We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravana Heights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ravana Heights to your Saves list
Ravana Heights
27 km post Wellaweya Road, Ella, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 73 Ella B&B and Inns
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely place and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights it a fantastic guest house and the best place we stayed in our 4 week trip to Sri lanka the staff are so nice and the thi fusion food is to die for. the view from the outside seating area is fantastic and hotel is in a great location just a 5 min stroll into town.
The owner is a bit of a crazy guy but in a nice way will spend time telling you about the best places to go and drawing out maps of all the best walks. we highly recommend this guesthouse and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    37
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
71
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We paid a very full price for our room here and were disappointed. The owner is arrogant and controlling and we felt very uncomfortable with the way the lovely female staff were expected to lug our heavy cases up all the steps, not to mention watching them heave heavy concrete pots up to the top garden terrace. Our top price room was approached ducking under the washing line and walking past the 1st floor corner room - beware if you take this room, we had to walk by the long window with an inadequate net curtain, in the evening with the light on you couldn't help but see the people in bed!
The views are superb but why have balconies with no furniture? Lots of do and don't notices in the rooms - no mosquito nets but plug-in devices offered? Hotel is not finished - huge cardboard cartons in recep/dining area with fridge, washing machines, fans etc - not exactly an appealing ambience for dinner ... Which we did take the first night - delicious thai meal cooked and served by sweet member of staff, however this cost $15 each - this is very expensive for Ella - why is everything costed in $ and converted back into rupees for the bill? Our first night the hotel was full, no guests had a drink and we were the only ones eating, does this tell you something?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here 2 weeks ago, extending our 3-day stay by another night as we really loved this place. The guesthouse is on the edge of Ella, a mere 5-minute walk into town. On Wednesdays, there is an interesting fruit-vegetable market. The town, however, does get a little clogged up with trucks & buses and their unpleasant fumes.
Mr. Abeysuriya is an excellent host and his staff are always helpful & smiling. The Thai cuisine we dined on was delicious, not to mention the lovely Sri Lankan breakfast we relished every morning. The guesthouse overlooks some spectacular hills. Our room was ultra-modern, very comfortable and clean, with a splendid bathroom. The owner is an interesting character, very knowledgeable and helpful. He arranged a 3-hour trek nearby with a delightful 78-year old barefooted man.

We highly recommend this guesthouse and will definitely return here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We travelled from Kandy to Ella on Expo 1st class rail couch which is a 6 hour journey through some very pretty terrain. Arrived at Ravana Heights around 730 in the evening which unfortunately was too late for dinner so always best to email the hotel beforehand. We spent two wonderful nights in this hotel and were so glad that we did as the rooms have huge comfortable beds and nice soft towels. The views from all room are fantastic and each room has a balcony area to sit on and admire the mountains and beautiful gardens. Delicious breakfasts of fruit, banana pancakes and omelettes were served on the patio area. The delightful owner is a remarkable, well travelled and connected man who is keen to give advice on visits and treks and was so keen to ensure that every aspect of our visit was perfect. We had the most AMAZING Thai meal in the evening (as the owner is married to a Thai lady). Everything was laid out perfectly with such lovely restful music. Felt like eating at a friend's house. We can honestly say that it was the best meal on all our travels and that has included many visits to Thailand. Most of the herbs are grown in the very well tended garden and our lovely cook showed us around her plants with such pride. She even gave us some seeds to plant when we get back to England. We couldn't attempt to climb Adams Peak but did visit the Neuberg green tea plantation and had a good tour there. Ella town was a little overstated with very many backpacker hostels so it was great that we could retreat to our hotel at the edge of the town. We also ate a great vegetable kutcha roti in Ella from the awfully named Fish and Chips restaurant. You can see them cook it all freshly in front of you. So delicious, we went back for another for lunch.

Room Tip: All rooms have a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Ravana heights has a reception area with stunning views of the hills around Ella. We stayed in the standard accommodation, which was functional , but would have benefitted by some chairs on the balcony. However there were chairs in the reception balcony. The food is very good and beautifully prepared, but you have to wait for it. The eccentric management of the place is a bit of a worry. Wine available for sale with the evening meal, but not chilled, unless you remind the owner in advance, despite the presence of newly purchased fridges. Owner complains about not being able to find good staff..... Wifi bizarrely available in bedrooms but not the central public areas. Cash payment required. Despite booking many months in advance with Booking.com, we were sent very stern emails requiring us to reconfirm our reservation by phone within 24 hours of arriving in Sri Lanka, or lose it. Not a good welcome.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights here. Having read the reviews on TA about the hotel beforehand, I have to admit we were a bit sceptical, but had booked last minute in peak season. We had an absolutely brilliant time staying here, and the owner was an absolute gem and couldn't do enough for us. Lovely view of the hills from Ella and delicious food. Probably one of the pricier places that we stayed, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Scandalously we don't believe the below reviews do justice to the character of the guest house owner. He perhaps borders on the eccentric, but he has a heart of gold, doing his upmost to accommodate all of my wife's numerous and difficult requests (who needs 'em?).

As with everything in "lonely plant" Sri Lanka, 120usd night seems expensive for a double room bb, but is consistent with the competition and is possibly more of a reflection on my own reluctance to make a reach for the meagre contents of my wallet.

Otherwise it's a clean, friendly, comfortable environment with great views of the surroundings. Oh and the dinner in the evening is also worth a try.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravana Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravana Heights

Address: 27 km post Wellaweya Road, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ravana Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravana Heights Hotel Ella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravana Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.