We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic and lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 98 Acres Resort

Save Saved
You added 98 Acres Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
98 Acres Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Passara Rd / Namunukula Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Ella
Colombo
1 review
“Very Romantic and lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This a super location if your seeking very quite and romantic place with breathtaking views. Food and restaurant was very excellent and staff is very friendly and helpful. Well designed rooms and very spacious. Also there are lot of other locations to visit and spend the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    74
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
48
180
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

One of the best locations I ever being in
Sri lanka. We , three of us were there for a cocktail on our way. But definitely will
Re visit soon.Ideal for a honeymoon,hideout or a family outing.
Superb chalets with all facilities and the bar is a great place to be. It has everything you need in a eco tourist attraction. The pool is small but nicely done. A place you must visit and enjoy the typical srilankan highland with tea in the background. The Ella town which is located closeby is one of the best tourist towns in sri lanka

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Unfortunately we stayed only one night in 98 acres resort. It is a beautifully landscaped small residence. Beautiful rooms with breathtaking views. The staff-people were all friendly and helpful. The food tasted very good. A problem with the interpretation of our booking was quickly and correct resolved. We would therefore recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. we would like to have stayed more nights here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spacious and well designed rooms with an incredible view from the balcony - by far the most unique and impressive hotel I've stayed at anywhere in the last few years. Staff were also exceedingly helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: I'd recommend an upstairs room. Also there aren't many rooms available so would suggest book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We only came he for lunch as we tried to book to stay quite late and it was full. The place was beautiful, very nicely done out and amazing views across the tea plantations. We had a quick look at the rooms and they looked nice. Our lunch was very pleasant, good food in a very stunning location and following a fairly easy hike up from Ella village, so even if you don't stay here it's well worth the walk here for lunch or dinner to enjoy the fab views.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent 2 days at the resort and it's been absolutely wonderful! Very warm people, amazing scenery... A priceless location to recharge yourself after discovering the region!
THANKS for two wonderful days...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The view from the rooms is quite a stunner, best from our two weeks in Sri Lanka to be honest. The room itself and the Eco-facilities were also great. The room was not swept each day we were there which left quite a dirty floor, but the bed and bathroom were immaculate otherwise.
The staff are friendly, and the restaurant and pool are lovely places, again with jaw-dropping views.
BUT, the food was at best average, MUCH better and cheaper can be found in Ella village. We would strongly recommend only staying either 'Room-only' or 'Bed & Breakfast' as the food and associated service was a letdown.
A GREAT place to stay, but don't waste your time and money on their food. Stay here, and eat in the Ella town, it has a nice chilled vibe with plenty of choice for food and drink to cater for all tastes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 98 Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort

Address: Passara Rd / Namunukula Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your 98 Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 98 Acres Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.