We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harolds Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Harolds Mansion to your Saves list
Harolds Mansion
205 Hibbard Avenue, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 42 Dumaguete City B&B and Inns
Osaka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

During my stay in Dumaguete for 3nights, I stayed at this hotel only in my last night.
I stayed at the double room. The room was neat and clean. And staffs are very friendly.
We could take free water, tea, coffee, and internet was also free.

And there are variety of activities !! During my stay in Dumaguete, I joined two tours from this hotel, first one was snorkeling tour to the Apo island, and the other one was hiking trip to the twin lake. Both were really good price compared to the other tours from travel agencies in the town. Also tour staffs (from the diving shop belonging this hotel ) were very reliable.

I also joined the barbecue party which is held every Wednesday night. One of the staffs took us the public market and kindly helped us how to shop. After shopping, they cooked for us with fresh seafood we just bought. It was very good barbecue.

I definitely want to stay in Harold mansion again when I visit Dumaguete next time.
And I hope there will be more this type of hotels in the other cities in Philippine...!!

Thanks to all staffs to Harold's...!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    80
    43
    26
    31
See reviews for
12
88
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Harold is a familiar hostel, where there is a good opportunity to make friends. Especially the theme nighs: Oister night and BBQ on the roof, set the mood for partying.

The staff is sweet and helpful, but sometimes you have to ask twice and be patient. But thats just the Filipino way of life, I guess ?

Harold, the owner, have a lot of beautiful trip to the surrounding islands. Both snorkeling and diving is good. If you have any questions Harold is your man!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Harold's! It's very easy to take part in lots of activities locally, including diving, snorkelling, trekking and more, just by adding your name to a list at the front desk, and all of these activities are very reasonably priced. Harold himself is very friendly and hangs out with the guests, and I enjoyed meeting fellow backpackers at the social events held at the hostel. I recommend the grill night on Wednesdays! All good fun, and with an evident social conscience too - if you stay at Harold's you know your money is going into the local economy. The hostel also grows organic produce and has a project to support local schoolkids.

Our room was comfortable and clean. The only problems I encountered were a leaky shower and some noise in the room from the balcony, neither of which was a significant bother. It's not first-class accommodation, but it is very good value for money, lots of fun and an experience which I will remember for the right reasons!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Harold's is your one stop centre for everything to do/know in and around Dumaguete. The best divemasters (with local knowledge of the area), treks, social nights, best tips for places to eat,

There's also a real sense of social responsibiltiy with the eco rooms and support of the local Public Market.

My Husband and i have stayed at Harolds 4 times and can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Harold's Mansion is a warm, friendly, affordable hostel where almost any type of adventure whether mountain or sea can be arranged. You can choose to be in the company of other guests or just relax, kick back watch t.v. and browse the free internet in your room.
Harold's is known to have the best deals for diving including weekly trips to local spots like Apo Island and Sumilion Island. The new dive boat is the most comfortable spacious dive boat that I have ever been on, and most trips include lunch and the expertise of his dive guides. In fact it is the best deal around town and it would be a shame for one to not take advantage of this amazing opportunity.
Fridays are grill out night and sometimes bags of local oysters are around for guests to feast on (mmmmm!). The hostel is located close to the boulevard where popular seaside restaurants and bars are. Free coffee and tea are in abundance for guests as are the smiles of the friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Best days to stay are from Wednesday through Friday. On Wednesdays Harold's cousin takes all takers to the food markets to pick out your dinners. With many recommendations on what to purchase. Then he and the staff will cook the food for you, you can try and help, but soon he will insist that you sit down and enjoy a beer. On Fridays they have free oysters for all guests. Not to mention that Harold is really a hands on guy, and extremely friendly. The entire staff is very helpful. For those divers out there, for my money this is also the best place to organize your dive trips to Apo Island. Each dive was 1,000 pesos, with 300 for new rental equipment. Plus, the dive masters were very attentive above and below water. Trips to see the whale sharks are also included, don’t recall the price.

We stayed in standard A/C room, with tv, and wifi. May not seem like a big deal, but after months with neither it was a welcomed change. Cost was around 800pesos, dorms were going for much lower (250 i think)

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing he road. It was loud enough to keep me up, but my girlfriend-who is a heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

Harold's has some good points like good crew, information, involved owner, wifi (albeit slow), free breakfast (toast and coffee), meeting point but it's far from perfect.

We reserved a room, but when we arrived, they had our booking but it was full, so we stayed down the street. We made a second reservation for our return, for a back room for four nights. When we returned, we got a room in the front which gives maximum decibels from tricycles. The hot shower was cold and the room a little worn. The next day we got a room in the back. It was freshly painted so the paint fumes nearly knocked us out. We checked out and moved into a nicer, less expensive room down the street.

We did our diving with Scuba Ventures (next door to Harold's) because Harold was not running the particular trip we wished on the day. Scuba Ventures was cheaper, had good gear and a smaller group.

Harold's may be an "our pick" in Lonely Planet, but it isn't our pick.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harolds Mansion

Address: 205 Hibbard Avenue, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Dumaguete City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Harolds Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harolds Mansion Hotel Dumaguete City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harolds Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.