We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Homes Guest Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holiday Homes Guest Inn to your Saves list
Holiday Homes Guest Inn
Sapumalthenne, Passara Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 73 Ella B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“almost like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice and clean rooms, relaxed atmosphere, quite location 10 min walk from Ella center. Sumitra is a caring host. She helped us with planning 2 days in Ella, and arranging next stay in our journey. Look no other place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deventer, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were tired of being harassed with all kinds of offers all the time so we hesitated a bit before accepting to follow Sumithra (the owner) and see her place. Finally, it was a very good pick : a bit oustide town center, clean rooms, nice cooking (a bit more spicy than other places though), lovely garden, tea pluckers, other nice guests...In short, a very enjoyable place to stay for a few days. Ella being in itself a great location to spend some time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in Ella and Sumitra was a lovely host. She became like our Mum! There were 5 of us and the food she cooked was always amazing and in abundance. It is quite close to everything and very relaxed. Rooms are average sized and very clean, the bathrooms are big and very new. She was able to help us with accommodation at our next destination as well. It was a very personalised and pleasant stay :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the place in February for two nights. There's no doubt the location as well as the rooms are more than fine. Sumitra is a really nice landlady and seems to take good care of the place. Unfortunatelly, when it comes to final payment (though agreed on everything in advance) there were some not completely clear extra costs. When I asked what they stood for I got a very upset and irritated answer but hardly any serious explanation. Even my driver (Sri Lankan) was astonished by how unprofessionally the manager appproached the situation. I had definitelly no problem with the quality of the service nor the place itself but make sure that you negotiatiate really everything in advance. The landlady is a real tough businesswoman who does not seem to expect you to ever come back to the place...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

You will probably meet Sumitra, the landlady, at the station. Lovely smiling lady. Hop into a tuk tuk and head for her guest house situated in a pretty garden with her own tea bushes. Rooms are simple but clean. Large bathrooms with hot showers but the water pressure is very low. Easy walk into town (6minutes) and close to the start of Little Adams. Good home cooked meals and you can join in while she cooks. Very helpful with advice about the local area including buses and trains. She also has a mini bus for hire if you want to go further afield.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Sumitra makes her place a real pleasure, it's just outside the centre of Ella, well place for Little Adam's Peak
She prepared a fine supper and breakfast and everyone eats communally which was a really lovely polyglot evening when we were there
Lovely birds in the garden (including a metallic black-red woodpecker)
One small thing
I don't think it ever gets dry in Ella - it's jungly and humid and hence things do not dry, hence one thing that may improve the room is using "hammam style" towels (made of thick sheeting rather than towelling as these could dry better?)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

One of the most hospitable guesthouses of Sri Lanka. Sumitra (the owner) is very kind and willing to help you with everything.

Rooms are clean. Due to the weather it was unfortunatly a bit humid in the room.

The guest house is a 5 min walk from the centre.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Homes Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Homes Guest Inn

Address: Sapumalthenne, Passara Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 3 rooms - 2 double beds in each room. 4 Can accommodate in a room. Fully tiled rooms. Each room is having attached bathrooms with hot water. Fan can be provided on request, but in Ella there is no need of fans during most of the time. Other amenities: Living area with comfortable sofa, Common TV (satellite TV), Wi-Fi Internet, Dining area with wooden table, Food Specialized on Sri lankan styled meals which are home cooked. Garden setting. Relaxing environment. Tea estate in front of the house. Summer huts to relax and to have meals. Parking facility is available. The location and view. The location of the guest house is a residential rural area surrounded by trees and with the view of mountains. There is a pine forest near the place. Other Services: Transport can be provided with our own van. Free pick up from railway station for our guests (we can arrange our own vehicle). We can arrange tours to any destination in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Homes Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Homes Guest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.