We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is worth it for the views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Ella Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Ella Motel to your Saves list
Grand Ella Motel
411, Galle Road | Bambalapitiya, Columbo 4, Ella, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Ella
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“it is worth it for the views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were on a quite a budget holiday but Ella was half way through our trip so we treated ourselves to the Grand Ella Motel for one night. Although the standard of the hotel was not necessarily what you would expect for the money, it is absolutely worth staying there at least one night for the incredible views - from sunrise to sunset! It was a lovely peaceful stay. We didn't think much of the food though - so maybe worth heading out into the main street of Ella (really close by) to have your meals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    26
    15
    25
See reviews for
16
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celje, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

briefly I can confirm other guests reviews that cleanlinesss of the room or foamy bacon do not meet standards of a 110 dollars per night hotel.

but what I am really disappointed is their attitude after we left. my girlfriend got scratched by the hotel cat on our last day in Sri Lanka. later home she saw her personal physician because of the possibilitiy of getting rabbies. he wanted to know in what state the cat was in order confirm/dismiss possibility of the rabbies.
she wrote to the hotel an email with a simple question: is the cat OK. no response.
she sent them fax. no response.

after they get money you are no longer their client. I wrote this for all those who are not willing to support this kind of unprofessional attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We went through Ella, while going to Yala from Nuwara Eliya. We stopped for lunch at this place. The food was average, and we didn't have much cause we had quite some travel to do. The view however was amazing from this place. Would have stayed here for atleast 1 night, if we had stayed at Ella. Seeing the amazing view we really wanted to have dinner here with the beautiful mountains as background and the star-lit sky.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

As all other reviewers say, the view is fantastic. The room we were offered was not. It was moldy, dingy and pillows badly stained. We didn't stay. We had lunch there and that was poor too. Really one to avoid until there has been some major refurbishment and improvement in standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have visited this hotel several times but quality of service getting worst during the last three years. The glamor of this hotel is no more may be due to poor maintenance. Front office staff is superb

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

A cozy accommodation in a beautiful hill country with a lot of waterfalls and rivulets.
Ravana Ella, Babbarakanda, Duhinda are some of the waterfalls in the area.
The Nine Arch Bridge, The Bolgoda Wooden bridge etc are attractions to see around.
Good food, Good accommodation
Extremely good service.

Room Tip: Room - Ravana with the adjacent room will give you a large common balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We didn't stay here, but dropped by for lunch. I had to agree with some of the other reviewers - don't stay, but do come by for a meal or a drink. The view is spectacular and we took some very pretty panoramic shots from the garden. The food was average (but palatable), and the restaurant staff was friendly and helpful. Worth a visit if you're in Ella for a day or two.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Ella Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ella Motel

Address: 411, Galle Road | Bambalapitiya, Columbo 4, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Ella Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ella Hotel Ella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Ella Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.