me and I don’t think I would go all inclusive as both my Husband and I like to try different restaurants which is only a good 5/7 minute walk. Pissouri Village is a really lovely place and it doesn’t cater for those who want noisy bars and discos (sometimes allocation on arrival may be isn’t the best idea). There is no bus service so if you do want to go further then car hire is a must. A trip to the Troudos Mountains is good and we also went to the Camel Sanctuary where you can have a ride or even feed the camels which was hilarious. We’ve both agreed we would re-visit again for a week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just spent 2 weeks at the Hylatio. I did not recognise the place we stayed when I read some of the comments submitted. Good clean accommodation and facilities. We opted for the self catering option but that was our choice. Plenty of eating places in walking distance. Given what we paid, I doubt you will get better value. If you are looking for better food - you may need to pay more. The brochure makes clear that Pissouri is out of the way but that was what attracted us to it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Hylatio is a bit off the beaten track. There is no public transport and it is very isolated, there is a short walk into the bay part of Pissouri but not very much there a shop and a pub and a very expensive hotel very little else. Apparently it is possible to walk to the village up a very steep hill where there is slightly more activity. A taxi to the village costs 10 euro's each way!
In the hotel there is very little if zero entertainment, no television, there is quite loud unpleasant music played around the pool during the day. Throughout the hotel area there is a mixture of bad smells from drains!
I do not think I have ever encountered a more unhelpful reception, if you can get anyone at all to respond for requests for help they are really very poor. I asked where could I hire a car, was told "see the rep", I asked for directions to the village and was told "see the rep!"
The rep was ok but sold tours like they all do! At vastly inflated prices. e.g trip to Kyrenia North side of the island....69 euros, price in paphos same tour 29 euros!
Extras, lots of extras, ,no television, internet an 5 euros for about an hour, extra for air conditioning.
Electricity/ door lock. As with a lot of hotel rooms the door key had to be placed in a slot to enable electricity supply. A few points with this, on entering the room it is difficult to find slot in pitch dark! On locking room when going to sleep you have to take key out then in total darkness find key hole and lock door before returning key to put light back on again! My wife managed to get it down to locking the door in the dark to 11 seconds.
Car hire is a must and there is a place near the hotel where a car can be hired from.
If you hire from the airport take care as the hotel would be very very difficult to find in the dark, no street lighting and no illuminated hotel name sign!
Self catering facilities were ok except the frying pan provided was still covered in fat from what ever the las occupants had been frying! The fridge was so noisy we had to turn it off at night!

Room Tip: Try and get a room as far away from the car park as possible as the smell of the drains linger more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hylatio Tourist Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hylatio Tourist Village

Address: Ambelonon 50, Pissouri 4607, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Pissouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Pissouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hylatio Tourist Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hylatio Tourist Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hylatio Tourist Village Pissouri
Hylatio Tourist Village Hotel Pissouri
Hylatio Tourist Village Cyprus/Pissouri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hylatio Tourist Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.