We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic elegance and luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri to your Saves list
Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pissouri Bay | PO Box 54042, Pissouri 3779, Cyprus   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Our Special Offers
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pissouri
Hull, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Classic elegance and luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I will echo other reviews and keep this brief

Second stay at this hotel and it maintains high standards just like stay in 2011

If you want ultra modern and high octane nightlife then forget coming here.

Columbia Beach Hotel is located in Pissouri Bay and apart from some shops and few poor restaurants there is not much here. Columbia Hotel is next door and you can use their facilities.

The hotel, the rooms and all facilities are spotlessly clean with all the things you need and could ask for. Rooms are furnished in classic manner.

Staff, which there are many nationalities, are pleasant and courteous

Food in main restaurant is excellent for lunch and dinner with a varied menu with good quality food and huge portions. I would recommend the half board option as the restaurants nearby are largely poor. Contrary to other reports we enjoyed our Italian food in Bacchus and if you stay half board you get 17 euros towards meal. Breakfast equally good with all the food you can imagine

Pool is excellent and you can swim into the main building before lunch until the doors shut

Spa is equally good and my wife was highly complimentary of the massage she received

Beach isn't great but the artificial pontoon is great addition to chill out on

A couple of greek guys play traditional music in the main restaurant on a night and there is some entertainment in Bacchus but that's it.

Negatives :

Hotel still fails to enforce towels issue with most beds having towels on prior to breakfast and some left on throughout the day even if guests leave for long spells. This is totally contrary to their policy and they need to enforce it or abolish the policy because some days we were frustrated that we could not get decent beds pool side or beach

I didn't like the endless 80's pop music droning on in the background some days because it's cheesy and I could even hear it wit my own music playing

In summary, if you want to go away and chill out for a week and don't plan on leaving the hotel, unless you have a car, then Columbia Beach Resort is a must.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Many thanks for your review!
We appreciate your feedback and have taken your comments on board.
We hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    120
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
171
287
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Recently, we stayed at the resort for short holidays. The service was outstanding, the quality was everywhere and the food was excellent. The staff was helpful and pleasant. I loved the Italian restaurant by the pool and we had a great evening at the Apollo. Beach is lovely and the swimming pool just fantastic. We had a great, relaxing time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Many thanks for your great review! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel was mostly excellent. They managed to achieve a brilliant compromise between an outwardly, relaxed, laid-back and Mediterranean vibe while under the surface everything ran with the oiled efficiency of a Swiss watch. Very difficult to pull off but this resort managed it superbly. The pool was warm and inviting and the food in the Apollo restaurant was good although the portions were of USA proportions! By the end of our stay, my wife and I were sharing a club sandwich for lunch because neither of us could eat a whole one!

There are two negatives, one minor but the other more calculating. The minor one was that the lighting in the Apollo restaurant was so dim (it was outdoors) that people were bringing torches with them in order to be able to read the menu. Come on Columbia, you must have noticed this problem- it only takes a couple more lights, strategically placed, to remedy this.

Our other complaint was that although we had (after much research) booked a pool-view suite, on arrival we were taken to a room, up about 5 flights of stairs which had no view and an aircon which didn't work. As my hip is troublesome, we'd very specifically booked a pool-view suite up only 2 flights of steps. We questioned the hotel and were told we'd been given a free upgrade and were in a sea-view suite, (which was true if you were prepared to hang off the balcony, whereupon a sliver of sea was just visible in the far distance!). The other problem with this room was that it backed onto a courtyard where the hotel staff gathered and smoked, talked, revved cars and to add insult to injury, there was some heavy machinery (probably central aircon equipment or pool pumping equipment) which sounded as though one was trying to sleep next to the engine-room of the QE2!

We stuck it for one night and then demanded to be put into the room we'd actually booked, which was fantastic. Aircon worked, only 2 sets of stairs to negotiate and we felt much more a part of the resort than we had in our initial room where we looked away from the hotel.

Reception were incredibly well organised, the level of cleanliness was pretty good too and the staff were helpful and pleasant. We'd certainly go back (though we'd be ready for an argument if the 'upgraded room' was not the one we'd booked!).

The complex is built into the side of a mountain, so it's very hilly with ramps and/or stairs needing to be traversed almost wherever you want to walk, but with that caveat, I'd certainly recommend this hotel at this time of year (mid September) for a relaxing, hot and pampering holiday. We didn't stay long enough to hire a car but the location of the hotel means that this is essential unless you are happy to be limited to the hotel grounds and the pretty, bustling village of Pissouri.

Hope this helps,

Nigel H Williams

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, General Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your positive and constructive comments.

As a result of your review we shall be changing the lights in the Apollo Tavern.
The beauty of the Resort is the layout but as a result we do have a wide variety of suites, some higher than others.
Since we are modelled on a Cyprus village concept, our low rise structure has limited lifts, as most suites are located on the ground floor or only up one flight of steps.
We do however have one building with a higher floor and shall be happy to avoid booking you a suite in this specific location on your next visit.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Recently stayed at the resort for a short getaway. Outstanding service by the entire staff, food is in my opinion first rate. My only hit agaist the resort would be the beach area, large rocks make it a little tricky getting into the water but having the floating dock makes up a little for this. Beach is lovely so sit and listen to the water and enjoy a tasty beverage from the very attentative beach staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your review! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just returned from seven glorious days staying at the Columbia Beach Resort. Having booked a garden view junior suite, we were surprised and delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a room with a great view of the beautiful pool and bay. Our room was very spacious and included a small 'kitchen area' with a sink, kettle, Nespresso coffee maker and fridge. The bathroom had a separate walk in shower, huge bath and double sink and lovely Molton Brown products were provided and replenished regularly.

The gardens and pool area are outstanding with plenty of sunbeds and sunshades available. The 'hotel resident cats' were delightful and friendly and it was great to see them well cared for and fed.

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary during our stay and the hotel provided a complimentary bottle of bubbly and canapés which was delivered to our room before dinner.

I echo the comments made by a previous reviewer "If you are looking for somewhere to escape the hustle and stress of everyday life then this gem of accommodation in the unspoilt resort of pissouri is what you need ".

Our only regret was that we only stayed seven days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your glowing comments!
We hope to see you soon and for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently stayed in the Panorama Suite with own pool as we have two teenage daughters.The views were great over the bay.This happened to be a very good choice for our stay as we realized on our first day after breakfast that all the beds by the beach and pool had been reserved earlier in the morning.If we hadn't had our own pool this would have spoiled our stay and caused a constant annoyance.Everything else about the hotel was fabulous, the staff were helpful and friendly.The portions at lunch were huge so we ate down at the Captains bar in Pissouri on a couple of occasions which was excellent value.We did not manage to eat at the Bacchus Italian restaurant as it was closed on our last night.The swim up bar in main pool was great for a pre-lunch drink.The beach had a good selection of water sports but the only downside apart from the beds was that the beach was very pebbly on entering the water.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our Resort, we appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Disappointing service and whilst not bad lacked finesse and polish all round. Great location for Pissourri village and fab Limanaki restaurant 5 min walk away with superb food. Also enjoyed Bacchus restaurant at hotel which felt more 5 star with excellent saxophonist. Apollo disappointing though good location nor great food. Good range of water sports available. Great courtesy service to Limassol Watermania which was brilliant and I don't usually like these. Spa ok nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We appreciate your having taken the time to write a review and have noted your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri

Address: Pissouri Bay | PO Box 54042, Pissouri 3779, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Pissouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pissouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* Award winning Spa Resort on the south west coast of Cyprus, on the Bay of Pissouri. The architecture is derived from Cypriot roots of culture and tradition. The craftsmen used are all local and brought with them skills handed over through their generations. The Hotels merge harmoniously with the environment, like a chameleon, due to the local stone and wood used. The roofs are typical of the region. These "Reflections" are strongly felt in the interior warmth of the rooms and suites. Hebe Spa lies at the heart of the Resort with the 80m lagoon pool flowing right into it; Elemis is the main Spa range offered along with 5 treatment rooms, sauna, plunge pool, Jacuzzi, squash & tennis courts along with an aerobics hall and full activity program.Restaurants offer creative Mediterranean cuisines and Italian Gourmet, with fresh fish from the adjacent west waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri Hotel Pissouri
Columbia Beach Pissouri
Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.