We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The View to your Saves list
The View
Kithalella Road, Ella, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 73 Ella B&B and Inns
Marseille, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“THE place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hostel is magic!

The view: you have one of the most beautiful view of Sri Lanka! You feel like flying!

The rooms: are realy big, wood furnitures, and a very good princess bed! The bathroom is also big and new.

The food: you have a diversity of meal: chinese food, Sri Lanka food..lot of juice etc. It s not expensive and delicious!!!

The staff: great! Luxman (the personne in charge of the hostel, not the owner) is AMAZING! Always smilling, always available to give us advice! Thank you Luxman!

To sum up: if you stay in Ella you have to go to THE VIEW!

We have spent around 60€ for the night, the dinner (meal, average etc.) and the breakfast!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    45
    14
    10
    10
See reviews for
18
68
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay at the View. The rooms are quite spacious and the large windows and doors look across the amazing views of Ella gap. Tables and chairs on terraces outside each room were a lovely spot for an afternoon cold beverage. The rooms aren't particularly well finished in places and there is a little mould high on ceilings. Apart from that the rooms are clean and quite comfortable. Water pressure in the shower was pretty poor in the mornings in particular. Breakfast was good with eggs done either fried, boiled, scrambled or an omelette with plenty of toast and tea or coffee. Dinner was ok but we decided to dine in town the second night which is a short walk away once one of the staff members shows you the shortcut along the railway tracks. The staff were all very friendly and Laxman, the manager was very professional and helpful with ideas and organising tuk tuks for us. Based on the service and the breathtaking views, I would recommend The View

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the family apartment and had a tv which our triple room did not have
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Slightly higher priced than the standard guesthouses, but as soon as you reach the hotel you know why...the view is absolutely breathtaking, the best in Ella!! The room was beautiful and clean with glass as each side so you could over look the Ella gap. Breakfast was served on your private balcony overlooking the view - amazing!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, nova scotia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Lovely room, amazing view, delicious Sri Lankan food, helpful staff...nothing but praise from us for this reasonably priced room. Each day we set out on long hikes and looked forward to returning to a welcoming place that catered to our needs...beer, food, advice for the next day & a good sleep.

Room Tip: Location is more appealing if you use the railway tracks to get around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Ella without booking ahead for a room for the night and turned up at the view. We were welcomed straight away and shown to a lovely room which opened out into the garden and straight ahead was the view down Ella gap, amazing. Comfy bed, lovely friendly staff, good food, we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I loved my stay at The View! Laxman and the staff took excellent care of me, in every possible way - answered all my questions, helped plan all my activities in Ella and also helped organise my train tickets and accommodation for other stops. I find it makes all the difference when nothing feels like too much trouble and people are so generous with their time and care.
The room was gorgeous - the bathroom was spotless, the four post bed a dream, and a full wall of ceiling to floor windows overlooking Ella gap. Simply gorgeous.
Although it's set up in the hills, the walk to the Main Street or railway station was super easy + only about 5-10 mins max. I even walked it at night (if you have a torch) but a tuk tuk is cheap + easy too if you prefer.
Not only would I stay again, I'd stay longer!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have just positive emotions after our stay in The View Ella. We came to Ella by train and it was already dark and a guy from hotel meet us on the railway station, that was really nice that we didnt need to find a hotel. They give a big room on second fllor with one big and one small bed. Room was very clean and had a nice view from our balcony. We had a dinner in a hotel, but cant say it was good. Rice was cold and curry was worse curry in my life and i tried a lot of curry. Next day we woke up at 5 to go to Ella Rock and missed a normal time for breakfast, but hotel manager was nice to give us breakfast already at 11 o'clock. Breakfast was simple but good. I think its a perfect place to stay in Ella, very close to city and railway station, close to Ella Rock, has nice clean rooms and a price is good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View

Address: Kithalella Road, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Place to stay & relax whilst taking in the majestic scenery of Ella ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.