We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly restaurant which opens until quite late” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonlight Tavern

Moonlight Tavern
Paleou Scholiou 8, Pissouri 4607, Cyprus
25221870
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 33 Restaurants in Pissouri
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fabulous friendly small tavern. Wonderful food that is very reasonably priced. We ate here on many occasions and we were never disappointed. The view of the moon is the best view from any of the restaurants in Pissouri. The owners make you feel like friends ..would definitely recommend this great taverna
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly restaurant which opens until quite late”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here at Marios on our first night arriving after 10pm but not a problem. Also on the night we went to Jersey Boys tribute at Amphitheatre we booked a table for 10ish so that we could eat after show. Excellent grills and great friendly service. Always a friendly wave when we passed by.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Moon's Vietnamese Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Lovely people and wonderful food, freshly prepared and excellent value for money. Real Vietnamese food in a Cypriot village, what a find. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant as have passed it many times on our way into Pissouri village and always had lots if people outside.

Had meze as always a good way to gauge quality of food for future visits and were very disappointed. Variety of food was very limited and quantity poor. We always expect to take a doggy bag home with us as difficult to eat everything but not on this occasion! Food that we got was OK but no interesting dishes or Cypriot specialities like Afelia ir Kleftico, these may have been on the main menu but not included in the very sparse meze.

For the price we paid it was poor value, we have eaten elsewhere in Pissouri and have had far superior food. Captain's table meze far better, both taste, local dishes and quantity.

Would not recommend and unsure why so popular unless it is because it feels like the local ' Derby and Joan' club where all the oldie ex-pats gather.

Far better restaurants to visit in and around the main square.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Family holiday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We visited the Moonlight Tavern on Wednesday 3rd Sept. We chose keftedes, moussaka, beef stroganoff & bacon,egg & chips. This was our 2nd visit this holiday and every dish was authentic and cooked to perfectiion, I would highly recommend this tavern for any occasion, YOU will not be disappointed. A current offer is half price food on Mon, Wed & Fri.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“1/2 Price Bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We ate here on a Wednesday and its half price at the moment. The food was lovely I had mousakka and it was really good the rest of the family enjoyed theirs too. Although the outdoor seating is on the road its hardly brans hatch and I think maybe 2 cars passed us and all at a safe difference. The service was good and the restaurant was full when we were there I would recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonlight Tavern also viewed

Pissouri, Limassol District
Pissouri, Limassol District
 
Pissouri, Limassol District
Pissouri, Limassol District
 

Been to Moonlight Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonlight Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.