We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So helpful and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salsa Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Salsa Hostel to your Saves list
Salsa Hostel
25 / 42 Krommaluang Rd, Tatapao, Chumphon 86000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So helpful and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

The hostel is 5 minutes walk from the train station, has some of the cleanest facilities I have ever seen, faster internet than I have in UK and also one of most helpful managers anywhere. He spent nearly 2 hours helping me work out where I wanted to go next and the cheapest, waist easiest way to get there. Stay here before going to the islands, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Really appreciate your review and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Cheers,
Sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
23
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Every time I am in Chumphon I stay at different hotels. This March I decided to stay at Salsa Hostel being in Chumphon second time. I stayed in private room with private bathroom. Nice big bright room, very comfortable bed, nice corner settee ,kettle and packed tea, coffee and sugar ( free ). There were shampoo and bar soap in bathroom. Small balcony overlooking to one of main streets.
The owner was extremely hospitable, friendly and try to execute everything the guests needs. Like commonly he helped me to print boarding passes ( last year he helped me also although I stayed at another hotel ). He showed interesting places I have never been there before. I saw first time a woman had been collecting oysters.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks for your compliment and I hope to see you again next year.

Cheers!
Sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

On my way to Koh Tao, I stopped over in Salsa Hostel for one night. The hostel in general was a pleasant surprise! The receptionist was extremely nice & helpful, and spoke remarkably good English. During my brief stay I asked him probably a thousand questions, yet he would always give me a thorough, information-packed answer with a smile on his face.

In addition, Salsa hostel was probably the cleanest I ever saw in Thailand! I was almost embarrassed to walk around with my bare traveler feet, as every corner of the hostel seemed spotless. It literally meets the Scandinavian standards in every way - unexpectedly amazing! The air-con dorm came with a wide, comfy bed and a big blanket to catch a good night sleep.

There is great value for money not only for the previously mentioned reasons but also for the fact that an all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is included in the price!! I was so happy to wake up in the morning, walk down to the open-air lobby just to find the reception desk filled with fruits, toasts, muesli, eggs, coffee... everything you need to get your morning started before you take off on a boat towards the islands!

Salsa Hostel is THE place to stay in Chumphon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Elisa,

Thanks for your review. It was more than a pleasure to service a guest like you. Thanks and look forwards to your return.

Cheers!
Sood : D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Definitely a wonderful choice: the owner is very friendly, kind, helpful and warm-hearted, he speaks very good English and he is truly willing to help his guests with just about everything! The rooms and toilets are very clean, you have all the facilities you need, and a very nice breakfast is included in the cheap price of the rooms! We really had a very good time and we do recommend this hostel to everybody! Thank you Sood, best wishes from Romania!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Stefi,

Thank you very much for review. You are also excellent and wonderful. Thank you again for spending you time in Chumphon before heading to you next destination. I hope our path may crossed again.

Cheers and best regards from Chumphon

Sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the dorm for one night in order to be able to catch the morning ferry.
The dorms are of a good size, 8 people per room. The beds are very comfortable and everything was clean. The AC however, cools the room way too much and apparently can't be adjusted. There are enough toilets and showers which were very modern and clean. Small lockers are provided in the hallway but they are pretty tiny so that a laptop probably won't fit. The dorms facing the street are quite noisy at night, make sure to bring earplugs.
Upon arrival you're provided with some blanket/towel like thing, but only one. So unless you bring your own towel you'll have to use it for both showering and sleeping.
There is a very nice common area upstairs. In the morning they provide a good breakfast starting at 5 am so you can eat something before you are taken to the ferry.
Unfortunately the whole building is full of mosquitoes, even the dorms.
The location is great. Walking distance to the train station, night market, restaurants and 7-eleven. The owner is very nice, speaks good English and can also arrange bus, ferry and plane tickets

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi Annika,

Thanks for review. I really appreciate it. I am terribly sorry to learn that my air con was too cold for you. The default room temperature is set at 25 degree celcius which in fact the real temperature is warmer than the temperature when there are more people in the room.

Unfortunately that I don't leave an a/c remote control in the dorm (except private room) because there was a problem in the past that different guests in a same room preferred their own adjusted temperatures; one preferred 18 degree, another preferred 27 degree and another preferred 24 degree. I therefore set the room temperature at 25 degree which I believe it is the most comfortable temperature. However, guests can ask for extra blanket if they still find it is too cold for them.

The small locker that we provided fits a normal size of a computer notebook unless you have a super size one. However, I am looking for a chance to replace a new bigger locker that could fit the whole backpack so that all guests can store their whole stuff in there.

Thanks indeed. Every feedback counts and I will bring those negatives to improve my service.

Cheers,
Sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prachuap Khiri Khan, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I spent 3 nights at Salsa Hostel in the dorm room, and really enjoyed my stay. The hostel itself is immaculately clean, and has a couple communal areas throughout the building to hang out. The breakfast buffet (included in the price) is the icing on the cake. Sood was super friendly and was more than willing to help me explore Chumphon and plan for my next destination. Khop khun krab Sood!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi Cameron,

Thanks and wish you a good journey through. Cheers/ Sood (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I recommend the Salsa Hostel to anyone looking for a great, clean, cheap, central place to stay with really helpful staff.

If we find ourselves passing through Champun again, without a doubt we'll be checking into the Salsa!

Room Tip: All rooms are quality depending on ones budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Steve,

Thanks for your review. I appreciate it and my door is always open to welcome you. Cheers/ Sood (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salsa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salsa Hostel

Address: 25 / 42 Krommaluang Rd, Tatapao, Chumphon 86000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chumphon Province > Chumphon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Chumphon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salsa Hostel is a newborn hostel in Chumphon. It is the only hostel in Chumphon that offers a range of services; lodging, tours, cafe & bar. All guests can enjoy facilities provided; common room, kitchen, rooftop terrace, free wifi, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Salsa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salsa Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.