We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD WORLD CLASSIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissancehotel Raffelsbergerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Renaissancehotel Raffelsbergerhof to your Saves list
Renaissancehotel Raffelsbergerhof
Weissenkirchen 3610, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Weissenkirchen B&B and Inns
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“OLD WORLD CLASSIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at the Raffelsberger Hof.
If you are looking for an old world, regal Austrian experience, this is the place to choose.

We stayed in the spacious two room Federspiel Suite, not only spotless clean with all comfort of a boutique hotel, but in the morning when you open the window, the view is breathtaking. Should be featured in Cone Nast's Traveller magazine!

Breakfast is something else, with a fine selection of fresh prepared cold cuts, cheeses and the best apricot jam. We also had some fantastic home made poppy seed cake. Better than all breakfasts during the rest of our trip.

Room Tip: Try to get the Federspiel Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cunha
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location to know the wine region in Austria. This hotel is quiet, elegant, romantic and comfortable. We love it and recommend it to anyone who wants to know Wachau and have an enjoyable stay. The hotel is located in Weissenkirchen, a very nice village with good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This small hotel located in the very unique Wachau Valley (a UNESCO World Heritage site) is simply special. From the moment you arrive you are welcomed and made to feel like a valued family member rather than just another tourist. Tucked away in the small village of Weissenkirchen, this hotel reflects the old world charm of the wine country of northern Austria. The room was large and very quite with a view of the gardens and orchard. The hotel honor bar was located in the cellar and provided a very comfortable space to relax, meet and converse with fellow travelers. The breakfast was varied and plentiful and served in a lovely appointed room that was bright and airy. I hope to return to this area again and will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Like others who have stayed at the more famous ( and much more expensive ) Schloss in Durnstein I Have to agree that you get FAR MORE bang for buck at this wonderful hotel in Weissenkirchen... Tons of charm , old world comfort and more importantly the feeling that you are REALLY welcome and valued as a guest... Not so easy to find in a hotel in this day and age of the corporate inn.. Although we arrived a few hours hours before check in time , we were warmly welcomed and offered a choice between two rooms.. We chose the one with a partial view of the Danube rather than the view of the hills and vineyards and were very happy and comfortable even though it was quite sunny for the three days we were there..At no time did the room feel uncomfortably warm even though there is no A.C. There was almost always a pleasant breeze wafting through the windows overlooking beautiful, ancient roof tiles. The hotel is a pleasure to spend time in...The gardens offer lounge chairs and the private lounge /bar for guests is relaxing at night. Sipping your wine or schnapps ( all on the honor system) you can hear the water dripping into the ancient well outside in the courtyard. Breakfasts are massive feast of local hams and a dozens variety of cheeses,,,,Baked goods are fresh and home-made jams are on offer as well as good coffee , jogurts , eggs etc...My favorite was the Belgine pate/terrine purchased by Mr Anton in Vienna where he works and brought up during his weekends at the hotel.. Mind blowing..take your time , enjoy the spread and soak up the history in the centuries old breakfast rooms..
There are a number of fine restaurants nearby and Frau Anton will gladly listen to your ideas and offer suggestions. On our first evening we dined a few minutes up the street at Zum A Zechhaus a small family run operation specializing in locally sourced, mostly bio food. From the fish to the venison and the outstanding desert and local wines it would be difficult to ask for anything more...The owners work as a team: the wife is an amazing chef while her husband works the front room ( in this case a quiet roof top terrace) . Aided by a friendly multi-lingual Jamaican lady the service, food and wine were outstanding. Another great place is Heinzel , the famous fish restaurant on the Danube 10 minutes walk from the hotel. You would be hard pressed to find better, fresher fish anywhere. The sander filet, a perch/pike cross is beautiful as was the trout cooked in butter and garlic as well as a meaty , exotic char expertly served table side...As with all the local restaurants, the wine list contains a wide choice of the local wines by the glass and by the bottle... The quality of the Wachau wines is top notch and very well regarded by tipplers in the know across the globe. Locals Rudy Pichler and the Jager family ( visit them!) offer some great bottles but it would take weeks to do the wine lists justice. The famous Jamek family just down the road is another famous restaurant with a wine connection though we found the Loibenhof(spelling?) in Unterloiben a far better garden experience during our visit.. .. Dine under the apple trees with folks driving up from Vienna to enjoy the vibe and great food ( not to mention the mind blowing Knoll wine it's famous for) . The only drawback is that it's a 15 minute drive back to the hotel.. Have Frau Anton set up a cab for you if you plan to drink .. If you plan to rent bikes for vineyard tours ,as well you should and can just around the corner form the hotel , make sure you take the ferry across the river to the Landhaus Winzer-Stuberl ( packed with locals and serving massive schnitzles) a 10 minute ride from the boat . Bike hires at 9 euros a day were one of the best parts of our stay... There is no better way to enjoy the valley... Finally, having stayed in both Durnstein and Weissenkirchen , I found Weissenkirchen to be far warmer and real than the sadly kitch scene that seems to have taken hold in Durnstein( at least during the day when the tourists flood in) ..It is the real Wachau and an unforgetable experience made all the better with our stay at the Raffelsbergerhof. I plan to return.

Room Tip: River view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We only were able to squeeze one night into our itinerary and wish we had more. The Raffelsbergerhof is such a lovely small hotel in the heart of the Wachau Valley. If you go during the summer - remember there is NO airconditioning. For us, it was warm but okay. Our friends had issues.
The hotel rooms were large and airy, had loads of closet space. Our bathroom looked as though it recently had be refurbished and was very nice. The building itself is beautiful and the rooms are spread between two buildings. Breakfast was very nice and plentiful. And the lower cellar had a nice selection of beers, wines, soft drinks, schnapps and snacks - all on your honor.
We most definitely will be back, as we just love this area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

A wonderful small inn centered around local wine culture. Hard to find but worth the effort. A unique feature is a gathering room in the cellar with honor bar and comfortable lounging area. Our room was quiet and spacious with modern convieniences. There is no A/C but a fan was provided (and needed) during recent hot spell. There is no restaurant for dinner but a local fish restaurant on the Danube was recommended and was quite nice. Breakfast was served in a quaint breakfast room with a nice assortment of traditional selections. The owners were very nice and helpful. Originally thought inn would be located outside of town but its right in the center and convienient for a walking tour of the town and castle. Weissenkirchen was a delightful town with many interesting views and architecture. Very convienient for wine tasting and outdoor activities. In our opinion much nicer than the more famous Durnstein. Wish we could have stayed longer than our one night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex which was quite nice but would have liked to seen what the rooms in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Wir hatten nicht gebucht, doch es war ein Zimmerchen für uns frei. Wir kamen mit unserem kleinen Sohn und hatten ein sehr geräumiges Zimmer mit 2 separaten Räumen. Es handelt sich hier um ein wunderbares, traditionelles Haus, das liebevoll renoviert wurde. Wir haben ausgezeichnet geruht und die Lage ist äußerst zentral. Der Frühstückskaffee wurde in Kännchen serviert und die Räumlichkeiten waren äußerst behaglich. Wir kommen bestimmt wieder!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissancehotel Raffelsbergerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissancehotel Raffelsbergerhof

Address: Weissenkirchen 3610, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Weissenkirchen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Weissenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissancehotel Raffelsbergerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissancehotel Raffelsbergerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.