We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view to hills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ravana Heights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ravana Heights to your Saves list
Ravana Heights
27 km post Wellaweya Road, Ella, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 73 Ella B&B and Inns
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent view to hills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very good location with fantastic view. Delicious dinner worths for trying, but you can eat cheaper in the city (try both). Owner speaks english excellent. Good ajurvedic spa only 100m far.

We expected a bit more for that price, but aren't disappointed. We started to hate owner's small talks about money, high taxes and guests not paying tips, because it was included in every conversation (good to know, but not good topic for vacations).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    37
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
71
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We got upgraded on arrival which was a really nice treat as it was our first night in Sri Lanka and we'd traveled 11hours on the train from Colombo. The owner greeted us in very good English and was really friendly. We arrived too late for dinner but the restaurant smelled so good! It was a shame we arrived in the dark as our view in the morning was AMAZING looking through the valley and up towards Ella rock. Breakfast was on the outside terrace looking over the valley, lovely place to start the day and a great place to start our trip.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view - so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This place is conveniently situated close enough to the main market area but at the same time, it's location affords it a great deal of privacy. Breakfasts are on the verandah of the house overlooking the mountains - what a beautiful view to start the morning with. The one in-house dinner I had was made vegetarian on request and was beautifully cooked. I thought it was a little expensive until the next day when I had a juice and salad at one of the nearby cafes and it came to the same price!!!!
Ella is a lovely little place to do a lot of walking in and the weather was great when we were there. Climbing Little Adam's Peak was a totally memorable experience, made all the better by the tea plantations you wend you way through to the base of the mountain. Views from the top make the climb totally worth it!
Book on Exporail to get here and back and remember that the Exporail printout received on booking has to be exchanged for the actual ticket at the Exporail counter at Colombo station (both ingoing and outgoing journeys) prior to leaving. Smaller stations such as Ella do not do this, please note!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights it a fantastic guest house and the best place we stayed in our 4 week trip to Sri lanka the staff are so nice and the thi fusion food is to die for. the view from the outside seating area is fantastic and hotel is in a great location just a 5 min stroll into town.
The owner is a bit of a crazy guy but in a nice way will spend time telling you about the best places to go and drawing out maps of all the best walks. we highly recommend this guesthouse and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We paid a very full price for our room here and were disappointed. The owner is arrogant and controlling and we felt very uncomfortable with the way the lovely female staff were expected to lug our heavy cases up all the steps, not to mention watching them heave heavy concrete pots up to the top garden terrace. Our top price room was approached ducking under the washing line and walking past the 1st floor corner room - beware if you take this room, we had to walk by the long window with an inadequate net curtain, in the evening with the light on you couldn't help but see the people in bed!
The views are superb but why have balconies with no furniture? Lots of do and don't notices in the rooms - no mosquito nets but plug-in devices offered? Hotel is not finished - huge cardboard cartons in recep/dining area with fridge, washing machines, fans etc - not exactly an appealing ambience for dinner ... Which we did take the first night - delicious thai meal cooked and served by sweet member of staff, however this cost $15 each - this is very expensive for Ella - why is everything costed in $ and converted back into rupees for the bill? Our first night the hotel was full, no guests had a drink and we were the only ones eating, does this tell you something?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here 2 weeks ago, extending our 3-day stay by another night as we really loved this place. The guesthouse is on the edge of Ella, a mere 5-minute walk into town. On Wednesdays, there is an interesting fruit-vegetable market. The town, however, does get a little clogged up with trucks & buses and their unpleasant fumes.
Mr. Abeysuriya is an excellent host and his staff are always helpful & smiling. The Thai cuisine we dined on was delicious, not to mention the lovely Sri Lankan breakfast we relished every morning. The guesthouse overlooks some spectacular hills. Our room was ultra-modern, very comfortable and clean, with a splendid bathroom. The owner is an interesting character, very knowledgeable and helpful. He arranged a 3-hour trek nearby with a delightful 78-year old barefooted man.

We highly recommend this guesthouse and will definitely return here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We travelled from Kandy to Ella on Expo 1st class rail couch which is a 6 hour journey through some very pretty terrain. Arrived at Ravana Heights around 730 in the evening which unfortunately was too late for dinner so always best to email the hotel beforehand. We spent two wonderful nights in this hotel and were so glad that we did as the rooms have huge comfortable beds and nice soft towels. The views from all room are fantastic and each room has a balcony area to sit on and admire the mountains and beautiful gardens. Delicious breakfasts of fruit, banana pancakes and omelettes were served on the patio area. The delightful owner is a remarkable, well travelled and connected man who is keen to give advice on visits and treks and was so keen to ensure that every aspect of our visit was perfect. We had the most AMAZING Thai meal in the evening (as the owner is married to a Thai lady). Everything was laid out perfectly with such lovely restful music. Felt like eating at a friend's house. We can honestly say that it was the best meal on all our travels and that has included many visits to Thailand. Most of the herbs are grown in the very well tended garden and our lovely cook showed us around her plants with such pride. She even gave us some seeds to plant when we get back to England. We couldn't attempt to climb Adams Peak but did visit the Neuberg green tea plantation and had a good tour there. Ella town was a little overstated with very many backpacker hostels so it was great that we could retreat to our hotel at the edge of the town. We also ate a great vegetable kutcha roti in Ella from the awfully named Fish and Chips restaurant. You can see them cook it all freshly in front of you. So delicious, we went back for another for lunch.

Room Tip: All rooms have a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravana Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravana Heights

Address: 27 km post Wellaweya Road, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ravana Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravana Heights Hotel Ella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravana Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.