We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stop gap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ella Gap Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ella Gap Hotel to your Saves list
Ella Gap Hotel
Passara Road, Ella 90000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 73 Ella B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stop gap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Me and my mate stayed here after new year. It's basic, the staff were friendly and the accommodation was clean. We were out most days, so this is a good place to base yourself and get a good nights rest. It was $60 for a family room, which wasn't bad considering the time of year and how expensive the costal hotels were.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    8
    5
    13
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

What a big dissapointment. It started upon arrival - no formal welcome (all other hotels offered a welcome drink and had come nice words on our arrival), the manager acted very bureaucratically and had troubles verifying our reservation compared to his notes. Finally, we were not sure at what point the check-in had finished, it just consisted in putting the key on the desk without a word. Support staff was ok, though.

The room was just inacceptable. Furniture was generally ok and modern, but the room had two separate beds (we did not book a twin room). The bathroom was not fully equiped, had no exhaust, thus all the damp air would not take off, and there was consequent smell. The shower door was derailed and did not fully close. There was no bottled water as in all other places. The worst thing was the situation of the room: no balcony (as in ALL other hotels), instead two big screens, dirty both in- and outside and not properly closing. The window gave view on a wall, just about two meters opposite... Apparently all rooms on that side of the hotel had a similar situation, but ours was the worst.

In general, I cannot imagine how and if at all that hotel has a proper operating licence. From outside it looked rather modern and stylish, but anything inside was not logically designed or well made. The staircase had no light. Below on first floor streetside, works started at 7 am with considerable noise. The overall athmosphere of the hotel was negative and not welcoming.

When we returned to the hotel at night (at 10pm), three staff members were sleeping on the sofas in the lobby which gave us an akward and unsecure feeling; it seems the hotel does not provide any room for them.

It would strongly discourage anyone from booking this hotel. Only now we have seen that many other ratings confirm our experience, unfortunately those were not available when we finalised our travel plan. Ella is famous for its great views and that is what we expected, our hotel however had view on a wall....

Room Tip: don't book at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

No formal checkin process. Our travel agent made the booking for us however no passport or form to fill/sign was available. 2 rooms were showed to us but both of them were painted the same day. We rejected both due to the fresh paint smell. Other 3 rooms were showed but there was a terrible stuffy smell in each of them and they were not clean. At 4PM in the afternoon no room was clean and ready yet however check-in time is mentioned 12PM in their website. We finally accepted the 6th room. There was no bottled drinking water in any of the rooms. No exhaust in the bathroom. We realized that the stuffy smell is coming due to lack of the exhaust. All steam gets into the walls and there is no fresh air ventillation to dry out. No shower gel or soap in the bath room. Shampoo was almost empty. No toilet paper. No wifi in the rooms, in lobby it is very unstable.
We were the only people for dinner. We paid for a half-board service. All other hotels in Sri Lanka there was self-service. In Gap there was a "set menu". The only available dish was non-vegetarian however we expressed that we are vegetarians. No napkin, no salt/pepper on table. The so called vegetable soup had chicken smell. Finally we had to fill our stomach with butter and toast.
The hotel is not yet ready, I find very stange how it can operate at all. Not even sure it has an operating license.
There was no exhaust in the kitchen either. Huge smoke was coming out and we were thinking where could be the fire extinguisher then realized it is not (yet) fire just lack of exhaust in the kitchen area too.
Very unfriendly staff, customer orientation is zero. In guesthouses you can get better treatment and service then this hotel.
Not recommended.

Room Tip: Any which is not in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel indeed looks modern on the outside. It also has a nice supermarket on site which is an advantage. BUT, here is the list we've left with the hotel managment before we left explaining why we will never visit again and why this hotel deserves this review;
1. The room is dump. No vintelation. They try to hide the smell with an electric air refresher but it doesn't work.
2. The bed linen was dirty, smelly and dump. We actually found other people's hair in them!
3. The staff doesn't care about customers. Repeatedly our requests were answered with a nod of approval yet no practical response.
4. Although we stayed there for two nights, our room was not refreshed even once!
5. The only hotel in Sri Lanka on our list (and we have visited quite a few) that did not have bottled drinking water in the room.

Ella is known as a resort city and indeed it offered some of the best site. If you would like to enjoy this little town, our advice is keep away from this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I highly recommend looking at other options for this hotel. The hotel is average with an above average price. There are many nicer guest houses nearby with great views for the same price. Also there is a large hatch in the bathroom that does not close or lock that someone could easily climb through so it's not particularly secure. Good location thou.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We booked this hotel because it looked modern and new and because we were tired from backpacking and wanted a quiet evening chilling out before visiting the sites of Ella, for which the location of this hotel is very good.

The hotel is like a building site because it's not finished, and the parts that are finished are covered in cement dust and look awful. Unfortunately, it took the hotel 40 minutes to check us in because they said they couldn't find our booking; they didn't assist us with taking our bags to our room; the room was extremely damp and the bed linen was damp to the touch, it smelled a bit like an old caravan.

Almost all of the in room facilities advertised through their agents aren't actually available, including in-room wifi, kettle, safe, we had to request another bath towel. The room was so badly ventilated that there was a pool of condensation on the floor in the morning.

As the whole hotel is made of bare concrete, and with the building work, it doesn't make for a particularly relaxing experience. The pool is finished but not clean after building work.

The reception staff were vague at times, and appeared to have a bunch of friends hanging around in the lobby enjoying a laugh, whilst not attending to their customers needs. We did use the internet in the lobby, because it was unavailable in our room, and felt rather awkward.

Breakfast was okay, and the breakfast staff were attentive and polite. Although, we were the only ones there!

We paid LKR 10,000 and have stayed in much nicer, more reasonable hotels than this one for half the price! (Olympus Plaza in Haputale, being one!)

The hotel shouldn't be open in it's current state, but perhaps when the building work is complete, and the staff are used to running things, it will improve.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Spent a night here with my family in October. This is a brand new property in the heart of Ella with good facilities. Swimming pool is in final stage of completion.

Rooms are spacious, clean and with good quality bedding. Excellent food, nice and friendly staff and customer focused manageress, Kanchana.

Ella Gap is conveniently located to visit Little Adams, Ravana Falls and Ella Gap view point. Mini super market attached to the hotel provide extra convenience to fulfill emergency requirements.

Since this is short stay hotel, no gym was considered in the planning.

Room Tip: Room facing the city with balcony or swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ella Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Gap Hotel

Address: Passara Road, Ella 90000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped rooms (hot water, TV, wifi), restaurant facilities, mini bar, bar, room service, laundry service, tea. Coffee Facility in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ella Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ella Gap Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.