We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltop Guest House
Hilltop, Ella 30090, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 65 Ella B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful view and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hilltop for 4 nights (29/12/12 to 2/1/13). We had a wonderfully relaxing time in Ella and much of the serenity we felt was due to our stay at Hilltop. Our host, Chatura, was extremely welcoming and kind throughout our stay- giving us a map and tips about the best Ayuvedic treatments, providing special New Years treats (and recipes!) and organising a driver to Tissa- all with a huge smile.

We would start the day with a huge pot of tea and banana pancakes on the balcony facing the incredible view of Ella Pass. We ended each day with a cool beer on the upper balcony. Dinner was a tasty and generous mix of curries.

The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. Due to the heavy rains in the region in preceding weeks (which led to flooding before Christmas) the sheets were slightly damp, however we experienced this at a number of places and didn't think it was a particular issue. We stayed in two different rooms (as we were able to arrange a last minute extra day) and both rooms had mosquito nets.

We had been recommended Hilltop by friends and will happily recommend it ourselves. The food, view, friendliness and service that we experienced at Hillop really enhanced our stay in Ella.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    47
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
75
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nice service and good food in a beautiful location. It is worth carefully booking the upper "mountain view" rooms, though, because lower garden view ones tend to be musty, and the linens need to be updated.
This guest house seems to attract a great mix of people, and the mealtime camaraderie was fun.
If you are going to the upper "little" waterfall, there's no need to go to the train station to start. Pass the guest house entrance and follow the road till you come to the tracks. Then go left along the tracks to the falls and Ella Rock. Great tea shop along the tracks to stop at as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The view is great, the people are very nice and helpful. There is a great terrace and decent food. However the rooms are getting shabby, the shower room needs renovating, the bedding is not great and the owners need to improve. Around Christmas time the price was not low for Sri Lanka, so I expected more. Still, there was nothing else available at all so we were grateful to the owners to have a bed.

Room Tip: The rooms on the terrace upstairs are better for the view, but the rooms downstairs are fine..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The room was basic, but clean. The selling point is the spectacular view down ella gap from the large terrace. Lovely to have breakfast over looking it. Breakfast was great for the price, and dinner was even better. Very friendly owner, who went out of his way to be helpful and make us feel relaxed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethanne95
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

As others have mentioned, the view is superb from this guesthouse. The rooms themselves are basic but fine, especially for the price. We stayed in room 3 which opens out onto the terrace. The only problem about this is that the room is essentially in the main dining area, so when you wake up in the morning, you walk directly into where everyone is eating. This made for some noise as well during dinner and breakfast times. Chatura, the owner, is a great guy, and he gave us a map for hiking in the region, which was great. I'm not sure that I'd stay here again, simply because of the room locations. If you're looking for a good guesthouse though, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Superb view, very welcoming and a friendly interest of the owner without being obtrusive. We enjoyed the two nights we stayed in Hill Top Guesthouse very much. It's the climb more than worth. The shared roof terrace makes it a good place to calm down, gaze at the view or the stars and on Poya-days listen to the religious music you hear from surrounding temples. There is a lot to see in and around Ella. We especially liked the beneficial massages of the Ayurvedic Health and Beauty Spa from Asha, Suwamedura. Little Adams Peak ..., the lemoncake from Little Folly!
We thought the price a little bit high, but the benefits of staying here made it worth. Very friendly was that the owner lend us his own laptop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It is interesting reading other reviews about the 5* hospitality on offer here as that isn't something we experienced. The view however, from our room and terrace was simply stunning, and worth staying at Hilltop Guest House for. My husband and I only stayed here for one night - when we arrived the owner had no time for us and we didn't feel welcomed; perhaps this is because we were only staying for one night.

The room was very basic, but the bed was comfortable. There was a hot water shower which worked well. Due to not receiving the best welcome we ate elsewhere for dinner. Breakfast the next day was nice and it was great to sit on the terrace with the wonderful view of Ella Gap. We would recommend this guest house as somewhere to be able to appreciate a stunning landscape and incredible viewpoint. Our rating of this guest house is primarily based on its superb location for the view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilltop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Guest House

Address: Hilltop, Ella 30090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilltop Guest House is the perfect place to relax and enjoy fantastic views from our terrace, a friendly welcome and delicious food. We offer advice about local walks and places to visit, a book exchange and comfortable en-suite rooms with mosquito nets and hot showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilltop Guest House Hotel Ella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hilltop Guest House to your Saves list