We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best rice&curry so far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Folly

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Folly
Save
You added Little Folly to your Saves list
Passara Road, Ella, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Ella
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best rice&curry so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We didn't sleep here, just went over one afternoon after climbing little Adam's peak, since the LP said it is a great place for tea and cake.
We ended up ordering rice and curry, and it was the best choice! Everything was prepared fresh on the spot and it was delicious!!! The owner is very friendly also. Great choice for lunch or dinner!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mangalore, India
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Once again booked after reading reviews in Trip Advisor. The guest house is located on a walkable distance from centre of the Ella town.

The log cabin is the best of the lot. It a different experience altogether to stay in it. The power supply was erratic during the morning but Mr Gunasiri, the owner,arranged for hot water. He is also guided with hand drawn maps to visit the Nine Arch Bridge and Little Adam's peak, both worth visiting.

The rooms are well maintained and clean, breakfast is good too. Since there are lots of eating options in Ella Town we did not eat our lunch/dinner here.

Overall a very good stay amidst nature.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The owner and his staff were friendly and efficient.
The cabin was beautifully situated to the rear of the main house,the bed mattress was thin but it was immediately doubled up. The walls of the bungalow were thin and you could hear what the neighbours were up to......beware!
The food was home cooked and delicious. Cakes made a regular appearance at most meals including breakfast!
The owner spoke good English and gave us some excellent walking routes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

They have two lovely log cabins. the floor of the cabin is made of wood and cement . All the walls except for bathroom are made of wood. You get the feeling that you are staying in a true log cabin. Cabin, wash room very clean and having hot water. Mosquito nets are provided but we hardly notice them in our stay.

Located very close to Ella town , only a few meters away from Ella junction. Behind the cabin you will find a thick forest of pine trees. Its a nice view and make you relax.There are lot of scenic places close by and the owner is so helpful in providing the information and directions to those locations.

Little folly provide good food at reasonable price. They are famous for moist cakes . We had the opportunity of tasting their chocolate cakes.

Room Tip: They have two log cabins , the one on to your right is better than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Little folly have lovely log cabins with big rooms and clean bathrooms. It is a short walk to the restaurants and cafes. We had a great stay here the only problem we had was we needed help to get a bus and no one there at the time spoke English which was quite difficult! Apart from that it was great and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a little cake shop located at the very end of Ella village with a large sign 'Moist Cake'. We didn’t know about this place but thought we would try it. We bought two pieces of cake – chocolate and lemon. They were quite expensive in Sri Lanka terms (140 rupees per piece). The cake is definitely moist so they have lived up to what they claimed to be!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after the great reviews found on tripadvisor. On arrival we were expecting cake, but where not given any :( but had to order and pay for it.
The cabin were really nice, though the walls between the 2 are paper thin. The Owner did draw a map for a walk around the region, and it was quite nice.
The Owner asked us if we wanted to visit a tea factory, and he said there was one he would recommend. He said he called them first to see if they where working, and they said yes, but upon arrival found out the factory was not working as the day before was a public holiday and no picking was done. The tour was still good, though we where unable to appreciate the full experience.
On leaving here, there was a 10% surcharge on the bill for the included breakfast's, as he said the service charge was not included, which is the first time we have come across this despite having had breakfast included at every other place.
Overall a nice place, but did not live up to the reviews given.

Room Tip: go for the log cabin over the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Folly

Address: Passara Road, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Ella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Folly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.