We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Ella” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Cafe & Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dream Cafe & Guest House
Save
You added Dream Cafe & Guest House to your Saves list
Main Street , ella | Main Street, Ella, Srilanka, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 73 Ella B&B and Inns
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Ella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed just one night but we enjoyed excellent hospitality. The rooms are equipped and its very comfortable to stay there. In the place there is a restaurant that serves great food and even has an espresso machine (very rare in Sri Lanka). The place is located in the central area of ​​the village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My family and me spent one night in the Ella in Dream Cafe. We had a nice time there and really liked Ella and this hotel. The restaurant is really nice and have special dishes which was a nice refresh.
The only thing is that I agree with the recommendations written below - the fact that the hotel is located on the main street makes it a bit nosisy and I have to admit I woke up quite early because of the buses outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here one night with my parents. We did not manage to get two separate rooms, but the triple room was really big and it was no problem at all to share. Breakfast was great - try the Sri Lankan one. Pizzas also highly recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Dream Cafe. Our room was very spacious and the shower was new with lots of hot water. Everything appeared clean. The downstairs cafe is one of the town's best and they're pretty good at organising excursions/ your onward journey.
Here's the downside though: it is located on Ella's main street which means you get a relatively constant flow of buses and trucks passing by. We were abruptly woken up by one such bus stopping in front of the hotel playing loud music at 2 a.m.
The other thing is that it isn't exactly a budget-friendly option.
Also, we asked if we could get our breakfast really early (the plan was to go to Ella Rock) but staff was reluctant and we had to settle for later than originally planned. Those are the details they should work on.
If the Dream Cafe can resort these issues (except the location on noisy road, that won't change), then it certainly has the potential to be one of Ella's best places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Samy was a great host. The rooms have recently been renovated and we were offered a lovely family room which slept 5 for only a bit more than the cost of a double. The road is busy but we found that most of the traffic stops at around 10 and the restaurant is one of the best 2 or 3 in the town. Overall a great experience and very relaxing

P.S. but don't pick up the cute street dog puppies - they have fleas!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultanate of Oman
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Freindly staff food good rooms appalling. Stayed one night on a tour. Room no. 2 & 4 were dirty with a makeshift shower and electrical socket hanging off the wall. Rooms upstairs possibly better but not seen

Room Tip: Ask to see room before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamcafe e, Owner at Dream Cafe & Guest House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
There was certainly a mistake here - The driver/guide approached us and asked for the cheapest rooms - he was told that the standard rate was 5500Rs for our guest house rooms. He then asked if we had cheaper - he was told that we had two rooms but just for drivers.Then he showed his elderly guests these rooms telling them it was a bargain. We insisted that they view the guest rooms and would never have considered any body but drivers using the rooms in question.
There are enough reports on our new operation supporting our high standards - we cannot control or divert the manipulations of drivers/guides who often have their own agenda!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here earlier this week.

The owner, Samy was very hospitable and offered a map of sights/attractions nearby. He sat down with us for a chat about sights that'd be worth seeing. room & ensuite were spotless. Wooden floors & ceiling - a nice touch.

Very centrally located, close to everything. But the downside was the noise from the main road early in the morning and at times the kitchen downstairs.

Foodwise, they had the best Sri lankan omelette we'd tried, for breakfast - which is included in the tarriff. Very cold beers too.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Cafe & Guest House

Address: Main Street , ella | Main Street, Ella, Srilanka, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Cafe & Guest Houses provides a brand new construction for accommodation which was done recently in addition to the famous restaurant. It offers spacious rooms with wooden floors and attached bathrooms with ultra modern design.These comfortable bedrooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, each with its own individual style. We look forward to your company whether you're staying in the guest rooms, or experiencing the famous food of the restaurant. One thing is for sure, you'll be sure to come back. Accommodation Stay in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our comfortable 8 bedrooms which are newly constructed are tastefully decorated to highest standards when compared to other places in Ella and fully furnished, each with its own individual style. All rooms are having attached bathrooms designed with latest accessories and rich with elegant design ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Cafe & Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.