We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nicely located, good value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rawana Holiday Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rawana Holiday Resort
Save
You added Rawana Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Wemulhena, Ella, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 86 Ella B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nicely located, good value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The family run location is up the hill with a beautiful view to the opposite green and forrest covered hill. 3 rooms with a grass terrace are cheaper though even nicer than the ones with balcony that are above. It is tempting to spend the whole day lazying around on the terrace watching the birds and squirrels. Food is freshly cooked and delicious! A very good choice!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    19
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
53
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Be aware that if your room is on the top floor, the walls have great ventilation gaps and don't go right up to the ceiling. That means everyone's party is suddenly your party! Also, the dogs in Ella all bark like banshees at 3am.
The room and bathroom were clean but our bed was very rickety. The food was great on our visit, we slept elsewhere the next night but returned for dinner.
(Some people have mentioned the building-site thing. That seems to be all of SL, not just this hotel. Get over it.)

Room Tip: Ask if it has walls that go up to the ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked this hotel based on fantastic reviews of the food but were sadly disappointed. The curries were watery and had very little spice, although they were nice and fresh.
Furthermore, the showers were cold everyday and we had to wait 30 minutes while they warmed to lukewarm.
There was no wifi in the rooms or reception area.

Room Tip: Balcony room has a view of only the town, not the surrounding scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The room was very spacious with a large balcony. The bathroom was clean and the water hot. The dinner was very good and the garlic curry was different from anything else we had in Sri Lanka. Breakfast was average though. Unfortunately when we stayed half of the place was a building site so it didn't look particularly attractive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We arrived in Ella and took a tuk tuk to this place.We chose a room on the first floor and it was good.Although the way to the place isn t so comfortable it s close to the centre.The people were friendly and gave us a lot of information on the attractions in the area.The food there is of the best we had

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed with this Guesthouse on both visits to Ella and it was my favourite place as a budget traveler in all of Sri Lanka. The rooms upstairs with the very large balcony are so clean and comfortable which I found very hard to find in this price range. Most beds in SL are uncomfortable and rooms small but I loved hanging out here. The staff are friendly, food amazing and overall Ella was a delight to visit.

Room Tip: I always stayed in room 4 up the top which is more private because you only have guests on one side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was travelling with a friend, and we already made a bit of research in some book guides, so we basically ghave a few options where to head to find a room. We were walking in the middle of the night (although it was only seven in the evening) and already from afar we saw this guest house (although we did not yet know it was the Rawana Holiday Resort). We nevertheless went to check other hostels, which we didn't find very soothing /after a climb on Adam's Peak previous night and lodging in ella for two night, we wanted something spacious, clean and nice). So after few check outs (and after quite long search for path to this guest house), we arrived at the reception and they immediately showed us rooms on the ground floor. Room was very spacious, with moderate clean bathroom and very very affordable price, so we decided to stay. And it was a good thing too, because the views in the morning were just breath taking (although, if you really want to enjoy them, pick a room on the first floor (with balcony). But the ground floor had really great terasse too! And this guest house is very practically located, jus two minutes stroll from the main street, so everything was just perfect. As it goes for food, there was no breakfasts and dinners available at the time we were there, but this might be because we were there off season. All in all, a good place for views, location and not burdening on the wallet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rawana Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawana Holiday Resort

Address: Wemulhena, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hotel In Ella. We provide excellent accomadation,service & great food very famous curry house Free WI-Fi Taxi Services Available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rawana Holiday Hotel Ella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rawana Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.