We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hilltop retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zion View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zion View
Save
You added Zion View to your Saves list
Wemulla hena.Ella, Ella 0000, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
HOW TO BOOK.
Ranked #22 of 73 Ella B&B and Inns
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hilltop retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We only had one night here but will definitely return. Zion View home stay is in a spectacular setting in the hills of Ella with fantastic views of Ella Gap and surrounding mountains. There is even the railway line nearby for train spotting enthusiasts. The home cooked food was fantastic, among the best we had in Sri Lanka served on an open air terrace by efficient and friendly staff. It's run more as a boutique hotel than a home stay but the owners were on hand, friendly and informative.

Room Tip: We had the chalet type room right at the top of the property, separate from other rooms. It had its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    109
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
66
221
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This place has a nice view. Buts this ALL!!

The prize is why to high compared to other places in the same area, and with nice views. The owner is very not nice at all. The only thing on his mind is money. Me my wife and our two kids had the worst 2 days in Sri Lanka at this place, and all because of the owner. Also you need to know there is constriction work going on, so if you wanna rest in the day, you can't..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We spent 2 nights here and it wasn't enough!!! Rooms were fantastic, the view was superb and the food some of the best we experienced in Sri Lanka, Sena and his staff were extremely welcoming and did all they could to ensure that your stay was as pleasant as possible. Nothing beat laying in your hammock (yes all rooms have one!!) with a beer and a view straight down Ella Gap.This is a beautiful little hill village where you can do as little or as much as you feel and this guesthouse certainly has the best of everything. We will be back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We stood in Zion View for two nights. The good things first, the room was clean, the view is great. But, if we pay European prices, we expect european standard. For example: we did not feel welcome by the owner, food is overpriced, staff is unfriendly, breakfast is the same as in a 2500rs room. The owner said, his house is beautiful and quiet when we called for the reservation, but it was a lot of construction work going on (7am till 10pm), wifi did just work in the restaurant... It seemed, that they just want to make as much money as possible out of everything.

The owners wife was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zionview, Owner at Zion View, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
My experionce swiss people are not lied .This couple land up at Zion View with bad mood because there previous booking in Ella they were not happy .So during the all stay they were very unfriendly to all of us.

She asked to serve the breakfast to the balcony we refused it becouse we were busy with serving breakfast to other Guest and we have very beautiful restaurant area with terrace that all the Guest can enjoying the breakfast with excellent views.(please read the other reviews)

If we doing construction till 10 pm this place should be empty ,Glad to tell we are fully booked most of the time.

We are sorry that if we disappointed you.
Thank you!
Sena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My fiance and I stayed in January 2014. Sen, his family, his dags and his staff are all incredibly welcoming. We had the curry both nights and it was one of the best we had in all Sri Lanka. The whole set up is delightful and the views on the terrace are incredible. Not a better place to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had a terrific stay at Zion. There are plenty of places that boast a great view but I think Zion has one of the best. We stayed in the family room on the lower level and enjoyed a breathtaking view from our beds. It is a sight you could never get tired of. Based on how the property is built into the hill you can assume the same from all the rooms.

We were travelling with 3 kids under 8 and whilst I knew we would be happy with the view I was concerned that there would not be much room for the children to run around. Zion actually has plenty of space for children as there is a very large dining area (with tv, hammocks and couches to the sides) for them to spread out plus another area on the level below.

I found Zion to be really family friendly in all aspects - Sena and his lovely family and staff were incredibly welcoming, the food was great and the location was spot on. We were close enough to walk down the hill into Ella and also to head in the other direction for an interesting walk along the train tracks. The free laundry offer (2 night stay or longer) was also greatly appreciated.

Thanks for a wonderful stay in Ella.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The view from my hammoc on Ella Rock is phantastic. We are sitting here with a cool blonde on Zion's terrace. For people who love hiking it cannot get much better. The food here is great and mostly tasty Sri Lankan food. The guesthouse puts up a buffet every night and people from other guesthouse a even come here. We rented a nice family room because we have a 4 year old. Lots of space for families here. The owner has a 4 year old son our son plays with. There is also a small German Shepard puppy the kids love to play with. The dogs are friendly. We find the owner and the staff very helpful. They supported us organizing a guide for hiking Ella Rock and gave us support for our further trip. Zion is a nice place for families where kids can run around on their big terrace. Perfect

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zion View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion View

Address: Wemulla hena.Ella, Ella 0000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Zion View Hotel Ella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zion View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.