We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 98 Acres Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 98 Acres Resort to your Saves list
98 Acres Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Passara Rd / Namunukula Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
15% Off All Room Rates
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ella
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Absolutely breathtaking views! Wonderful small hotel that feels a little rustic. I have never seen such an incredible view! The staff was very nice and helpful! A very special and memorable stay :)

One complaint: rock/waterfall shower kind of floods bathroom...we were fine with it but it's something they should work on.

We did the small hike nearby to Little Adam's Peak and it was wonderful! You can also walk to the nearby town through the tea plantations which is very nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    91
    26
    15
    4
See reviews for
65
238
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

There are few words to describe the beauty of the surroundings at 98 Acres. From each of the modern but rustic looking accommodations, you have views of the adjacent Little Adam's Peak and many other distant mountains and rivers. Each room contains satellite television and internet access, but 98 Acres is one place you might never touch the computer or remote control. You can admire nature from your large balcony or patio; indulge in one or more of the many spa treatments (up to 5500 Sri Lankan Rupees); or participate in activities you can arrange through the resort, from tours of Little Adam's Peak to learning archery. Additionally, you can enjoy the amazing views with your meals and a drink at the open-air restaurant set high above the accommodations.
This place is 5 stars in my book, thanks to the location, polite and attentive staff, and over the top comfort. Visit Ella and stay at 98 Acres, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Dropt in at 98Acres for lunch and hike up to Little Adam’s Peak. An older staff member was quite attentive and polite, asking us how the food was. The food (Chicken Burgher, Veggie Burgher, Lumprais) was bland. There was hardly any flavouring. My friends ordered fried ice cream and found that the batter had no flavouring either. I order a dessert with chocolate (cannot remember the name on the menu) and got a frozen slice of chocolate mousse. The chocolate flavouring should have been more and the description on the menu was of something else – flaky pastry and vanilla sauce. When this was pointed out, the waiter who was not all that polite (maybe he was having a bad day!) aplogised sincerely but did not remove it from the bill. I did tell him he could charge me, but it would have been only common courtesy to cancel the order. I left more than half uneaten.

The location is lovely and the architect has done wonders with very common objects, making it a novel experience.

Little Adam’s Peak is 5 min away and worth a stroll up to see the views. Namunukula is 14 Kms away and Ella town is 2 Kms away, where there is plenty to see. E.g. Demodara Station, 9 arc bridge, Ravana Falls, Ravana Cave, etc

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The 98 Acres Resort can be easily found when you hit Ella. The view from the room and the cafe is spectacular. Out of this world. The breeze is cool and soothing. The staff at 98 Acres Resort is extremely friendly and excellent hospitality. We were given a room downstairs and our balcony open up to Little Adam's Peak surrounded with Tea Estate and Ella valley. I've never seen such a breathtaking view . The resort room came with full facilities and services including free wifi. The rooms are all done up in an eco-friendly manner.

With our half board option including dinner / brekky. The five course dinner was very enticing. Most of the produce were from their own garden. My favorite was the carrot soup. It tasted so fresh. The ice tea mocktail was garnished with tea leaves from their backyard, which added a personal touch. The food potions were fairly big and worth it.

I highly recommend to add this to your itinerary at least for one nighter if your making a trip to Sri-Lanka, Don't forget to take a quick dip in their swimming pool that's overlooking this spectacular view and chilax on one of their bean bags with a cuppa in hand.

Little Adam's Peak hike we thoroughly enjoyed which was short stroll through their tea estate. We were not able to go ahead with the cycling option due to being available

I'll definitely visiting this place again, because the breathtaking view and their EXCELLENT hospitality cannot be limited for one visit and definitely want to cycle around the trail in our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed at 98 Acres for 2 nights and we wished we had longer. The buildings are beautifully designed and keeping with the natural environment. The views from the room were spectacular, waking up to views of Little Adams peak as the clouds are blowing by was the perfect start to the day. The staff were really at tentative and friendly and the food was delicious, some of the best we had on our holiday. My only regret was not taking advantage of the spa facilities. I can't recommend 98 Acres enough - we are already looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Absolutely stunning setting overlooking the valley's of Ella. We stayed in room 105 which we were told was the best room, it was very spacious and an amazing bathroom lots of room to move around, the stone bath is something else, although we did not use it ourselves.

We caught the train from Kandy as it was not available from Colombo due the Tamil new year celebrations, we were told that this is the most scenic section so we were pleased about that.

The service at 98 Acres was fantastic the staff very friendly and helpful. It rained quite heavy in the evenings which made for superb scenery changes with watching the clouds coming through the valleys which we were mesmerised by. We stayed 2 nights which we thought was ample.

We walked to the peak of the small Adams Peak which took about 30 mins each way, well worth the walk. We met many locals on the walk which was fun in itself.

The food is quite basic in the restaurant be aware they have more than one menu they may only give you the al a carte menu, we asked for something more authentic and received a further Sri Lanka menu which we preferred.

There is not heaps to do in Ella, especially over the Tamil New Year period in April but it is a tranquil village and well worth the visit and a stay at 98 Acres.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit more for room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Friendly and accomodating staff at this unique hotel. The rooms are built in the side of the mountains and are individual thatched roofed bungalows with amazing views of Little Adam's Peak (which you can get to and climb at the bottom of the road) and Ella gap. The facilities were excellent and the restaurant was good - although the menu wasn't great and didn't change at all whilst we were there. The pool is small but lovely. The hotel is situated within a tea plantation approximately 2kmish from the village of Ella. You can walk it during the day but a tuk tuk would be necessary in the evening. Unfortunately the hotel didn't seem to have transport unlike other hotels we stayed in in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 98 Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort

Address: Passara Rd / Namunukula Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your 98 Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 98 Acres Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.