We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat - views, food and service all brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 98 Acres Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
98 Acres Resort
Save
You added 98 Acres Resort to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Passara Rd / Namunukula Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ella
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect retreat - views, food and service all brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed at 98 Acres for 2 nights and we wished we had longer. The buildings are beautifully designed and keeping with the natural environment. The views from the room were spectacular, waking up to views of Little Adams peak as the clouds are blowing by was the perfect start to the day. The staff were really at tentative and friendly and the food was delicious, some of the best we had on our holiday. My only regret was not taking advantage of the spa facilities. I can't recommend 98 Acres enough - we are already looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    116
    37
    16
    5
See reviews for
77
310
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Absolutely stunning setting overlooking the valley's of Ella. We stayed in room 105 which we were told was the best room, it was very spacious and an amazing bathroom lots of room to move around, the stone bath is something else, although we did not use it ourselves.

We caught the train from Kandy as it was not available from Colombo due the Tamil new year celebrations, we were told that this is the most scenic section so we were pleased about that.

The service at 98 Acres was fantastic the staff very friendly and helpful. It rained quite heavy in the evenings which made for superb scenery changes with watching the clouds coming through the valleys which we were mesmerised by. We stayed 2 nights which we thought was ample.

We walked to the peak of the small Adams Peak which took about 30 mins each way, well worth the walk. We met many locals on the walk which was fun in itself.

The food is quite basic in the restaurant be aware they have more than one menu they may only give you the al a carte menu, we asked for something more authentic and received a further Sri Lanka menu which we preferred.

There is not heaps to do in Ella, especially over the Tamil New Year period in April but it is a tranquil village and well worth the visit and a stay at 98 Acres.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit more for room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Friendly and accomodating staff at this unique hotel. The rooms are built in the side of the mountains and are individual thatched roofed bungalows with amazing views of Little Adam's Peak (which you can get to and climb at the bottom of the road) and Ella gap. The facilities were excellent and the restaurant was good - although the menu wasn't great and didn't change at all whilst we were there. The pool is small but lovely. The hotel is situated within a tea plantation approximately 2kmish from the village of Ella. You can walk it during the day but a tuk tuk would be necessary in the evening. Unfortunately the hotel didn't seem to have transport unlike other hotels we stayed in in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

98 Acres was a stunning resort, we took the train up from Colombo to Ella (thoroughly recommend this route) and had 3 nights at the resort. I wouldn't recommend anything less and 3 nights was about right. Magnificent views of little Adams peak from the room, and when the mist closed in one night it was like 'gorillas in the mist!'. Service was very attentive and we found the food to be very good too.
Not a cheap resort to stay at, but if you are looking for a peaceful, tranquil stay, this is ideal.
This is our second trip to Sri Lanka, but the first time we have visited Ella. Certainly a lovely place, and if you want somewhere to spoil yourself and relax you could do a lot worse.
We went on the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed, and would certainly go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Forget the minor quibbles about the hotel. The situation and outlook make up for any minor problems. The view out over the valleys and mini adam's peak is breathtaking. Go for a walk and you will feel like you are on top of the world. The hotel is fairly basic, but that's not the point- the siting is unique and exclusive. I would recommend without reservation to any genuine travellers. An experience not to be missed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

98 Acres was one of the many stops on my tour with Show Lanka Tours in Sri Lanka. 98 Acres is breathtakingly beautiful- I don't think there is a view quite like it anywhere else in the country. Staff and food were great as well.
Show Lanka Tours was the best way to travel around the country. Their drivers are knowledgeable, have excellent recommendations, are honest and reliable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Ayubowan !!
On behalf of the 98 Acres team we thank you for choosing to stay with us and are delighted that you took the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

The entire team have been extremely motivated by your wonderful feedback and I am sure are inspired to continue their efforts to make our service and experiences at 98 Acres truly memorable for all our guests.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again at 98 Acres !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Firstly, I like this place. We enjoyed the time we spent there, so I am trying my level best to be as constructive as possible so that "98 Acre Resort" will remedy the little defects that it has an end up as a Resort which is one of the best in the area.

Rooms:
We stayed in 101, a room with a bath tub. unfortunately for us, the view was blocked by two trees. So i suggest that you avoid this room and get any of the other rooms which afford a very good view.
The rooms could be cleaner, Please be warned that there are many moths that come into your room if you keep your windows open. In fairness to the lady that gave us the tour, she warned us about it. The trick is to ensure that you keep all the doors and windows shut after 5.00pm. However, this resort tries to portray itself as a "eco-resort" so such inconveniences of nature, should in my view be overlooked.

Toilet:
The toilet was really dark even with the lights on. You cant really open the window while in the Toilet as everyone outside will be able to see you doing your job. The shower area had not been well thought out. A shower meant that the whole bathroom getting wet as there was no adequate covering in the shower area.

Food:
Food was OK. Good portions but nothing too fancy. The service was good though. We seemed to have a personalized Waiter who was very attentive.
The only down side was that the Food Department was very intrusive. We were told that DInner was served till 10.00pm, but if we didnt show up by 8.00pm we would get a call to the room telling us that if we dont come by 9.00pm we wouldnt be able have dinner.
Also, even with the "Do not Disturb" sign on the door nob in our room we would constantly get disturbed as the Waiters would want us to chose out dinner menu etc.
This became quite a bother and was not at all pleasant. So as far as privacy is concerned, i would say the Resort will have to work on this.

Service (other than in the Restaurant):
I really cant complain. they were good. Especially Indika, the guy in charge of the walks and extra activities. He was very helpful and went out if the way to ensure that we had a good time.

All in all, we had a good time. I will sure come back again mainly for the location.
The reason I gave it 3 stars was cause of the Privacy issue which was quite a bother.

I hope 98 Acre Resort sorts this out. If they can find this balance, it'll be a hotel to very good Hotel.

Room Tip: If you want an uninterrupted view dont get room 101. But get an upstair room with a bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your review and feedback. It was great to hear your comments as we learnt a lot from them and corrected a lot of mistakes that we've been doing. We think complains are gifts that will make us be stronger and better. please see below our comments and the things we did after we received your feedback.
Rooms - We are highly against cutting down trees but we did remove couple of small branches that were blocking the view from room 101. So now that you can see an interrupted view from the room.
We cannot do anything for the moths as they come from the clocal forests. only thing we can do is close the windows before sunset. But of course you can go in and out from your balconies at night and stay as long as you desire.
Toilet - Lights were changed and now we have a very bright light in the toilet. And we are planning to put another shower curtain so the water will not splash anywhere.
Restaurant - We are truly sorry that we disturbed you even though you had the sing on the door. The waiter must have not seen the sign and made a mistake there so we sincerely apologies for the inconvenience caused because of that.
Our restaurant/kitchen does not close at 10pm. Our last order is at 10pm. They have only mentioned that it is better to come at 9pm for your dinner. We normally call the rooms and ask the guests about the time that they are coming so we can be ready to serve when they arrive at the restaurant. This will make the service faster with minimizing the delays.
Thanks again for your lovely suggestions and feedback and we would love to have you with us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 98 Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort

Address: Passara Rd / Namunukula Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 98 Acres Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.