We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The View to your Saves list
The View
Kithalella Road, Ella, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 73 Ella B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible location and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived in Ella without booking anywhere and turned up at a guest house in town hoping for a room - they advised they were full but could give us a room in their sister accommodation just out of town. We were tired after a long journey and just wanted to stay in the town but ended up agreeing to go and have a look. In the evening there was quite a big mist and we couldn't see the view but the room was lovely so we agreed to stay - so glad we did as first thing in the morning we were astonished by the beauty of the surroundings - not something you can see from Ella town. We had breakfast and then the hotel manager who was really lovely showed us spots to take some great photos. He explained that we had got the room at a relatively reasonable rate (normally 5000 rupees but we got it for 3000) as we had explained our budget to the tuk tuk driver - the manager said he would rather give out a room at a cheaper price than have it empty. There are 3 more rooms in the process of being build upstairs, however no noise or disruption.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Front Office Manager at The View, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks you very much your cooperation, now you became a good partners of our business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    45
    14
    10
    10
See reviews for
18
68
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Superb view, friendly and helpful staff, and cheaper than many other similar options in Ella. Rooms are simple but clean and the location is great. It’s a bit tricky to get to by road but the owner came down to town to meet us and we followed him back. By foot there is a good short cut along the train tracks and only takes 5 minutes to walk to the village.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Front Office Manager at The View, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks you very much your cooperation, now you became a good partners of our business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have spend one night in the View. The view was magnificent. The manager Luxman showed me the rainfall from the roof. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean. Breakfast was good and tasty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst travelling through the hill country. We were pointed in their direction by their sister hotel the Ella Holiday Inn and we were not disappointed. At first we thought it would be a bit out of the way as it is up a mountain above Ella, but a tuk tuk from the town is just 200rs so it's really accessible, and it's location is worth the trip with amazing views of the Ella gap and the low lying plains beyond (on a clear day you can see the coast!!) The rooms are really comfortable with large double beds and a lovely tiled bathroom with a hot shower!! The rooms are fronted by large french windows allowing you to make the most of the view. We only ate breakfast here but it was really good and the final cost of our stay was 12000rs which is well worth it for the view alone. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I booked this hotel by email, as stated by other reviewers, they always replied vaguely about the service charge and taxes. I replied more than 10 emails to confirm my booking. And when I arrived at Sri Lanka, I also called to confirm my booking again as requested by them. However, when I arrived at the hotel, they told me they did not have any my booking information!!! I showed them the emails and the record of my calling. They only said sorry and whatever they had no room now. My driver told me some hotels always do like this, when some visitors come and want to stay more nights, the hotel will give the booked room to them and told the original visitor they did not receive the booking. So don't book this hotel, don't encourage such trends.

Room Tip: Go along the small road to this hotel and pass the hotel, you will find another house. They have two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have spend two nights here and encountered a relaxed, quiet and friendly place to stay.
Staff fulfilled every wish we had. Breakfast and dinner were good and tasty. From here we started our footwalks to Little Adam's Peak and Ella Rock. Hotel provided a map free of charge.

Room Tip: Rooms 2,3 and 4 are good for little children as they don't have to climb steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The View lived up to it's namesake - it was sensational and made the whole experience/cost worth while...(just) Up on a hill a windy 15min walk from the town if you walk along the tracks from Ella train station.

However the rooms are without mozzy nets or fans (or AC) and even though it's cooler in Ella, both are still needed for a comfortable nights sleep. Hot water was hit or miss.

The rooms was overpriced considering how basic the rooms are and there is still building work going on and the communal area isn't quite sorted... we tried to barter down but the staff called up the manager (who clearly doesn't know/care what state his property's in) who wasn't having it.

Another reviewer said give it a year or so, and I'd agree... although I imagine the price will be more as the property will be 'finished'.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View

Address: Kithalella Road, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Place to stay & relax whilst taking in the majestic scenery of Ella ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.