We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hylatio Tourist Village

Save Saved
You added Hylatio Tourist Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hylatio Tourist Village
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pissouri, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Pissouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks stay with Vlad & co. and have these comments to make... Beautiful surroundings, accommodation basic, food poor, very limited choice and Luke warm, the
Biggest let down being that in a country such as Cyprus we were only offered tinned fruit and raisins..marmalade ran out after a week and was only replaced for one day during the next seven, fruit juices diluted. As for the free icecream if you can call it that was terrible one try was enough. Vlad was very unsociable, but his Romanian staff were excellent, nothing too much trouble. Rooms were not cleaned when allocated maid had a day off. Overpriced extras, wifi 5euros for 90mins. Fan in room and safe deposit box both 2.50 euros each per day, aircon 12.50euros per day. We realise we booked a low budget holiday therefore did not have very high expectations but feel that this just made 2 star. Would definitely NOT stay at Hylatio again.

Room Tip: Keep away from pool rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    106
    35
    17
    12
See reviews for
80
153
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just got back from week at this hotel. I have to say the food was dire, if you like salad your fine but don't expect any hot meat its all lukewarm and don't taste great or even good for that matter,breakfast is streaky bacon,beans, leather fried eggs, hard boiled eggs some kind of sausage i didn't try,ham, cheese,tomato's, cereal, yogurt , the choice of fruit was endless three kinds peaches and mixed fruit out of a tin,oh and raisins,lol, that's it , lunch is a set menu pizza is OK but i think they use the left over ham from breakfast, i wouldn't try the ravioli its foul and wouldn't feed it to the cats, its very basic, i'm no snob, we stayed in a three star last year in limassol, and the food far outclassed this hotel all you could eat when ever you wanted it and if you went out for the day they would give you a cooler box full of food, dinner here is salads and when i say salads it tomato's lettuce cucumber and feta,they do a few different salads which is OK for a while, rice different lukewarm meats, two different puddings every night repeated every other night ,as was every thing else, snacks are not worth bothering with dry bread and re-used ham,and cheese, the soft drinks are very watered down, alcoholic drinks are OK. no fresh juices here, and this is the land of the fresh lemons and limes, shame on them. entertainment, one quiz night mostly ex pats swamp the place and get all the attention form staff because they are spending, and oh did i mention that paying guests get a different menu to all inclusive, and the meals we saw paying guests getting looked pretty good, even though we had already paid all-in, we went out a couple of nights for dinner it was that dire. The place is very quite the grounds are nice with lime and lemon trees pomegranate trees, of which makes a bit of a mockery of the fruit juices. the bay five minutes walk away is lovely we like the whole area, well placed if you hire a car,we didn't find Vlad the owner that friendly, in fact he was down right sarcastic. all in all , it was relaxing, we hired a car to get about, the lack of varied hot food is the mane gripe, Dont pre-book all inclusive go self catering and try all in for as many days as you want when you get there, it is cheaper but you probably wont go more than three days. Vlad get the food right and you will have a pretty good hotel. Our very best regards go to Ian and jo, and dave and partner,some very nice people.

Room Tip: don't get a pool view. gets noisy the bar is only 30-40 yards away,the grounds are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

With family a few miles away at Episkopi we wanted somewhere within easy travel distance and the chance of a self catering studio apartment was ideal. The comfortable room had all we needed for rest and relaxation inbetween family visits. Initially we thought we would do it all on a self catering basis but we were enticed to sign up for a special deal of seven days breakfast for 29 Euro each. This is not expensive but the offering was very limited and each day the 'fresh fruit' consisted of tinned peach and sultanas. The cooked breakfast was disappointing with a choice of dried up fried eggs or hard boiled eggs, although the bacon was yummy. No choice of bread though other than take it or leave it: white sliced only. All in all we were pleased to have only bought one week's breakfast out of our 2 week stay. While we would be pleased to return, despite the late night revellry with the bar open to 1 a.m. and many visitors taking advantage of the all inclusive offer (as much as you want to drink up to midnight!) making it quite noisy, we would recommend an apartment as far from the bar area as possible.

Despite some misgivings on balance we are looking forward to a return visit due to the sheer convenience of location near beautiful Pissouri Bay (5 minutes easy walk), the relaxed atmosphere and the relatively low cost of the accomodation.

Room Tip: Rooms/apartments on the north of the site are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had two fantastic weeks in Crete in June and only decided on another holiday in the sun after not being able to top up our tans at home since our return!!! I was concerned because we normally stay in a one bed apartment wherever we go, but as a late booking our choice was limited and there was only a studio available. We still wanted self catering because we like to be independent and eat out at different places. But what a lovely surprise the studio at Hylatio was! It was big, light, double height ceiling and airy with a large balcony overlooking a lawned area and surrounding gardens down to the pool which was hidden behind a wonderful weeping willow tree over which we could see the sea. It was all peace and tranquility as we sat on the balcony having a leisurely breakfast every morning before either venturing to the lovely quiet beach a very pleasant few minutes walk away, getting the local bus to the great village or going on one of the trips we arranged. We loved the beach and the constant sea breeze that was a blessing during the very hot two weeks we were there (12th to 26th Sept). Swimming is very safe, but make sure you take beach shoes it's sand, shingle and pebbles. The Captains Bay was very good for a lunchtime snack and a beer (or two) as was the other little place right on the beachfront. Pissouri is definately for people like us, older couples who don't want bars, clubs etc - no party animals here!! (been there done that). Don't think either Pissouri or Hylatio is suitable for children or younger people but if you want to relax and recharge - perfect! We ate at Hylatio once in the two weeks, they offer all inclusive or bed and breakfast but that's not our style, so opted not to go for the buffet and we chose off the menu and it was very good. A thoroughly enjoyable holiday and we came home feeling relaxed and happy. We would return but obviously not during the peak summer time!!

Room Tip: The blocks numbered in the sixties are the most peaceful with the best views. We stayed in studio 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

just returned from the most relaxed two week holiday ever this place is lovely very quiet not for children or teens to be honest n im a party person so it is aimed at just relaxing around the beautiful pool all day and on the beach too me n my hubby stayed her 5th sept and we loved everyminute of it the village is acomplex made up of lovely maisonettes and studios we stayed in a two story maisonette it was spotless and we didnt bother with the air con a we left the door open all night no mozy bites either and the air con is an expensive 85 euros a week the maid service is excellent and we regulary left items like iphone and ds lying around while we out no problems with ant crime apparently there is no crime her i even went running every morning at 73o on my own down to the beach no one bothered me at all we stayed self catering but after the first week we spent so much money we upgraded to allinc well worth it food is lovely relly good and im a chef tghe lunches are good you pic off a bar menu lots salads sarnies n pizzas evening is buffet style its well worth paying for just on drinks alone it cost us about 13o euros each for a week if you do eat try venetos italian pizza place in the bay the pizzas are huge but delicious and go upto the lil village on hill its so pictursque but be warned its 20 euros in taxi well worth it when you get there the bar staff around the pool bar are all lovely cannot do enough for you louiza we lloved you they work so many long hours the gardens are so lovely n the smell of jasmine is intoxicating i loved it all in all if you want a really relaxing holiday this is the place to go not alot to do but is wonderful and quaint oh and walk up the hill to the sign for sale its huge cant miss it the views of the bay are amaing i would deffo be going back one the best holiday we had

Room Tip: if you dine at vanettos share the small piza its huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed 19th-26th Sep 2102, average - hot (27) cooling seafront breeze.
Strange arrival procedure, luckily we were only second to be called and shown our room which was on the first at the rear of the complex away from the pool area. The room itself was impressively large and clean with excellent facilities overall, could not fault it.
'Half board' basis provided a very good breakfast, though I don't understand the sliced processed ham and cheese bit, evening meals were good too.We only wanted a quiet beach holiday,but most other stays were 'all inclusive' and seemingly spent most of their time around the pool area.
Cats can be seen around the complex, which we don't mind as we love them but this needs to serve as a warning to those less tolerant.
The staff all appeared to be hard working and obliging. Pissouri Bay is a quiet pebbled beach resort, with Pissouri Village about 4-5km uphill but not very accessible by foot, although there is a mini bus available.
There is an on-site mini market run by a very nice British couple who will help you with just about any information you require.
My only suggestions would be a 'risk assessment' done on the wooden railings around the complex and some cost effective ground level led lighting on the paths.
Would definitely go again, though we would prefer the same room (!)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just returned from two weeks staying at the Hylatio on the 19th September. This has been our seventh stay and we go self catering. The apartments are basic but very clean, in the two weeks the rooms were cleaned on all but two days. Bedding and towels were changed on a regular basis. The pool is a nice place to relax and enjoy the sun. We did'nt go all inclusive but had meals in the restaurant from the a la carte menu and the food was always well cooked and well presented. If you want bright lights and loud music don't go here. It is what it says in the brochure and hire a car to see other parts of the island. There are good restaurants in Pissouri and Pissouri village and others close by at Avdimou Beach, the Malanda and Kyrenia restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hylatio Tourist Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hylatio Tourist Village

Address: Pissouri, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Pissouri
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Pissouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hylatio Tourist Village 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hylatio Tourist Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hylatio Tourist Village Pissouri
Hylatio Tourist Village Hotel Pissouri
Hylatio Tourist Village Cyprus/Pissouri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hylatio Tourist Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.