We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean guesthouse, stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Green Resort

Save Saved
You added Sky Green Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sky Green Resort
Ella, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 65 Ella B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely clean guesthouse, stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this guesthouse for one night and it was definitely one of the most beautiful locations I have ever stayed in. Definitely worth a visit if you are planning a to visit Ella. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and the food was ok too.

Overall I would definitely recommend this place it's very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    23
    14
    4
See reviews for
14
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I really liked this place. In the middle of nowhere, but that’s part of it’s charm. A long drive uphill to get to it, and no where near the main town/village, but such a great view. I think every room has it’s own balcony and a view over the valley, ours certainly had a great view. The view of the rising and setting sun was lovely. The food was good. We requested a Sri Lankan meal for dinner and enjoyed it. Breakfast was a little disappointing with just eggs and toast - some fruit and/or juice to go with it would have been nice. However, main complaint was that the shower was cold in the morning – think it was run off solar power hot water and an evening shower was much hotter, so shower at night! Other complaint was that the rooms aren’t particularly sound proof and one couple sitting out on their balcony late at night chatting away, their voices carried into our room until late at night and we had to politely ask them to be quiet and then it was fine. Waking up looking at the sunrise from that view was worth it though!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stunnning views from every balcony, friendly staff, wonderful town (ella). If you can visit, do. Food not brilliant, but OK, worth going into town to Chill CAfe for great meal. Walk in and get tuk tuk back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

To anyone looking for a nice hotel with an amazing view you should look no further than Sky Green Resort. Although the hotel offers little in the way of other facilities the ever changing mountain scene from the bedroom balconies and dining room more than makes up for this. The bedrooms and bathroom are a good size. Extra blankets were available - it does get cold at night! The staff are very friendly and we enjoyed a nice breakfast. Although we didn't have an evening meal, we spoke to another guest who told us they had enjoyed their meal. The hotel is outside of the town but this wasn't a problem for us since we had our guide/driver. There are lot of external steps to many of the bedroom so it may not be suitable for anyone with difficulty walking. Overall we found this hotel to be really peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here (sadly) for only one night as part of a drive around trip in the hill country of Sri Lanka. Lovely friendly staff and a nice welcome. The room was huge and very clean with amazing views of the surrounding mountains. It was a bit chilly in the evening and we requested extra blankets for the bed which was no problem at all and were given them in a few minutes. I ordered the vegetable curry for dinner and have to say it had to be the best I had in Sri Lanka especially the eggplant and pineapple curry. Breakfast was ample with the usual juice, eggs fresh fruits and toast served. We liked it here and would definately stay again if passing through. I thought noise might be an issue but by the time we went to bed it was really quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Wow...the views are stunning..The rooms are beautiful with a big bed and a lavish mosquito net...The rooms are well priced ,clean and the breakfast very good .we loved this place . Not far from good eating place sand not far from town

Room Tip: I think any room with a view would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a tour package. Great big clean room. Some rooms had obstructed views of valley but the views were great. Food was excellent. Common area is sparse. It can be a bit noisy since there are open panels at the top of the walls for airflow (no AC, but cool enough to just need a fan). Porters and workers talk into the night or you'll hear others on their balconies. Not a very good design but when it quiets down, it's very peaceful with the sounds of nature. Resort does not have a pool and is a little bit away from town center.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sky Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Green Resort

Address: Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sky Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Green Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.