We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock View Guesthouse

Rock View Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rock View Guesthouse to your Saves list
Rock View Guesthouse
Wellawaya Road, Ella, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 73 Ella B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I moved here because of the constant power cuts at another place (one even lasted a few hours). The power cuts were horrible but turned out to be a blessing.

This had a better location as you didn't need to climb up a road thinking which guesthouse is which in the dark, since the stairway led to the base of the hill. But inside the buildings the view was really great. Pity about some construction nearby but you can just overlook that one part of the view.

It was cheap (2500 Rs) and even if you added breakfast and dinner (500 and 300 Rs respectively) it was great value. The laundry was quick and cheap too (I don't remember how much, but it was probably because it was so cheap I couldn't remember).

The room was huge, and there was hot water. You probably wouldn't appreciate it in the day/night, but in the mornings it's a different story. Dinner was super filling and tasted really good too!

The owner and his family was really nice too. I had issues with my phone since no one at Ella could cut and insert a SIM card for an iPhone 4, but they really went all out to help, but it turned out I had to live without a proper phone until I got to Kandy. So basically if you're heading anywhere in the hill country, please ensure you have sufficient value before heading here. There were only Dialog and Airtel stores in Ella.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
2
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, wish we would have had time to stay for two. It is a very nice guesthouse with a great view! The staff/family is also very nice and helpful, and the curry and rice for dinner was also really good. Could have been a bit more spicy though. It is not the place you go if you want luxury, but a charming guesthouse for a good price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I would not recommend Rock View Guesthouse. It was not great and it was not that clean either - considering we had a leaking toilet that was not properly fixed while we were there. I reckon there are loads of better value for money guesthouse in Ella. Sorry Rock View!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Real estate is a funny business and rock view wins for being the best spot in Ella. Beautiful view, close to the main street and perched up high away from the traffic. We stayed for 2 nights in a basic room. It was huge and there was piping hot water. Dinner is served at 7pm sharp with all the other guests and breakfast is from 7 to 9. Full board is 5000rs and
there is no stupid compulsory service tax to worry about. Free wifi

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The place looks very odd and you are never quite sure where the main entrance is, But we stayed there for Four nights in one of the two rooms off from the main house, the View of Ella gap was very good. The Price was 2000 rupees
The mattresses were new from what we could make out and we slept very well.
On two of the nights we ate there, all we can say is WOW the cost was 500 rupees for the excellent food each.
We also had some laundry done there which again was very cheap 350 rupees for 11 items.
While the bathroom could do with a little updating there was hot water, after doing some trekking thats all we needed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We first had a big room for 4 persons with hot shower in the main building (2.500 Rps).
Then we moved to a small independent house (another one was being built on the front of it) just next to the small path behind the guesthouse, where we had a very spacious bedroom and a modern bathroom (over than 3.000 Rps?).
Breakfast on the terrace with the view was great!
They insisted that we also had dinner there, but we have accepted only one time, because it was rather pricy (over 500 Rps) and the place where they served dinner was rather gloomy. However, it was excellent.
Free internet (1 computer) included.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calenzano, Italy
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are wides and clean,with a nice balcony in Adam s peak. It s one of the cleanest guest house ever sleep in Sri Lanka. Food is really worth the stay and the price. The best rice curry of the trip!! Price includes breakfast and the gorgeous dinner. Staff is very friendly

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock View Guesthouse

Address: Wellawaya Road, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Rock View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock View Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.